We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Killarney
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Winter Springs, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Very clean and comfortable room with a nicely appointed bathroom. The hotel location is an easy walk into town. The lobby area is pleasant, the bar enjoyable, and the breakfast buffet was satisfying. Dinner was good but not great.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank AllisonL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    201
    149
    57
    21
See reviews for
224
181
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GRAND RAPIDS
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here last week for a night while visiting the area on our tour through Ireland. Bottom line --- typical older Holiday Inn that you'd find in the states, in need of remodeling/general updating. They advertise that WIFI is available (internet access via wire is available in the rooms) - but when you can get a signal, it's SLOW. Breakfast is good --- but it's not covered in the room bill. On the plus side -- the staff that checked us in was friendly and energetic - made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHARLES M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear CHARLES M,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review of our property. I am pleased that you found our staff commendable and that you enjoyed our breakfast selection.

It is regrettable to hear that your stay was negatively affected due the internet service and conditions of our facility. Please accept our sincerest apologies for falling short of your expectations. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving the facilities and services that we offer to our guests.

Thank you for your time and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyrone ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

we were cycling through Killarney on the way to Donegal during a very hot day last week , and had organised to stop at th eholiday inn for our lunch which we had with us, the bar staff very kindly left us out copious amount of cold juice with loads of ice and when I told them two of our party had their wedding anniversary they provided them with champagne flutes with fresh orange juice.. FANTASTIC SERVICE WELL DONE

Room Tip: didn't have the chance to stay but certainly will be back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arranmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

A great place, friendly and efficient staff. Good food and a hotel bar which could be described as snug. Hotel also contained sauna and pool and well as a small gym. It would be great if they introduced more beers from the area. Its located halfway between Muckross Park, which makes it great for an evening stroll and its about 20 minutes from the town centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Recently stayed again after a gap of four years. There had been little change to what is a reasonably good hotel. Rooms were clean, but in need of some redecorating. The beds were comfortable but the room was very warm and close all night. The bar was great with plenty for the kids to do as well as the adults. Pool small but warm, breakfast was excellent and plentiful.

We had a room with a locked adjoining door (a good idea if two rooms are rented by the same party etc which was not the case on our stay) - hence we heard everything that was going on in the room next door - around 2.30am to 3am we could hear the conversations which kept us awake for the entire night......if it was not from the adjoining room then it was from the next door room.... in any case the sound of talking and arguing kept the whole family awake all night - which defeats the purpose of a holiday or break! This is of course not the fault of the hotel - however, the acoustics between rooms means that you may well hear what goes on next door (especially if there is a door between the two).........which is probably universal to all hotels if the people staying next door have little consideration for others!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room NOT with an adjoining door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nilmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear nilmack,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the noise levels prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This is an older Holiday Inn, but fairly maintained, still could use a makeover. Staff was friendly and helpful. Read the "worst ever" review, we did not encounter that at the bar. Had dinner there and breakfast on the second floor restaurant. Decent breakfast choice for the buffet with fair service. Service at the bar was OK and the food was fine. The food staff did seem to be in off season mode, but still got things done. We did the Ring of Kerry (self drive) and the reception staff was very helpful in planning our day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clinton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Arrived today... All seemed well... Nice room nice reception... Went to the bar and had the worst most unfriendly service I have ever come across... Had planned to eat here but after service decided to actually pay a taxi to bring us elsewhere... Had a beautiful meal and got a taxi back... More unfriendly service.. So decided to go to our room... And finish our drink there... Decided to order my daughters a sandwich. But was told there was a 7 euro charge per sandwich... I will never stay here again as you can get better quality for alot less money.. And In my opinion bar staff should at least smile.. And it's a shame to say that the irish bar staff was unfriendly and unhelpful where as the obvious non nationals..were more professional.. Honest and decent.. Shame as could be a very decent family destination..

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nial S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIK-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Nial S,
thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Killarney. I am disappointed to learn you did not receive the usual friendly and efficient service we are renowned for and that many reviewers comment on. You are right a friendly smile and service are paramount to a good experience in any bar or restaurant and i am sorry we did not deliver on our promise to you on this occasion. i will investigate this matter and follow up with the staff on duty, including the fact that our sandwich in the bar is priced at €4.95. Again please do accept my sincere apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Killarney hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Killarney Oaks Hotel
#30 of 38 in Killarney
414 reviews
3.2 mi away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
40 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#19 of 38 in Killarney
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Killarney

Property: Holiday Inn Killarney
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Killarney, your haven for all seasons, located quiet yet central in Killarney town on the famous Ring of Kerry road, close to all the amenities and everything Killarney has to offer. We pride ourselves as the perfect place for a getaway: great staff and efficient service, always good value, exciting dining options, live entertainment and full leisure facilities. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Killarney Hotel Killarney
Killarney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing