We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed on 5th April, 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Killarney
Ranked #33 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I stayed with 3 friends at the Holiday Inn and we had a fantastic time. we got great value for money and had an excellent dinner and breakfast.
the leisure centre is lovely and we unwound there.
we walked to muskross house and it is a great walk. the scenery is out of this world
lots of bike routes to take also

Room Tip: taxi service is excellent from the hotel rooms are adjoining one another and we were able to link u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnO1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIK-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Anno1227,
thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and our hotel facilities including our dining options! My staff will be very happy too and we would love to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 604 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

Greeted at check in with a pack of local information by the receptionist; room comfortable with all the mod-cons you expect from a Holiday Inn. First day breakfast was all buffet but rest of the time cooked items were done to order due to the low numbers staying at the hotel at the time. None the less, you didn't leave the breakfast table hungry! Again, because of low numbers, the restaurant service in the evening was downstairs in a corner of the bar. Food good but sometimes a little undercooked. Did not use the swimming pool because Irish law requires wearing of a swimming hat (and I'm such a fashion victim that I refuse!!!) Staff a credit to the hotel; always cheerful and willing to help.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Recently stayed for 2 nights with my husband on a cheap deal, had bedroom plus a sitting room with fridge.Hotel really in need of TLC work as shabby inside. Disappointed that pool hours were only from 5pm to 9pm. Breakfast could have been better, served by waiter on the Friday morning with a lovely hot plate with a fried breakfast. Also tables could do with place mats on them. On the Saturday morning, it was self service, plates & food not hot enough.Rooms were too warm. Receptionist very helpful & lovely. The sign for hotel should have been lit up at night time. Would not be in a hurry to stay there again with another cheap deal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear DenDublin_Ireland,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the pool hours and breakfast selection. We will look into these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I visited The Holiday Inn on 6th March 2013. I didn't know what to expect as I read a few reviews on tripadvisor. However, I was pleasantly surprised.

From the minute we checked in the receptionist was professional. Our suite was warm nd extremely clean, whereas other reviews stated otherwise. The hotel was situated only 5 to 10 minute walk into the city centre. Which was a really lovely walk to and from the hotel.

Breakfast was really nice, the continental breakfast had plenty of variety, however it could have been better presented, yet was lovely and having the choice of a cooked breakfast was nice. I would suggest having a menu card on each table would to allow the customer to see what's available. Our waiter was curteous and very effecient at his job.
Shauna in saddlers bar was extremely quirky and very friendly. Maria at reception is an asset to your company.

One Small problem was that the bed was extremely hot and we couldn't get a good night sleep.

Overall my partner and

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kanagian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear kanagian,

Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to read you had a relaxing stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note of your valuable comments and we will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. Very convenient for Town and National Park etc. This hotel needs a lot of TLC as quite shabby inside. We had a view from our window of lots of rubbish which looked like old signs which were dumped. Have a picture but unable to download.The pool only opens from 5pm to 9pm which is of little use. We felt on our arrival and when we left that they couldn't have cared less if we stayed there or not. Not very friendly at all. The bar was no better - when it was open. Asked for crisps - was directed to a vending machine hidden away which was empty. A very average breakfast was 10euros each. I would advise a short walk into town where you can get a much nicer full Irish breakfast for 5euros each. Love Killarney, have stayed many times but will not be returning to the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Sandra D,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your experience and the service you received was less than satisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Recently stayed here on a cheap weekend getaway. Have stayed here previously but very dissapointed this time round.

Room very shabby and in need of a good cleaning and maintenance. Many lights needing replacing, cobwebs on ceilings/walls and wallpaper all starting to peel off.

The only advantage to our stay was the nearness to the pool for the kids.

Bed broken and very uncomfortable.

Meals for kids very expensive and menu choice very very poor. Very overpriced for quality of food.

Breakfast also quite expensive for kids, and choice very limited. Cooked breakfast was also very dry and hard looking (at 8am??)...

frequent visitor to Killarney but will be a long time before we visit here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nettie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIK-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Nettie1974,
Thank you for posting your review of the Holiday Inn Killarney. I am disappointed to read your comments, and I do sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us on this occasion, as we did not fulfill our promise of providing comfortable surroundings for your and yoru family to enjoy. I have shared your comments with my team and together we have taken action to rectify the issues you commented on. I do hope when returning to Killarney i will be able to show you that we have a great hotel that guests love and i would ask you to contact me personally here at the hotel. Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed last weekend in this hotel. It is exactly what I would expect it to be: all my requests before check-in were attended, the staff were friendly, we slept in a suite and it was nice, clean, and we had a good night sleep.

There were families with kids staying besides our room, and yet I couldn't feel any noise coming from there. Speaking of families, if you are travelling solo or with your companion and if kids bother you, perhaps it's not a bad idea to search for other alternatives in Killarney.

The restaurant was nice and efficient both at dinner and breakfast. The food is not out of this world, but it is good, and the service better. The pub grants a discount for guests and looks nice and friendly, even though the music was a bit cheesy in my opinion.

The property is conveniently located near the city centre and the National Park. The value was ok. It didn't go beyond my expectations, but I don't see a reason why not to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIK-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear RuiH,
thank you for reviewing the Holiday Inn Killarney. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel, its facilities & services.
We look forward to welcome you to the hotel in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#20 of 38 in Killarney
949 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#30 of 38 in Killarney
429 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Killarney Court Hotel
Killarney Court Hotel
#32 of 38 in Killarney
871 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#22 of 38 in Killarney
1,519 reviews
0 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#26 of 38 in Killarney
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Killarney

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range: $61 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Killarney 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Killarney, your haven for all seasons, located quiet yet central in Killarney town on the famous Ring of Kerry road, close to all the amenities and everything Killarney has to offer. We pride ourselves as the perfect place for a getaway: great staff and efficient service, always good value, exciting dining options, live entertainment and full leisure facilities. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Killarney Hotel Killarney
Killarney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing