We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming but leaves a little to be desired.”
Review of Cahernane House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cahernane House
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Charming but leaves a little to be desired.”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed two nights at Cahernane House on our honeymoon in May 2009 and let me start with the positives. The best thing it has going for it is the exterior. It charms the pants off you as soon as you see it. When you walk inside, you can feel the history and character. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was great. It is in the perfect location to act as a base for exploring the Ring of Kerry. There are also many other things to do nearby, the national park, Muckross Gardens, Ross Castle, Ladies' View, etc. The bathroom was also very nice, with a claw-foot tub and heated floors.
The room, however, was really just average. The bed provided probably (no, definitely) the worst sleep we had on the entire trip. The mattress didn't breathe at all, so it was quite hot and uncomfortable.
I would still highly recommend this as a nice place to stay in Killarney, due to the central location and overall character.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishJo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    93
    38
    15
    5
See reviews for
118
254
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

...due to low occupancy. We were reassigned to the Lake Hotel which is a sister property. We enjoyed the Lake property but be forwarned. Hope to experience this on another visit.

Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JetBlue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2011

went for my 40th birthday, when we arrived we were greeted by the staff,they up graded us to a magnificent suite over looking the grounds . this hotel and the service made us feel like royalty.the bar staff were fantastic,the room was luxurious,the food was excellent. over all can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: ask for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomoreKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

An amazing property, fabulous rooms and service! We´d been there before and will return as the food is fantastic! It´s a country expereince in the city!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are huge and other rooms allow walk out to garden or balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce_from_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

As last year we had a most enjoyable stay. The rooms in the new wing are huge. We stayed for three nights and eat at the hotel every evening. The staff could not have been more helpful. As commented before I would like tea and coffee in the rooms, but that is a minor niggle.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMW8a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Old world charm. Beautiful bedrooms, Beautiful grounds. Cool 'cave bar'. It's a fab place for a 'get away from it all' .

Room Tip: try the cheese platter - to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville, fl
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I did enjoy our stay here and the employees were delightful. It was just not the kind of place that I yearn to return to (like ballymaloe near cork). The grounds were lovely and the building was pretty from the outside. The common rooms were cozy. I think my issue is that it felt like more of a hotel than a country house. It was in a good location in between the sites in the national park and the town. It was easy to drive into town for dinner and Killarney was a great city for some souvenir shopping. Good stay we just did not love it for the money.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,548 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,217 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
510 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,177 reviews
3.4 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cahernane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cahernane House

Property: Cahernane House
Address: Muckross Road | Cahernane, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#19 Family Hotel in Killarney
#22 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cahernane House 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cahernane House Hotel is a boutique four-star hotel located on a private estate on the edge of Killarney Park. Formerly home to the Herbert Family, this manor house is just a 10 minute walk to Killarney town centre. The hotel boasts 38 unique guest rooms; 12 of which are located in the original house and the other 26 are located in the garden wing of the hotel. Each room has many of the original features including wooden ceiling beams and beautiful fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cahernane House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cahernane House Hotel Killarney
Cahernane Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing