We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$208
$202
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$162
$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$394
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$248
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ross(Killarney)
$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$1,132
$209
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Brehon(Killarney)
$214
$208
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Randles Hotel(Killarney)
$241
$222
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$395
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fairview(Killarney)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,418)
Filter reviews
2,418 results
Traveler rating
1,854
406
113
30
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,854
406
113
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour postercastle ruinscastlelough restauranthuggard familymaster deluxe roomred deerjacuzzi bathnew wingnational parkposter bedring of kerrylough leaneold worldmain restaurantrelaxing breakmuckross housetorc waterfall
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,448 - 1,453 of 2,418 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful large hotel, with all the grandeur of times past. We had a gorgeous room in the new part of the hotel with a lake view and a balcony. The staff were really helpful and knowledgeable. Food was great too. I would highly recommend staying here, as there is so much to see nearby.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Keelin1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. I’m pleased to read that you were impressed with the room that you were allocated during your stay with us. The balcony is a great place on which to sit back, relax and take in the beauty of the Lough Lein, the surrounding mountains and the Mc Carthy Mór Castle situated on the grounds of the hotel all in the peace and tranquillity of you own room. No matter what the weather the beauty of this vista is always evident and never fails to refresh the spirit and relax the soul. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding the quality of the food that you received during your visit. Noel our head chef and his team in the kitchen never fail to provide top class, locally produced Irish cuisine for our guests to enjoy. I do hope that we can welcome you back to us again in the future and thank you once again for this lovely report.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Upon arriving we had booked the Roman Deluxe room, which we found to be very dated and smelled quite musty/damp and also had no view of the Lake. Rooms on the website can be a little confusing as to which one you are booking. We then asked could we have a different room, which we were given without fuss and with money back, we then got a fabulous room with a gorgeous view of the lake. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant was gorgeous. I am counting down the days until I can return. Keep up the great work Lake Hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure you book a room with a view of the Lake, the view is to die for!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 63Amy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for choosing the Lake for your holiday in Killarney. What a lovely comment to make that you are counting down the days until you can return to us thank you most sincerely for your kind words. It is always a pleasure to read that our guests left us feeling happy and relaxed and pleased with their holiday to Killarney. Thank you for your kind comments about the gorgeous food in the restaurant I will pass these on to Noel our head chef and his team in the kitchen who do a great job in ensuring our guests have a great food experience during their visit to us. I’m sorry that you felt that there was a bad smell in the Roman Room on arrival I suspect that perhaps someone may have smoked in the room before your arrival. Although all rooms are non smoking you do have the odd person who breaks the rules now and again and I’m sorry that this must have been the case on this occasion. I will speak to our team in accommodation to remind them about the airing out of rooms should they feel that it has a Smokey smell. I’m pleased to read though that you were very happy with the Lake View Room that you were re allocated following this and I’m glad to read that you felt that the front desk handled this change well and without any hassle for you. I do hope that we can welcome you back to us again in the future and thank you once again for this lovely report.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Beautiful location, very relaxing, food was a bit dated but very good, hotel rated are high your definitely paying for the location. Hotel staff where excellent from start to finish nice clean rooms. Only negative really is the prices.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the excellent service and friendly welcome that you received during your visit. We are very lucky to have a team here at the hotel who are dedicated to ensuring that all of our guests have a great holiday while here with us at the lake. I’m glad to read also that you were pleased with the room that you were allocated and of course the beautiful views from your window. We are very lucky to be blessed with one of the most beautiful views you could find. Just looking out at the Lough Lein, the surrounding mountains and the nature all around you can’t help but do you good. In regards our rates we always do our very best to offer great value for money here at the hotel. We also have quarterly e-zines to which our guests can sign up where we give special discounts or special added value treats to our repeat guests as a thank you for the loyalty that they show us. I do hope that we can welcome you back to us again in the future and thank you once again for this lovely report.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Excellent service,very friendly staff.Rooms are beautiful,especially the new extension.Its a bit far from the town of Killarney but the views are worth it.Love coming to this hotel,can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josephineshinnors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the excellent service and friendly welcome that you received during your visit. We are very lucky to have a team here at the hotel who are dedicated to ensuring that all of our guests have a great holiday while here with us at the lake. I’m glad to read also that you were pleased with the room that you were allocated and of course the beautiful views from your window. We are very lucky to be blessed with one of the most beautiful views you could find. Just looking out at the Lough Lein, the surrounding mountains and the nature all around you it just can’t help but do you good. I do hope that we can welcome you back to us again in the future and thank you once again for this lovely report.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

On our recent Holiday we stopped at this Hotel for High Tea. What a lovely welcome we received and the high Tea was excellent. This a a family run Hotel and once again as they has been contacted before we arrived, they had kindly prepared high tea for myself as I have a diet restriction due to being coeliac (gluten free.)

You will receive a very warm welcome, very helpful staff and the interior of the hotel is lovely.

Room Tip: Do let the hotel know before hand if you have a diet restriction. eg: if you are coeliac.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwraig66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the warm welcome that you received on arrival as is very important for us here at the lake to make sure that all of our guests feel most welcome and to provide a home away from home ambiance for them to enjoy during their visit to us. I’m pleased to read also that you were happy with our coeliac options. Noel our head chef and his team here in the kitchen have made sure that we have lots of tasty options for all of our guests with dietary restrictions. All of our coeliac options are outlined on our menus and the kitchen is more than happy to take any special requests from our guests. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding the interiors of the hotel we are very lucky to have a building so rich in history and we try to ensure that we keep the interiors in line with this. I do hope that we can welcome you back to us again in the future and thank you once again for this lovely report.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews