We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little taste of Mexico in the heart of Killarney”
Review of Casita Mexicana

Casita Mexicana
Ranked #22 of 186 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A little taste of Mexico in the heart of Killarney”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Myself and my husband were staying in Killarney last weekend and had the pleasure of eating in the lovely Casita Mexicana. We started off with some tapas, prawns, meatballs and pulled pork which was very tasty, we washed this down with a lovely bottle of pinot grigio at a very reasonable price. He then had a prawn burrito and I had mince tacos with rice and chips (yes they do half and half in Killarney). I have to say my tacos were absolutely gorgeous. I can't recommend this beautiful little restaurant enough, the 2 ladies who were working last Thursday night (I’m not sure if they were owner/manager/waitress) were so lovely and welcoming. They were attentive without being overbearing which I really dislike in a restaurant. I will make a point of eating here anytime I’m in Killarney and am already looking forward to my next trip. To anyone visiting Killarney you have got to eat here, I promise you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Halfpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    67
    17
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant place for a laid back night out”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Tried Casita Mexicana over the weekend. The restaurant is a little hidden away but well worth visiting. We tried a range of dishes across the menu and everything was delicious. In particular would highly recommend the seafood sharing platter. Also the Irish craft beer they serve is fantastic.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Niall G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Casual, comforting food in a lovely cosy atmosphere”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Perfect in every way on a cold April evening. We were frozen when we landed in the door! That quickly changed however.. The atmosphere created by Victoria and the owner Yve was extremely warm and friendly...the restaurant was very cosy and intimate, and the food delicious. The dishes are nicely presented...simply done with attention to detail, full of flavour and perfect for sharing...also excellent value for money! Well done everyone and continued success..we'll see you very soon (-:

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dollfase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good for coeliacs”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Seriously, they have a sign outside saying so. And they do serve corn tortillas, but they taste packaged. If you do order the nachos, get them with cheese; otherwise it looks like someone just emptied a bag into a bowl and served them. The staff were lovely and the food was okay, but I wouldn't go out of my way.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank london_import
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nothing but the best.”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Having been recommended to Casita Mexicana by trip Advisor, we decided to try out this restaurant on our visit to Killarney. The restaurant was beautifull. the waitress greeted us with a warm and genuine smile. We had two small children which can be hard work ordereing food for but the staff were very patient and helpful. Our meals were served very prompt and were absolutely delicious, and very cheap considering the quality of our meals. Afterwards we were able to speak to the owners who were extremely friendly and very passionate about their trade. We would definately recommend Casita Mexicana to anybody, young families too as our children were extremely welcomed. A top class restaurant, meals, and staff. We shall definately go back before we leave. Thank you Casita Mexicana.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casita Mexicana also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Casita Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing