We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good night”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casita Mexicana

Casita Mexicana
Ranked #21 of 183 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good night”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I enoyed my meal, with friends here, I thaught the service was very slow, but we had a great time. I will be back

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CurlyWurlyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    61
    17
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Experience @ Casita Mexicana”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

During Kilarney Race week we decided to dine at Casita Mexicana and wow we were pleasantly surprised. The food was delicious, the atmosphere of the restaurent was nice and relaxed and the staff were lovely and friendly. We weren't really familiar with Mexicana food however our waitress walked us through the menu in a really helpful way and helped us place orders that weren't too hot for us. The food orders were great, lovely and fresh and home cooked. Definately we became fans of Mexician food that night. Looking forward to dining again there soon.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“VERY tasty!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I loved the food here and left the place stuffed! We only went for lunch but we had starter, main and dessert for under €20 which I was very impressed with. The staff are lovely and the food was so tasty! Some people are saying 'it doesn't taste mexican' but as far as I'm concerned- you're not in Mexico! The food was delicious, wherever it was from! I will be going back for sure!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KareyS_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Expensive Margaritas”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The food was OK but the margaritas are way too expensive for the small glasses that they are served in. The food also seemed over-priced.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SBTChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Quality in something unique in the heart of Killarney”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I popped into Casita Mexicana with some work colleges a few weeks back for a work night out. We had decided to try something different so Mexican seemed like a good idea. I had been before but my 2 colleges had not. The experience was superb, so much so that we discussed little else for 2 hours after leaving the restaurant.

There's an really good variety on the menu and options of how hot you wanted your dish served (mild, hot or very hot). My German friend likes his food to have a good kick so he order "hot", only to be asked if he wanted "Irish hot or Mexican hot". Very impressive!

There was an array of tastes from each dish that would make you feel like ordering more and more because you want more.... only problem is that the portion sizes are very generous so you will reach a point (probably half way through your main course) where you will need to ease off.

Service is spot on but you will not feel rushed in any way, the atmosphere is actually very relaxed.

I believe Jon & Yve (the owners) have moved premises to the High Street side of town. As long as the location is all that has changed I'll certainly be back again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fergus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casita Mexicana also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Casita Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing