We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating "Manor House" Atmosphere”
Review of Cahernane House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cahernane House
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
capmotion
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fascinating "Manor House" Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great food, service, accomodations, and location. We had a grand, grand time there, and we could have happily stayed on the property for an extended period, instead of running all around, as we did. As others have expressed, we felt wonderfully pampered, and they gave as thoughtful attention to our two boys as they did to the parents, a real plus for us.

Room Tip: There are several rooms with balconies, so you should try to get one of those. The back-side rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capmotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    93
    38
    15
    5
See reviews for
118
254
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Amazingly welcoming staff, gorgeous setting and house and rooms for that matter. Food is out of this world - definitely book one of their deals to include evening meal.

To many it will be a bit pricey but its excellent value for money so even if you only can have 1 night, its worth it. Location near Killarney, Ross Castle, Lakes, MuckRoss estate, Torc Waterwall and Moll's Gap, Gap of Dunloe make it ideally placed even Kenmare isn't too far and you could do the Ring of Kerry from here no problems

I would definitely return

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Collisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were so terribly happy with this hotel that we stayed another day (4) total and still did not want to leave. We fell in love with this hotel and manor house. We will stay again. The sheep, the cows, the chickens, and the deer were fantastic neighbors. The staff made us feel like we were royalty all were so very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor in the main section of the house. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois, USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Ireland for our honeymoon, staying in 3 different locations for our 1 week stay. We flew direct to the Shannon airport from O'Hare, and the flight only took 6 hours and 40 minutes!

One tip, be sure to get euros at the airport, because there is a toll on the way from Shannon to Killarney!

When we arrived at the Cahernane, we were very pleased with the beautiful hotel. What most impressed us was opening the doors to the patio outside our room, and the stunning views. There are mountains in the distance, beautiful green grass and trees, and sheep/cows grazing across the fence. Seeing the great view and walking around the grounds gave us our first taste of Ireland, aside from our rainy drive to Killarney.

We are dinner one night in the on-site restaurant. It was a little fancy for our taste buds, but we enjoyed the meal nonetheless! :) The staff even gave us our bottle of wine for free in celebration of our honeymoon. I would also like to compliment the gentleman that greeted us when we first arrived and left, and took care of us at dinner. I apologize that I can't recall his name, but he did mention that he just started a few weeks ago. He even brought me roses "from my husband" during the dinner, and that was very special. He also gave us coffee, water and snacks when we checked out from our 3 night stay, and began our long drive to Clifden. This was so kind and much appreciated. Thank you to him for the exceptional customer service, and for making us feel welcome and appreciated.

The cellar bar was very fun to relax and have some drinks. One of the bartenders made us a very cool Irish Flag shot, that was layered liquor in the colors of the Irish flag. The late night room service sandwiches and potato chips were also much appreciated.

Someone we met in the cellar bar also gave us the great advice to drive around the Dingle peninsula. This was our favorite day out of all the days in Ireland. We did Dingle on a sunny and nice day. All I can say is the trip is a must. We stopped at Inch beach and had fish and chips and a beer, we drove and stopped at many pull-off points to take photos. My husband climbed a mountain! We stopped at various pubs and drank Jameson (I did, as the passenger). It was all around an awesome day!

We also visited Muckross House. We didn't go inside, but walked all around the grounds and in the garden. Very nice.

Some said they drove the ring of Kerry, and we started to, but it was a long drive and I don't think we were up for it that day in the rain. A couple we met said it makes for a long day.

We did have fun exploring the town and listening to live music. We really loved our stay at the Cahernane and would highly recommend it. We loved how it was a little hidden away from all of the other hotels, and down a pretty treelined road. Thank you, Cahernane! Our honeymoon was very special, and we hope to return someday.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyTraveler8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

A bit tricky to find, but what a great place!

Once checked in, you nearly feel like you've stepped back in time. Have tea in the parlor or the library, by the fireplace or next to the indoor fountain. Walk the grounds, on the edge of a park, and visit the sheep in the adjacent field.

Try to have at least one very nice dinner in the restaurant - both the food and the service were excellent. (The included Irish breakfast is also very good.) Had dinner one night in the downstairs bar for a more casual setting; a bit disappointing after the exceptional experience in the restaurant, but still OK.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJB124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Recent stay during Ireland's "heat" spell we found this hotel, out of the five we stayed in, to be the best for folks who really care about their guests. Accommodations were down home comfort with first class style. Highly recommend this, particularly to the American tourist looking for a relaxed stay with all the amenities of a first class facility. Loved it!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Pulling into the drive is a treat in itself. The long drive with the trees and a little sheep farm along the road. As you pull up there is a gorgeous glass sunroom. Our room had two sets of French doors that opened onto our private balcony with a little table and chairs. The woodwork inside is amazing, the food is delicious in the restaurant. The pub downstairs is also great for a Guinness and local chat. The bartender is full of knowledge. The room was huge and the bathroom was very large and clean. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were perfect. This also had a walk in closet to boot. I didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: If there is no parking in the main area, there is parking behind the ivy covered wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,549 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,223 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,182 reviews
3.4 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cahernane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahernane House

Property: Cahernane House
Address: Muckross Road | Cahernane, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#19 Family Hotel in Killarney
#20 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cahernane House 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cahernane House Hotel is a boutique four-star hotel located on a private estate on the edge of Killarney Park. Formerly home to the Herbert Family, this manor house is just a 10 minute walk to Killarney town centre. The hotel boasts 38 unique guest rooms; 12 of which are located in the original house and the other 26 are located in the garden wing of the hotel. Each room has many of the original features including wooden ceiling beams and beautiful fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cahernane House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahernane House Hotel Killarney
Cahernane Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing