We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and charming”
Review of Cahernane House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cahernane House
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
philadelphia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and charming”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were grateful to be able to stay here 2 nights during our stay in March 2013. the rooms were clean, and quiet. the basement bar was warm and cozy after a long day of driving the ring of kerry we were able to sit at the bar with the fireplace behind us. we wanted to get a head start on the day and declined our complimentary breakfast the 2nd morning and the woman at the desk seemed incredibly offended and convinced me to take some biscuits for the road. it was a very romantic and charming hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missykirk601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    91
    36
    15
    4
See reviews for
112
246
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Benton, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding hotel. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. The old house was beautiful. The food excellent. The stay here for three nights was the highlight of our trip. The atmosphere was excellent. The views from the hotel of the mountains breathtaking. Located next to a working farm and a national park, wildlife abounded. From our room we saw over 25 deer. We have stayed at four and five star hotels all over but none beat this lovely place. Will stay there again when in Ireland.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Spent last weekend in this hotel and was really impressed by it. The place is so old world and very relaxing, a real old country house ideal to unwind after a day around Killarney. The staff were so helpful and the food was amazing, top quality. We had three children and a baby with us and had a family room, which was really big and ideal for so many of us. The staff were very child friendly and the kids spent most of the day running around the gardens and on the swing. Will definitely be returning back there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2013

On arrival we were very impressed, we had a room booked through a "living social" offer (got it half price). we booked assigned a "superior" room and got a 4th floor attic room with view of the car park. we decided to use the wifi to look at the pictures of the rooms (same available on ground floor around reception) and saw on the cahernane house web site the pictures of their "standard room" which it was obvious we were put in, we approached the woman at reception and argued with her (she basically said we got a deal we should be happy we got a room). eventually we made it clear we wanted the room they advertised on there web site to be "superior". we ended up with a fab room. be careful here. breakfast was lovely, views are unreal, relaxing large conservatory was leaking(it had bed sheets all over the floor, tennis court was overgrown and in need of attention. i did miss convenience of a pool and gym considering the price of the place i didnt feel happy with whats on offer.

Room Tip: ensure you get the room you paid for
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee-C63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Mayo, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Was looking to get away for a few days in Kilarney for both shopping and relaxing . Hotel was a bit further than I expected out of town . On past reports I seen it was 10-15 mins outside the town . It was a small bit further than that and you would have been very tired by the time you got to town. The hotel has lovely grounds but unfortunately the weather was terrible with rain when we were there . The bathroom was the highlight of our stay with heated floors / towel rails , a jacuzzi bath which was too die for . The restaurant was closed on both nights of our stay . Ate in the bar on the first night - I was happy with my food but my Fiancé had at least one issue with each of the courses - none of them serious or hygiene related just the food on the plate did not match the price or reflect the price paid for the dish. Beds very comfortable and nice wake up call .... cock-a-doodle doooooooooo....

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just back from a stay at this lovely old hotel. It has character and style, so much more than a soulless chain hotel and the staff are wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble and the food was of a very high standard. The receptionist even managed to arrange for a jarvey car to collect us at the hotel and bring us on a tour to Muckross House.

The library and drawing room have open fires and positively invite one to sit and relax. The location at the edge of the National Park is unbeatable.
Hens roam the grounds, providing free range eggs for breakfast! Cows and sheep graze the fields outside the windows.

We ate both in the bar and in the grander dining room and both were excellent. One of our party remarked that the hotel was more like staying with friends in their country retreat! I look forward to returning as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel overlook the National Park, get a ground floor room and you will have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarveyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Literally. The weather in Killarney and area was atrocious when we visited, but Cahernane House was a lovely place to shelter. Our room was very posh, consisting of two rooms, one with kingsize bed and reading lamps on both sides. The other was a sitting room with television, a writing desk, a couch, easy chair and a coffee table with complimentary still and sparkling water and a jar of cookies. The bathroom was very posh with heated floors and towel bars, a claw-footed tub and separate shower. Our room was on the ground floor so we had a lovely balcony with table and two chairs. Alas, the weather dictated that we just look at them from inside. The grounds are lovely even when windblown and pooled with water.
From things we heard, I gather we got very lucky with the room we were assigned. Some guests complained about not having TV. Wifi was available only in the common areas but they were grand, a la Downtown Abbey, so we didn't mind at all.
Would go back in a heartbeat, assuming we got the same deal (two nights for the price of one) that we got this time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
504 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,527 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,146 reviews
3.4 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cahernane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahernane House

Property: Cahernane House
Address: Muckross Road | Cahernane, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#19 Family Hotel in Killarney
#22 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cahernane House 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cahernane House Hotel is a boutique four-star hotel located on a private estate on the edge of Killarney Park. Formerly home to the Herbert Family, this manor house is just a 10 minute walk to Killarney town centre. The hotel boasts 38 unique guest rooms; 12 of which are located in the original house and the other 26 are located in the garden wing of the hotel. Each room has many of the original features including wooden ceiling beams and beautiful fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cahernane House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahernane House Hotel Killarney
Cahernane Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing