We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rathe special” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Hotel
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Rathe special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

A truly beautiful location, beautifully styled (definitely not trendy!) but they know that and price accordingly.
Breakfast room and restaurants also very nice -due to view, but the bistro seemed to creak a bit under load of very busy weekend (cold food needed to be sent back and was recooked from fresh so well done there).
Deluxe room is huge and jacuzzi in main area is interesting.
Room doors in the newest wing need to be less noisy. One thoughtless person at the other end of the corridor slamming their door late and the whole place is awake.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us and for choosing The Lake Hotel for your holiday to Killarney. I’m glad to read that you were happy with the room that you were allocated during your stay. The deluxe rooms are lovely aright with some of them having the Jacuzzi bath in the bedroom part of the room as a feature so that the lake view can be enjoyed while taking a relaxing Jacuzzi. I always feel its nice to get something a little out of the norm when you are staying in a hotel just to make it different to what you are used to at home to remind you that this is your holiday time. I’m glad that you were impressed with the styling of the public areas of the hotel also. The hotel has a rich history and is here since 1820 so it is important for us to try to maintain the building’s integrity by furnishing and decorating with suitably sympathetic materials. I’m sorry to hear that the food that you were served in the bistro wasn’t as hot as you would have liked but I’m pleased to read that this was rectified to your satisfaction once you brought it to our attention. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thanks once again for your review.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,460
    338
    90
    26
    11
See reviews for
339
1,141
39
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (716)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Loved everything about this hotel . We stayed for 4 days in the deluxe four poster room . The room was fantastic and the views were breathtaking and the staff were so welcoming and friendly . Will definately be returning soon

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Archoskarenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. What a lovely photo of the rainbow hitting the lake as I always say no matter what the weather the picture that is the vista from the windows of the hotel always has its own unique beauty and it just does you good to look out at. I am writing today from a fresh but dry Killarney with just a few deer grazing by the lake shore this morning in the early morning sunlight it would remind you of how wonderful nature is and how lucky we are to be able to enjoy it in all its glory here at the lake. It is lovely to read in your report how happy you were with your four poster deluxe room and of course with the views from the windows. Thank you also for your lovely comments about our team here at the hotel I will make sure and pass those on to them. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thanks once again for this really lovely review.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

The room was very nice, it had a nice romantic feel to it. I loved the four poster bed and seating area. Our room had a gorgeous view of the lake. We had a reservation at the restaurant and the experience was exquisite. We had one of the best table, the view was breathtaking. The food, dear me, the food!!! I had the ''Dressed Castletownbere Crabmeat'' and the ''Pan Seared Fillet of Sea Trout'' it was very good. The plating was beautiful and it tasted heavenly. The staff was friendly, polite and very diligent. We also had a pint at the ''The Devils Punchbowl Bar'', again good staff. All in all a great experience!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilimayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. It is lovely to read that you were so happy with your visit. The four poster rooms are indeed lovely and have that old worldly romantic feel to them which is lovely for special occasions or just as a nice treat to enjoy a taste of luxury. I am so pleased to read your lovely comment about your restaurant experience being “exquisite” our team in the Castlelough Restaurant and the Kitchen team will be delighted to hear such high praise for their efforts. Noel our head chef who has just joined us this year is really wowing our guests with his dishes that use locally sourced ingredients and imaginative, elegant plating that has proven to be a big success with our guests. We have some great personalities down in the Devils punchbowl bar full of mischief and craic and they are indeed a great asset to the hotel. Reading the reviews posted by guests like yourself after their says with us really reminds me that we are extremely lucky to have people working with us who are really dedicated to ensure that each and every one of our guests has a great holiday where they can make memories to treasure while staying with us here at the lake. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thanks once again for this really lovely review.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

I have read reviews here where others asked why this hotel isn't five star, and I whole heartedly concur. From booking, through to departure, everything was just first class.

We booked an upgraded deluxe lake view room with balcony, but what we got deserved the title of Junior Suite. It was an enormous room, beautifully furnished, with a rather small but ample balcony overlooking a breath-taking panorama of lakes and mountains ...... and even a red deer who came out every morning to paddle in front of our windows.

We were here for just three days and two nights and had planned to revisit old favourite sites and do all the touristic things that Killarney is famous for. However, the hotel was so perfectly peaceful and relaxing, and the weather so sublime, that we found ourselves sleeping late, walking through the stunning grounds, and lazing on our balcony with some good reading material.

The room was immaculately clean. There was a king sized bed, a single bed, a sitting area with sofa and several chairs, tables, bedside lockers, dressing table, enormous wardrobe with plenty of storage space, a fridge, tea & coffee facilities, iron & ironing board......the list goes on. The bathroom had both a large walk in shower and a Jacuzzi bath.

We dined in the restaurant one night and found it superb - a separate review will tell all. Lunch in the bar was a bit frustrating because we didn't realise that it would have been better to have booked a table.......when the weather is good here tables are hard to find.

There's a small hotel shop with souvenirs of Ireland and some local produce.

The part of the hotel that we stayed in is new and modern, but the original old hotel houses the bars, dining areas, many reading rooms, libraries etc. There's also a gym, spa, and outdoor hot tub. The one thing missing is a pool.

The hotel will also organise all sorts of trips for you, including boat trips from its own little pier.

Killarney is a very busy town, but when you stay at the Lake Hotel it's another world.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GourmetGabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. Your lovely photographs really do the hotel justice and it is lovely of you to show Trip Advisor readers a small glimpse of what the hotel has to offer. What a lovely compliment to say that you think that the Lake Hotel should be 5 star that is very nice of you. I’m very happy to read that you were so pleased with your room. Kathleen our accommodation manager and her team do a fantastic job in keeping all of our rooms in tip top condition for our guests to enjoy so I will make sure and pass those compliments on to her. Thank you also for your lovely comments about your dining experience in the Castlelough Restaurant. Noel our head chef and his team in the kitchen are also doing a brilliant job this year in making sure that all of our guests get a great dining experience during their stay with us. The Lakeside bistro has been extremely busy this year alright and it can be hard to get a table on occasion. We do have supervisors on duty who can take your name on arrival to ensure that you get the next available table and you can enjoy a drink in one of our many lounge areas or outside beside the lake while you wait. For larger groups we do recommend that you book in advance to avoid disappointment. The team here at reception are indeed a wealth of information on the very best must do and see trips and attractions in Killarney and the wider Kerry area and are happy to provide maps, information and to book trips for our guests during their visit, just call to front desk for any assistance or advice required during your stay. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thanks once again for this really lovely review.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Having recently spent three nights at the Lake Hotel, I can honestly say that it was an excellent experience.

On arrival, we were greeted at reception by two very friendly staff. The receptionist that we were dealing with was very efficient, she informed us that we had been upgraded to a suite. Thanks for this!

The room was a lake/mountain view room with balcony. You can look out and watch the wild deer roam and the swans in the lake. It was a perfect room-clean, nice decor and very spacious. The bathroom had a walk in shower and separate jacuzzi bath. It had two sinks and a large mirror.
The beds were a little too firm for my liking but that's not a complaint!

We had a meal in the restaurant one night and it was outstanding.
A view by the window and quality fresh food all sourced from the Kingdom (Kerry)! The meal was cooked to perfection and the veg were perfect.
A selection of desserts will not disappoint!

The buffet breakfast the next morning was equally as good, a wide selection of food on offer, freshly cooked by obviously a great team of chefs. The waiting staff were very efficient and service to the table was fast.
As a Coeliac, the hotel is the place to stay. There are numerous gluten free options available (bread, sausages etc). Nothing was ever a problem for the staff. Well done to all concerned!

In conclusion, great hotel, beautiful location (five minutes from Killarney town centre by car) and on the Ring. The staff are so friendly and helpful.

This property in the heart of the Lakes with beautiful mountain views will not disappoint!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravellerRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. Your lovely photographs really do the hotel justice and it is lovely to see that you got a chance to see the deer during your stay. I’m delighted to hear how happy you were with the room that you were allocated and that you were pleased with the upgrade that we were able to give you on this occasion. Thank you for your kind comments and lovely photographs of the food that you received during your visit. Noel our head chef is very dedicated to sourcing local ingredients from the Kingdom and we really feel that this makes all the difference to the enjoyment of the dining experience. I’m glad to read also that you were impressed with the selection available for our Coeliac guests, we are aware how important that dining experience is to our guests and we feel it is essential to cater well for all dietary groups to ensure that all of our guests have a great food experience during their visits to us. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again and thanks once again for this really lovely review.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

We spent a romantic long weekend in August in the beautiful Lake Hotel. After the lovely surprise of a complimentary upgrade we were greated with breathtaking views of the mountains, lake and deer! on entering our room. The room was very spacious with a good size bathroom including jacuzzi bath and we were so glad we had booked a room with a balcony. We did find the bed and pillows a bit hard for our liking but it didn't spoil the overall experience. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was very good and would definitely recommend ordering the trio dessert board - chocolate heaven on a plate. We were certainly spoilt every morning tucking into the fabulous breakfast overlooking the lake. The hotel is tucked in off the main road giving a secluded feel but its only a 5 min drive or 20 min walk from the main town of Killarney and is a perfect base for taking in the beauty the ring of Kerry has to offer. At all times the staff were so lovely and helpful and nothing was ever a bother. This hotel was recommended to us by friends and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it again - just perfect!!

Room Tip: Definitely book a room with a balcony to appreciate the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. I’m delighted to hear that you were pleased with the upgrade that was given to you on arrival it is lovely to be able to give our guests extra little treats when possible. The views from the window are a real wow factor alright, looking out at the Lough Lein, surrounding mountains and the Mc Carthy Mór Castle just does one good. Thank you for your kind comments about the food that you received during your visit. That trio of desserts board is a real treat alright and has something that should please all tastes on it. Noel our head chef who is new to the hotel this year and his team here in the kitchen are very dedicated to ensuring that all of our guests get a great dining experience during their visits to us and I’m pleased to read how good the feedback is from our guests. I will make sure and pass your compliments on to him and his team. We really appreciate your kind words and for recommending us so highly to your friends and to Trip Advisor readers, I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful family owned historic hotel right on the shore of the Lower Lake in Killarney. Lovely walking possibilities around the lake. Within the bounds of the national park. Very comfortable rooms. Excellent service. Excellent breakfast. Dinner can be had in the pricier main restaurant or at the less pricey pub. All dishes were excellent. We ate our dinner outside on the patio practically on the lake shore. Great base to do day trips in County Kerry, particularly the national park.

Fun traditional Irish music on Friday night.

Very pleasant owner gave helpful tips on where to enjoy boat rides nearby. Told stories about the Charlie Chaplin family who still come to this hotel regularly.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. It sounds like you had a great holiday in Killarney and its lovely to read how happy you were with your stay with us here at the lake. We are indeed extremely lucky to be blessed with the beautiful views from our windows, looking out at Lough Lein, the 12th centaury Mc Carthy Mór Castle ruins and the surrounding nature and mountains has a way of relaxing the mind and refreshing the soul. Thank you also for your lovely comments about the quality and tastiness of the food that you received during your visit. I will make sure and pass these on to Noel our head chef and his team here in the kitchen who do a wonderful job in providing top class, locally produced cuisine for our guests to enjoy during their visits to us. I’m glad to read that you enjoyed our music here at the hotel which adds a nice ambiance for our guests to enjoy in the evening I will pass your compliments on to our musicians. We really appreciate your kind words and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us soon again.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
1.0 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.4 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
1.5 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Hotel

Property: Lake Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#16 Business Hotel in Killarney
#16 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Hotel is a friendly Family run hotel, Free Parking, safe secure, environmentally sound hotel on the lake shore in Killarney. The Ring of Kerry begins and ends at the Lake Hotel. We will give you a traditional Irish welcome from the Huggard Family and Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing