We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely!!”
Review of Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Hotel
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

stayed here for a family weekend away, the rooms are spacious and clean with all the facilities that are necessary. The outdor hot tub is fab even in october!! the staff are friendly and heplful and the food was very nice, all in all the standard of the gotel is very high and the location is great for a relaxing break while also close enough to the town! I would definetly recommend this hotel to all agegroups for a berak away!

Room Tip: ask for a room upstairs overlooking the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mirium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerryman_7, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely warm review about your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests leave after their stay with us feeling happy and relaxed. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team here at the hotel and particularly the high quality of food that you received. I will pass these on to Paul our head chef and his team in the kitchen who have yet again prepared delicious dishes for our guests to enjoy for the 2013 season. Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family there is no greater compliment for us then to hear that our guests would recommend us to their friends so thank you most sincerely for this. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel this year.
Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,767 - 1,773 of 2,397 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Lake Hotel during our first night in Ireland. Upon arrival, we were informed that the hotel wasn't completely booked and we were offered a free upgrade to a king suite with a balcony overlooking the lake! This isn't something we asked for or expected, but it was a welcome suprise. The staff was very friendly, the bartender was personable, and the location of the hotel couldn't be beat. Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of options. Very close to the center of Killarney and to the Ring of Kerry. We would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerryman_7, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Just a quick note from Killarney to thank you for posting such a lovely review about your recent stay with us. I’m glad that you enjoyed the upgrade that you received on arrival its lovely to be able to provide the extra touch of luxury for our guests special holidays when we can. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team here at the hotel I will pass those on to them. We are lucky with our location alright in our opinion there is no nicer sight to pull back the curtains to in the morning then the beauty of the lake outside and a few deer grazing on the lawn just a stone’s throw from your window. Thank you for your comments regarding our breakfast selection we have made some more improvements to the buffet area for re-opening 2013 which we hope our guests will enjoy along with some refurbishment of our restaurant and our public lounge areas. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend recently and managed to upgrade to their suite over looking the lakes, well what can i say the sun was shining and it felt like we were in Italy or somewhere on the continent, we were celebrating an anniversary and they really went all out to make our stay memorable, the rose petals on bed and in bath were a lovely touch and we really did have an amazing weekend, dinner was lovely the views off the the lakes from the restaurant were amazing the only negative thing i could say was that its possibly a little dated but the ambiance and character of the hotel made up for that, staff were really pleasant and helpful and your only a stroll into the center of town. Definately on our revisit list, great value too!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annemarie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerryman_7, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review about your recent stay with us and congratulations on the celebration of your recent anniversary. I’m glad that you got some good weather during your stay so you could fully appreciate Killarney and all it has to offer. Thank you for your lovely comments on the hotel and our team here at the lake of whom we are very proud. We are actually closed at present for our annual closure and are completing some refurbishment of the public areas of the hotel that had gone a little tired as you pointed out in your review. The hotel will be lovely and fresh for re-opening on the 7th of February 2013 and ready to welcome our guests again. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in 2013.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in the Master Deluxe Lake View Room for two nights. The reception was very clean - a little shabby looking compared to the rest of the hotel but not a major complaint. The receptionist was very nice and was happy enough to answer questions.
She gave us directions to our room, a little complicated but we found it easy enough. It was nice and secluded from the main areas of the hotel - which meant we wouldn't hear any noise from other guests.
The room was lovely and spacious. Nice big wardrobe, lovely huge bathroom, gorgeous bed and jacuzzi. And the views from the window and balcony were outstanding. One morning we watched a stag walking around in the water not very far from the hotel building. And another evening we seen around three or four deer grazing in the lawns of the hotel - what a different selling point for a hotel.
Overall great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bananajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerryman_7, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time for posting such a lovely review about your recent stay with us. I apologise for not responding sooner but it has been an extremely busy few weeks since we closed in December preparing the hotel for re-opening on February 7th 2013. We hope to have the hotel looking better then ever this year and have carried out renovations throughout the public areas of the hotel during the annual closure to ensure it is looking lovely and fresh for the New Year. I’m glad that you were happy with the room you stayed in during your visit. The views from our rooms are a beautiful sight to wake to in the morning. Today we have snow-capped mountains and the most beautiful sunlight skimming the lawn, a small family of deer are playing on the lawn and to be honest you simply could not ask for a nicer sight. I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back again in 2013 and thank you once again for posting such a lovely review.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed here on the recommendation of my husband's cousin from Tipperary. The view from our room was breath taking. My daughter loved seeing the lake, the jacuzzi tub was wonderful and relaxing, and the mountains were splendid to see.

Staff was kind and very tentative. Loved the boutique feel to the hotel. Food was delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiedara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerryman_7, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review about your recent stay with us and please thank your cousin in Tipperary for recommending us to you. I hope you got home safely after your trip to Ireland. I’m glad to hear that you were pleased with the beautiful lake view from your rooms we here at the hotel feel there is no nicer view to pull open the curtains to in the morning. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team here at the hotel I will pass those on to them. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the lake again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Would highly recommend this hotel. We booked 2 nights b&b and one evening meal, but the food was so good we had dinner there the second night as well. We were 3 couples just on weekend break and we all enjoyed it very much. The staff were so helpful with any queries and we were upgraded which was a lovely treat. We will be back again as everything was just perfect. Well done to all involved in making this such a special place to have a break.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loughcarrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerryman_7, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Guest,
Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely warm review about your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests left after their stay with us feeling happy with the products and services they received and relaxed after their holiday with us. I’m glad to hear that you were so happy with the food standards in the restaurant. Paul our head chef and his team always ensure to prepare delicious food for our guests throughout their stay and I will pass your kind comments on to them. Thank you also for your comments regarding the rest of our team here at the hotel of whom we are very proud. We take it as no greater compliment that our guests choose to return time and time again to spend their precious holiday time with us here at the lake and we will continue to everything we can to ensure our guests make memories to treasure during their stays with us.
Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I've stayed in a few 4/5* hotels and none compare to the lakes! The grounds are so absolutely peaceful and serene. During one stay, we took pictures of deer crossing through the lake from our balcony! The location is perfect for a romantic getaway.

The hotel itself is traditional, a tad old-school but has a lovely homely feel. Food in the restaurant is good but doesnt offer too much variety. Breakfast was good

The rooms are amazing, beds very big! Rooms with a jacuzzi are a must!

2 nights in the hotel has ou feeling very at ease.

Close to local tourist attractions etc. a car necessary (as always in killarney)

Anything minor that may arise seems to pale in comparison to the overall luxurious feel of the stay there.

Room Tip: Get a room with a jacuzzi at the back of the hotel facing the lake and the castle ruins - Perfection...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 007Cailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerryman_7, General Manager at Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Just a quick note to thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review about your recent stay with us. What a lovely compliment to say that the Lake Hotel is your favourite hotel in the country thank you for that. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding the grounds of the hotel and the hotel itself. The lake is a beautiful location for the romantic getaway anytime of the year. Our team here at the hotel always take great pride in making our guests special occasions extra special by adding any extra little touches that will make memories to treasure for our guests long after their stay has ended. I’m glad that you got the opportunity to see the deer during your stay they are a big hit with our guests. I am happy to see that you were pleased with your room the Jacuzzi baths are a lovely feature alright and add that extra little touch of luxury to the room. We take it as no greater compliment when our guests tell us they leave us feeling happy and relaxed after their stay with us as that is what we aim to provide here at the hotel. I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon again.

Kind Regards,
Niall Huggard – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 38 in Killarney
2,385 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,495 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
1 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 38 in Killarney
1,625 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#14 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $140 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Hotel is a friendly Family run hotel, Free Parking, safe secure, environmentally sound hotel on the lake shore in Killarney. The Ring of Kerry begins and ends at the Lake Hotel. We will give you a traditional Irish welcome from the Huggard Family and Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing