We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical stay”
Review of Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Hotel
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Lake Hotel in Killarney, and can't say enough good things about it. Our room balcony overlooked the lake where we watched egrets, herons, ducks and ducklings in the reeds. A herd of red deer passed by in the early morning mist. The castle ruins at the waters edge reveal remnants of the property's history. Rooms are beautifully appointed, bar and restaurant food and service are top notch. Don't miss this one.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor of the newest wing, but all rooms have a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbk2142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely warm review about your recent stay with us and for rating us so highly on your report. I am writing to you today from a sun kissed Killarney and it is simply beyond beautiful here today. We are extremely lucky to be situated right in the national park where our guests can enjoy the beauty of the lake and mountains and the nature all around us. As you mentioned in your report a wide variety of wildlife can be viewed from the hotel including the red deer, swans, egrets, herons, ducks, otters, squirrels, the newly re-introduced white tailed eagles and many more. We often get guests who love photography, art, bird watching, nature groups etc who are just thrilled to bits to be given such a special location for their holidays. We are also very lucky to have the Mc Carthy Mór Castle right on the grounds of the hotel. It is a beautiful location from which to enjoy the view or you can take a boat ride from our castle pier which can be organised through reception to fully enjoy the beauty of the lakes. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the bar and restaurant I will pass those on to our team. I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon again.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,684 - 1,690 of 2,388 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Lake Hotel was our base of operations for a trip around the Dingle Peninsula and sightseeing in the area. The hotel is in a lovely location, right on the water's edge, with a beautiful view that includes the lake, hills and a ruined tower. It has nice public spaces, including a library with internet access and a large parking lot. The hotel is a 3-5 minute drive (or a bit of a hike) from Killarney proper. Our main complaint with this hotel was the room temperature. You do not have individualized control of temp, and during our stay the room became uncomfortably warm at night, even with the window open. Also, the bathtub/shower was very deep, which is great if you want to soak after a long day of sightseeing, but a little precarious if you just want to climb in and out to take a shower. If we had to do it over again, we would stay somewhere in Killarney proper and just go to the Lake Hotel for dinner to enjoy the view.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJBSt_Louis_Missouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us and thank you for choosing to stay at The Lake Hotel. You picked a great location to base your trips to the Dingle Peninsula and the Ring of Kerry from. We are very lucky here at the lake to have access to all the most beautiful locations in Kerry while being situated in the beautiful Killarney National Park for your stay in Killarney. Killarney town itself is also only a stones throw from the hotel and you can drive in to town in less then five minutes while on your return from the noise and bustle of town you can enjoy the beauty and tranquillity of the nature and peace all around you at here at the lake. I’m sorry that you found your room too warm during your stay this is not a common complaint as we are lucky to have balconies in many of our rooms and open out windows. We have air conditioning in some of our rooms and it can be requested at booking stage if desired. Our Jacuzzi bathtubs are designed with luxury in mind and are probably a little deeper then standard baths but we often find that our guests feel this is a plus rather then a minus. It’s difficult to please everyone but we do our best. We take your comments on board and thank you for your business.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 3 days, absolutely loved this place, fantastic views everywhere you look, rooms are spacious and lovely, food is great and staff are friendly and helpful. would defiantly stay again. Even thinking having my wedding there . Highly recommend *****

Room Tip: the master deluxe room is great, jacuzzi in the room, loads of space and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review about your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on all areas in your report. It is always a pleasure to hear that guests enjoyed their holiday with us. We take it as a great honour that our guests choose to spend their special quality time here with us at the hotel. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our team here at the hotel of whom we are very proud. Thank you also for your lovely comments regarding our food I will pass those on to Paul our head chef and his team in the kitchen who have created a really fantastic menu for our guests to enjoy this year. Thank you also for recommending us to your family and friends as this is the greatest compliment you could give us. I do hope that we can welcome you back soon again.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Have just spent 4 nights at The Lake,and I don't know where to begin in it's praise. The Staff throughout were super efficient and very friendly, without being too familiar.the location is superb, even on a bad weather day. The room was very well appointed and comfortable. There was nothing we needed to ask for ( apart from some sunshine). Of course nothing is perfect, and this is just a personal opinion, I think the approach is marred by the tennis court, which takes away from the beautiful frontage. Just a thought, but it in no way detracted from our fantastic stay. Thank you everyone at The Lake.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzannah66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely warm review about your recent stay with us and for rating us so highly on your report. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team here at the hotel of whom we are very proud. I will pass those on to them. We are extremely lucky with our location alright with the lake and surrounding mountains right outside our windows. I am writing this response to you today from a sunny Killarney and the views are spectacular but you are right even on the bad weather days looking out would lift the spirits. I take your comments on board regarding the tennis court and it is something we may look at in future years. Thank you once again for posting this lovely review and I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon again.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We actually love the Lake Hotel, Staff welcoming and friendly, from front office to cleaning staff and restaurant ,( first impressions last and the minute you walk in the door you feel welcome) that to me is very important. I have lost count of how many times we stayed at The Lake Hotel, We always celebrate special occasions there, When we stayed for our 25th Wedding anniversary staff could not do enough for us, I would have no hesitation in recommending the lake hotel. From the minute you arrive you feel you are part of the family run hotel. Don't take my word for it try it for yourself you won't be disappointed, See you all again VERY SOON

Room Tip: Any room is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review about your recent stay with us and for marking us so highly on your report. We take is as a huge compliment that our guests come to us again and again to spend their precious holiday time with us here at the lake. Thank you for your really lovely comments regarding our team here at the Lake Hotel we are extremely lucky to have a team of employees who are dedicated to ensuring that our guests get a home away from home experience during their time here with us. I hope that we can welcome you back to the lake soon again and thank you most sincerely for this lovely review.
Kind Regards, Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Easy to find with ample parking. Friendly and enthusiastic greeting by the front desk staff. Older but well maintained building. The view from the room, restaurant or bar is fantastic. Excellent service int the bar and restaurant. Food is average at breakfast buffet but the fruits and muffins are wonderful. The bar staff are entertaining and very knowledgable regarding where to go and what to do for daily activities. The rooms are large and nicely appointed. The only negative aspect is the non-supporting mattress. For any sport buffs who want to keep up with your teams, you will have to be able to check it on your laptop or phone as there are no sports chanels on the television line-up. Great location to hike from as the property borders a national park. Overall a nice experience.

Room Tip: Pay a few extra dollars to be rewarded with a beautiful lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alpenkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review about your recent stay with us and for choosing to stay with us for your special holiday time. I’m glad that you felt you received a warm and friendly welcome from our team at front desk who do their very best to ensure our guests feel like they have arrived to a home away from home for their visit. I will pass your comments regarding the muffins on to Mary our pastry chef who is a fantastic baker and a great asset to our team in the kitchen. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our team in the bar who only love to tell the odd story or to give advice on the best places to visit during your visit I will pass those on to them. I will pass your comments regarding the mattress on to our accommodation department and we will take a look at this issue, we regularly change our mattresses and only buy in the Kingcoil mattresses as we feel that these are the best liked by our guests and are of excellent quality. I hope that you did some hiking during your visit please make sure to check on booking with our reservations team or when you arrive with our front desk for our free hotel map which outlines some fantastic walks and hikes that can all be done from the grounds of the hotel. I hope that we can welcome you back to the lake soon again and thank you most sincerely for this lovely review.
Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Having stayed at the Lake Hotel earlier this year we returned for our wedding anniversary in May, This time we stayed in the master deluxe lake view room and were once again not dissapointed as the view on to the mountain and the lakes was fantastic, the room itself had everything you could ask for including a large jacuzzi bath in the bedroom, a very large bed and lovely verandah. Food in the bar was second to none and again the staff were friendly and helpful. The only down side of our three day stay was on the saturday there was a few communion parties which consisted of some very noisy children, this was no reflection on the staff who we actually felt sorry for as the childrens parents seemed to leave the staff to try and control the kids instead of looking after them themselves. Other than that glitch our stay was relaxation at its best. Once again well done to the management and staff for a lovely few days.

Room Tip: look for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patsy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendly_Irish_Hotel, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your recent stay with us and congratulations on your recent wedding anniversary. We take it as a huge honour and compliment that our guests choose to come to spend their special celebrations and holiday time with us on a regular basis so thank you for that. It is a great pleasure for us and our team here at the hotel to ensure that all our visitors leave us feeling happy and relaxed after their visit to the lake. I’m glad that you were pleased with the room you were allocated the Jacuzzi baths and balconies are we find really appreciated by our guests as they give you the opportunity to take in the full beauty of the views outside from the comfort and luxury of your room. I’m sorry to hear that you were interrupted during your dining by the noise it’s a difficult one for the hotel and to be fair its not the norm for this to happen but the odd time it’s a little out of our control. It’s something we keep an eye on and we will continue to ensure that our guests get the very best peaceful break here at the lake during their stays with us. Thank you once again for this lovely review and I hope that we can welcome you back soon again.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,608 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,327 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,320 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#14 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $172 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Hotel is a friendly Family run hotel, Free Parking, safe secure, environmentally sound hotel on the lake shore in Killarney. The Ring of Kerry begins and ends at the Lake Hotel. We will give you a traditional Irish welcome from the Huggard Family and Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing