We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Killarney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Killarney
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over Christmas loved it booked twin room and got a 2 double beds great for a good nights sleep. Hotel has a pool wich is quite small but handy as well as gym which could have more up to date working equipment some things didn't work all in all good hotel spacious lobby and nice rooms and good location and nice food at a great price at 130 apron for 2 on some booking site

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tk1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    193
    139
    53
    21
See reviews for
213
172
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Great experience - stayed one night with my family plus my cousin's family - 4 kids !!!! thought it wont be easy - hotel is ready for this challenge :)
Pool is really good and it is close for public (not like most of the other hotels..) which makes a difference.
Rooms good enough - you can see .. hotel has already ++++ years but still nice and family friendly !!!

Food and drinks in the restaurant - highly recommended - again from kids perspective :)

all in all great experience and will come back

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radek Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here recently and found it to be good value for money. The hotel room was nice and clean. Breakfast was fine and the bar food was tasty. It is located nearby to Killarney so location is good. The beds are quite comfy.
However... the leisure centre should be closed in my opinion as it is filthy! The floors in the changing rooms are covered in dirt and it is not a good representation of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cullig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Cullig,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am pleased to note that you liked our rooms, location and the quality of food. However, I am sorry that our leisure room did not live up to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience or discomfort it may have caused you. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed in The Holiday Inn in early November, Everything was very good for us , Room lovely and cosy , Plenty of space , Had food in the bar on first eve , very good and tasty, All the staff were lovely and helpful.Heard great trad music in pub over the road on the Sunday night , Killarney was quite for early November Thats the way we like it , Will be back .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maureen921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here just the one night on a unexpected trip away. We did not have a previous booking but we were checked in very quick and eefficiently. Staff were nice and did their job. We got a nice room, tidy and to the point with a lovely comfortable bed too. We did not have breakfast here as we thought it a little expensive so we went in the short distance into town to have breakfast. The pub and restaurant downstairs are a lovely asset.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mairead H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Im surprised to read the negative comments, I truly am! We stay here everytime we go to Killarney. The hotel is in a great location, front staff are always pleasant. I always request a ground floor which is always given to me. Yes, the pool is small, it wouldnt put me off though. We have eaten in the restaurant and its delicious. Breakfast is always pleasant and is plentiful. Its self-service so work away ;-) Rooms have ALWAYS been clean and no complaints about the comfy beds.
Will stay here again and again. No complaints.

Room Tip: If you have kids request the ground floor as its very close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dr0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay- check in was smooth - lovely friendly receptionist. Once we reached our room - it was freezing - no heating turned on. Had to go down to reception to complain. A member of staff was up immediatelly to turn on the rads in the suite but rooms were still very cold. Very disappointed with the decor - really dated. Pool small, ok for small kids - not much scope in pool on the Saturday as swimming lessons going on.
Food was ok - but again the bar area freezing where we were eating.
Booked the break on Pigs back.com so it did'nt cost a whole lot for the 2 nights.
Standards poor for Killarney. I thought all accomodation in Killarney would be more modern.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oconnorj644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIK-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear oconnorj644,
thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Killarney. We are sorry you were allocated a room without pre-heating and therefore experienced a cold room when you checked into the hotel and that you felt our bar was too cold. I have passed on your comments to our front office team and they were happy to learn that you were looked after by them. We hope we will be able to welcome you again in the future to the Holiday Inn Killarney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
6.8 mi away
Travel Inn Killarney
0.2 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#26 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#36 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#34 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.6 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Killarney

Property: Holiday Inn Killarney
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Killarney 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Killarney, your haven for all seasons, located quiet yet central in Killarney town on the famous Ring of Kerry road, close to all the amenities and everything Killarney has to offer. We pride ourselves as the perfect place for a getaway: great staff and efficient service, always good value, exciting dining options, live entertainment and full leisure facilities. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Killarney Hotel Killarney
Killarney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing