We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming traditional country hotel -with modern facilities”
Review of Cahernane House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cahernane House
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Cork Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming traditional country hotel -with modern facilities”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The reception area was very welcoming with a blazing wood fire. This was a great welcome from the cold outside. We stayed on the first floor in the new wing and we had a huge room. (including a walk in wardrobe - every girls dream). Bathroom was clean with modern fittings, including under floor heating & victorian bath.
We had a balcony with a great view of the Killarney Mountains. Large enough for two charming seats and a small table. Great place to relax whilst taking in the dramatic vista. The bar area is quite small and quite traditional. The staff were friendly and hospitable.
This hotel is within walking distance to Killarney town - about 20 minutes. Plenty of parking space as it has its own private drive and courtyard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corkconnoisseurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    93
    38
    15
    5
See reviews for
118
254
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

A group of us had the good fortune of picking this hotel for our xmas dinner. The hotel is old world in style with a lovely lobby & reception rooms with open fire places. On arrival we were directed into a reception room with a small bar to the left of the lobby where we were served very good quality mulled wine. Our entrance into the dining room can only be described as spectacular greeted with oohs & aahs from the group. The table was beautifully laid out with candle sticks flowers etc in a beautiful old world dining room again with a open fire. The quality & presentation of food including the use of silver platters on the main courses was 1st class. The staff were from the moment we entered the hotel to when we departed were fantastic & certainly added to the enjoyment of the evening. After the meal we again retired to the reception room looking out at the rain lashing against the windows while our contented group soaked up the heat from the open fire all agreeing what a brilliant night we were having. A truly wonderful experience

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimBobJoe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We were a group out for dinner. We were greeted in the lobby and presented with mulled wine. Escorted to one of the lounges where there was a roaring fire. We were shown to the restaurant and everybody felt the 'wow' factor at how well the table was presented, silver candelabra, flowers and the general decor of this lovely old dining room. The food was wonderful, well presented and very tasty. The staff were very courteous and friendly. Overall, a great experience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank GJKy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I booked this hotel on the recommendation of a friend. We loved it! Killarney is adorable to begin with but when we turned up the beautiful long drive to the house we were blown away! So beautiful and impressive. Our room was awesome .. well appointed and comfortable with great views. We loved the Cellar Bar too. It isn't a brand new hotel but it was so charming and comfy..we will never forget it. I would say that it isn't really walking distance but we easily caught a cab and it was less than $10. no WIFI the rooms but lots of spots in the downstairs area to hangout and honestly it was nice to disconnect for a change.

Room Tip: I woudl ask for a room in the back so that you have the view of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccctravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia beach
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We were in Ireland for 10 days driving through the country and had a wonderful time here. The staff was sweet, the basement pub had a cool atmosphere and the rooms were larger than some of the castles we stayed in. They also had beautiful views! We stayed in room 14 and our friends were in room 11, both were great. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Was recently back here again and the hotel was its usual charming self.
The food has gotten even better and is very much worth travelling for.This is the best place to eat in Kerry. On this visit I had a wonderful wild mushroom risotto to start , a delicious roast chicken and the strawberry parfait was amazing. I'll be back again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the old house are very charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siamsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Unique Atmosphere, a real sense of days gone by, Food was Good & Wine Selection very tasteful. The public rooms are splendid, An array of Antique furniture & roaring fires create a wonderful backdrop to relax and unwind.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Old House are very quirky. Creeky Floor Boards, Window Shutters and a lovely sense...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAULRUSHBROOKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,548 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,217 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
510 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,177 reviews
3.4 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cahernane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahernane House

Property: Cahernane House
Address: Muckross Road | Cahernane, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#19 Family Hotel in Killarney
#22 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cahernane House 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cahernane House Hotel is a boutique four-star hotel located on a private estate on the edge of Killarney Park. Formerly home to the Herbert Family, this manor house is just a 10 minute walk to Killarney town centre. The hotel boasts 38 unique guest rooms; 12 of which are located in the original house and the other 26 are located in the garden wing of the hotel. Each room has many of the original features including wooden ceiling beams and beautiful fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cahernane House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahernane House Hotel Killarney
Cahernane Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing