We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay when in kilarney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Killarney
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Reviewed November 3, 2012

staff were lovely,nice pool table,breakfast buffet which was great if you dont want another fry you can pick what ever you want from cereal to fruit salad or just croissants.swimming pool, jacuzzi etc open till 9.30 pm bar food lovely and not expensive.very friendly and welcoming place, we definately will go back.

Room Tip: if you are a smoker like me then ask for a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIK-GM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you Noleen M for posting your review. I am very happy you enjoyed your break here at the Holiday Inn Killarney. I have shared your comments with my team and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 600 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just back from a family break at the Holiday Inn. There are a lot of positives about the hotel. The deal we got was excellent value for money and they were extremely child friendly. The location of the hotel is also great for exploring Kerry. Our check-in was very efficient and the receptionist was very friendly. The bedroom was a good size with two double beds and was very clean.

The breakfast in the hotel was also good value. There were cereals, fruit, juices and a hot breakfast that was replenished regularly. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. Dinner was also good with nice portions and the service was quick and efficient. Included in our package was milk and cookies each evening for my son which were delivered promptly each evening and made him feel very important.

As other reviewers have noted some of the décor is outdated and the hotel is in need of some refurbishment which is very evident in the changing rooms at the swimming pool. They are quite cramped and not really equipped to deal with high volume which they experienced during mid-term break.

The other slight issue for me was the lack of internet connectivity in the bedrooms. There is free wifi in the public areas but none in the bedrooms, I really think that this is a standard requirement nowadays. There is a facility to check emails via the TV but it was expensive.

Overall, I found the hotel to be a good base for a great family break and would return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights this weekend past - 2 adults and 2 children under 10. Family room had 2 double beds. Nice room. Good standard for 3 star hotel and good value for the price. Breakfast was 25 euro per family which was good value and satisfactory - nothing to write home about but again really convenient with children and set us up for the day. We did not eat in the restaurant.Many families in the hotel this weekend. Was ideal for a family break. The swimming pool is small but was great on Saturday which was very wet. Staff very friendly and helpful. Overall I would recommend this hotel for good value particularly for families.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I got a good deal here. If I had paid more, I would be disappointed but I paid barely over b&b prices. The staff are friendly. The breakfast is average. My room was comfortable and well-appointed. They were not serving lunch the day i was there so I asked for a sandwich and coffee to be brought to my room. I was charged €10.45 for this which I thought was expensive. Easy walking distance of town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orlaithmannion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just back from a weekend break. What can I say? The hotel lived up to it's reputation. Staff are exceptionally welcoming. Loved the hotel. Plenty of activity. Great spot for people watching. If you like a nice pint of Budweiser ask Tomas behind the bar. Great pint.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here in August 2012. It's a nice modern hotel with a good pub; about a 15 minute walk into town.

The last night of my stay there I discovered that the hotel pub was not required to stop serving at Half-Eleven (as is typical of pubs on weeknights). So long as you were a guest at the hotel you could stay up drinking in the pub. Granted pints were at least 50 cents to a Euro more expensive than a typical pub in the town. But if you enjoy a good night-cap; you'll have no trouble getting that last drink down stairs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McGrupp10799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

we booked a 2 night deal & it was a great offer, while there is nothing too wrong with the hotel we felt we were a little out of place - we seemed to be the youngest couple there and it seemed to be a lot of older groups & tours - noting wrong with this just seemed to cater towards groups & older folk!!!
rooms are nice but nothing to write home about

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubgal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.4 mi away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,400 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
537 reviews
3.2 mi away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Killarney Court Hotel
Killarney Court Hotel
#32 of 38 in Killarney
865 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
781 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#30 of 38 in Killarney
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Killarney

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range: $60 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Killarney 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Killarney, your haven for all seasons, located quiet yet central in Killarney town on the famous Ring of Kerry road, close to all the amenities and everything Killarney has to offer. We pride ourselves as the perfect place for a getaway: great staff and efficient service, always good value, exciting dining options, live entertainment and full leisure facilities. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Killarney Hotel Killarney
Killarney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing