We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cahernane House
Nearby Hotels
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fairview(Killarney)
$323
$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$220
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$378
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$260
$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Hotel(Killarney)
$248
$226
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eviston House Hotel(Killarney)(Great Value!)
$161
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$312
$294
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ross(Killarney)
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (567)
Filter reviews
567 results
Traveler rating
408
99
40
15
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
99
40
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscellar barheated floorsbeautiful manor housesheep and cowstree lined driveclaw foot tubwalk in wardrobedrawing roomunderfloor heatingnew wingthe main housering of kerrynational parkmodern conveniencespublic roomsantique furnitureold world charm
Filter
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 567 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Was looking to get away for a few days in Kilarney for both shopping and relaxing . Hotel was a bit further than I expected out of town . On past reports I seen it was 10-15 mins outside the town . It was a small bit further than that and you would have been very tired by the time you got to town. The hotel has lovely grounds but unfortunately the weather was terrible with rain when we were there . The bathroom was the highlight of our stay with heated floors / towel rails , a jacuzzi bath which was too die for . The restaurant was closed on both nights of our stay . Ate in the bar on the first night - I was happy with my food but my Fiancé had at least one issue with each of the courses - none of them serious or hygiene related just the food on the plate did not match the price or reflect the price paid for the dish. Beds very comfortable and nice wake up call .... cock-a-doodle doooooooooo....

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Barodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just back from a stay at this lovely old hotel. It has character and style, so much more than a soulless chain hotel and the staff are wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble and the food was of a very high standard. The receptionist even managed to arrange for a jarvey car to collect us at the hotel and bring us on a tour to Muckross House.

The library and drawing room have open fires and positively invite one to sit and relax. The location at the edge of the National Park is unbeatable.
Hens roam the grounds, providing free range eggs for breakfast! Cows and sheep graze the fields outside the windows.

We ate both in the bar and in the grander dining room and both were excellent. One of our party remarked that the hotel was more like staying with friends in their country retreat! I look forward to returning as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel overlook the National Park, get a ground floor room and you will have access straight to a patio area .
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarveyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Literally. The weather in Killarney and area was atrocious when we visited, but Cahernane House was a lovely place to shelter. Our room was very posh, consisting of two rooms, one with kingsize bed and reading lamps on both sides. The other was a sitting room with television, a writing desk, a couch, easy chair and a coffee table with complimentary still and sparkling water and a jar of cookies. The bathroom was very posh with heated floors and towel bars, a claw-footed tub and separate shower. Our room was on the ground floor so we had a lovely balcony with table and two chairs. Alas, the weather dictated that we just look at them from inside. The grounds are lovely even when windblown and pooled with water.
From things we heard, I gather we got very lucky with the room we were assigned. Some guests complained about not having TV. Wifi was available only in the common areas but they were grand, a la Downtown Abbey, so we didn't mind at all.
Would go back in a heartbeat, assuming we got the same deal (two nights for the price of one) that we got this time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Cahernane House Hotel! The hotel is absolutely beautiful--inside and out. The grounds were lovely--so peaceful. I felt like we were staying in a miniature Downton Abbey! We were greeted by an extremely helpful staff. They made phone calls/arrangements for us and were spot-on with their recommendations for pubs and shopping. We ate at the bar and the restaurant. Both were fabulous! That wasn't surprising with 2 Michelin stars under their belts. Breakfast was superb. I loved the fact that we were able to order from the menu in addition to the buffet at no extra charge. If you are at all inclined toward French toast, try theirs. It's amazing!

I would absolutely stay here again--and tell anyone I know to do the same. Even our teenaged sons loved it! They enjoyed the common rooms, where they played checkers and cards when they weren't using the WIFI. We loved to sit by the fireplace in the common areas and read, check emails, chat, and relax. We couldn't have been happier with our stay here!

Room Tip: We requested rooms with a view of the national park, and I'm so glad we did! What a beautiful view--so idyllic and peaceful. Also, at breakfast, try the French toast. It is crusted in sugar and cinnamon--amazing!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was in a gorgeous location outside of Killarney. Great if you want to take a couple days to relax in their very large rooms. The two minor issues we had, was it is not within walking distance of anything, and there is only WIFI in the lobby. Our mobile internet did not even have service (which was rare for Ireland). The breakfast was amazing and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fsuskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews