We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Killarney
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed in killarney for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute of it.We could not find fault with anything about the hotel.the staff could not be more friendlier and the food was of a high standard.Plenty of park for all of the guests.

Room Tip: it would be hard to find nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Decky55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 605 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014

Nice friendly hotel near the town centre. The staff were very friendly. Rooms were clean and water pressure good. Great bar atmosphere with lovely friendly and attentive staff. Pool very small but very nice friendly lifeguard called Philip. Breakfast was varied.
Good value too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

had promised grandchildren a visit to killarney stayed at holiday Inn in one of the family suites. Very spacious , clean . Pool etc was a great bonus. Only hiccups were no hairdryer in room (staff got one for us ) and sofa-bed had seen better days , springs missing.

Room Tip: family suites well worth it - excellent space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryan_toma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We spent 2 nights in this hotel and to be honest we very disappointed and did not live up to the fantastic HIs I have stayed in in USA, Canada, UK, Asia and Europe. We were 2 adults and 3 children and naively believed if we booked a suite that we would be getting an upgraded room. Nothing could be further from the truth. It was most disappointing to be charged a 4 * supplement on already 4* prices for what I can only describe as a 2* hotel. Serious deficiencies were noted in

1) Maintenance - torn wall paper, a sofa bed that was beyond its useful life, bathroom tiles needing grouting and doors where the paint had turned from white to yellow over time.

2) Sanitation - the hotel was not clean, the carpet on the stairwells was filthy

3) Staff Personal Hygiene - Twice I noticed a staff member picking their nose and then handling the food. Another member of the wait staff used the public toilets and did not wash their hands afterwards

We complained that the sofa bed was not usable and hotel did not correct the matter. Tbh I do not think it is up to a client to highlight this shortcoming - it was so bad that room staff should have it already highlighted to management before we were forced to.

That said, once these issues were brought to the GM's attention, he demonstrated a can-do attitude and advised that many of the issues were part of an action plan for repair etc. That said, in the meantime, they should refrain from charging 4* prices until the hotel is brought back up to a 4* standard.

Room Tip: Expect a 2* experience and therefore negotiate the rate accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IE123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIK-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear irishcruisefanatic,
thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Holiday Inn. I am very disappointed you did not enjoy your stay as most of our guests do. As we discussed, i do very much appreciate you highlighting issues to me that i need to rectify and issues that i have already dealt with since your departure. As most reviewers here paint a positive picture of their stays with us, i do assure you that your experience is not exemplary. I do hope we can show you soon that we have a great hotel that guests love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a bus tour, and at the end of the day, it was a place to rest my head.
The location of the hotel was about a 15-20 minute stroll into town, which wasn't a problem - a nice way to stretch my legs after being in a bus for hours.
The downstairs area of the hotel is clean and updated, however the same could not be said about the rooms. This is an older Holiday Inn, so the rooms are a bit dated and in need of modernisation. Having said this though, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean, and the rest of the room was a good size.
The receptionist on duty when we arrived was awesome - she informed us that they offer a laundry service (which was much needed, especially while on a bus tour), and the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedDevil1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear RedDevil1978,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very clean and comfortable room with a nicely appointed bathroom. The hotel location is an easy walk into town. The lobby area is pleasant, the bar enjoyable, and the breakfast buffet was satisfying. Dinner was good but not great.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
Thank AllisonL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here last week for a night while visiting the area on our tour through Ireland. Bottom line --- typical older Holiday Inn that you'd find in the states, in need of remodeling/general updating. They advertise that WIFI is available (internet access via wire is available in the rooms) - but when you can get a signal, it's SLOW. Breakfast is good --- but it's not covered in the room bill. On the plus side -- the staff that checked us in was friendly and energetic - made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHARLES M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear CHARLES M,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of our property. I am pleased that you found our staff commendable and that you enjoyed our breakfast selection.

It is regrettable to hear that your stay was negatively affected due the internet service and conditions of our facility. Please accept our sincerest apologies for falling short of your expectations. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving the facilities and services that we offer to our guests.

Thank you for your time and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#20 of 38 in Killarney
949 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#29 of 38 in Killarney
430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Killarney Court Hotel
Killarney Court Hotel
#32 of 38 in Killarney
872 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#22 of 38 in Killarney
1,519 reviews
0 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#26 of 38 in Killarney
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Killarney

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range: $62 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Killarney 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Killarney, your haven for all seasons, located quiet yet central in Killarney town on the famous Ring of Kerry road, close to all the amenities and everything Killarney has to offer. We pride ourselves as the perfect place for a getaway: great staff and efficient service, always good value, exciting dining options, live entertainment and full leisure facilities. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Killarney Hotel Killarney
Killarney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing