We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I recommend this place”
Review of The Cherry Tree

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cherry Tree
Ranked #124 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Skye and Danny are amazing. Skye does all he can to ensure you have a comfortable stay. I stayed her for 8 weeks got to know Danny, Skye, Dhalia,and the Leanes. Wonderful people! This little B&B is just a 5 min walk from town. It's walking distance to the outlet mall, restaurants, grocery stores, shopping, train and bus station. Be aware most tore close around 6pm. They are in the process of doing a bit of updating and the pictures do it no justice. I would absolutely recommend this place for anyone looking to visit Killarney.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank JessicaNicoleAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at The Cherry Tree, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you Jessica, we really enjoyed your long stay with us, you are welcome back any time! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 81 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days and I was made feel very much at home. Skye one of the guys who worked there was very helpful and gave me great advice on what to do and see. The breakfast was very tasty, had different one eeach morning, full Irish breakfast, pan cakes and fruit and another morning I had mexican Huevos Rancheros with eggs and cheese. The place has being refurbished and is colorful cosy guesthouse

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texasjack10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at The Cherry Tree, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you, We renovated the dining room in January 2013 Thank you for appreciating the fine art from local artists.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We walked in and were taken to a dirty room with a double bed and a single bed. The single bed looked like someone had just slept in it. The double bed was much the same, duvey not fitting the sheet etc. The sheets were mismatched. When the owner showed us the bathroom there was a dirty towel still in there. The roof was covered in black mold and there were hairs in the sink. There was a table which im presuming was to hold coffees and teas etc, the kettle was on the floor beside the bed, the coffee/tea supplies consisted of some open sugars and no coffee or milk - one mug.
My finance and I were going to a wedding. After we left our stuff there we started thinking about the situation. We live in Kinsale and opted not to drink in order to make the journey home by car instead of staying there. When I told them we couldnt stay and explained why, they did not seem too surprised. We were offered another room, we did not take that offer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ker_schnum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Manager at The Cherry Tree, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

My apologies here, it looks like the person in charge for the evening showed you the wrong room. He has since moved on and we have put a procedure in place for it not to happen again. Sorry for this unfortunate error. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Wonderful small B&B just a short walk to Killarney shopping / eating district. Nice size rooms,
lots of hot water and comfortable beds.

Just a few blocks walk from the central bus station and the train station.

The place looks like it was just remodeled.

Breakfast and the staff were outstanding.

Room Tip: Be sure to try SALVADORS Italian restaurant in the Killarney shopping district. Excellent food valu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanDiegoWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Owner at The Cherry Tree, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you Wayne! we really appreciate your kind review! Iam glad you had a great stay and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The location of this place is superb. We walked from the train station in the rain and it was quick and easy to find. We were not even soaked before we found it. Danny was so helpful and pleasant, even when we descended upon him with a large extended family in Ireland for a wedding, two double strollers, and many bags. We had many rooms and four noisy happy babies- he did not seem the least bit daunted. We were given a choice of rooms when we arrived and everyone seemed happy with their abode. All had ensuite bathrooms with hot water (although the water pressure was a bit weak) and plenty of towels. Our room was one of the ones facing the street- and it is a semi-busy street- and we were not bothered by traffic noise at all. The beds were comfortable with plenty of blankets and good pillows. The rooms and public areas were a little worn but spotlessly clean.
The breakfast was very filling. We thought at first that it was a continental since the cereals, toast, juice, and yogurts were there in the morning. The waitress brought coffee and tea to each guest and then began to deliver hot full Irish breakfasts to all. I think that the people who posted their dissatisfaction with the breakfast being a cold one did not wait around long enough to see the rest of it. The kitchen also provided us with wonderful gluten free sourdough bread that toasted up beautifully and was delicious. They were careful to let us know which items for breakfast were not gluten free (the puddings) and cooked our eggs as we asked (poached separately from the other eggs). We could walk very easily to the heart of town and ate at some great local places. We booked a tour ahead online with Killarney Jaunting Cars and they picked us up right at the Guest House since they were down the road. We walked to Muckross Abbey, farms, and house and toured them all. The scenery in this part of Ireland was particularly spectacular. We enjoyed our stay immensely and will be back again to Cherry Tree Guest House. Thank you Danny!

Room Tip: There was no room on the ground floor and stairs were steep. I would not recommend this house to dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed here for one night and it was lovely. The hosts are quite helpful especially when it comes to showing what life is like in Killarney. I was shown all the best views and the national park which was amazing. Everything was very clean and I loved the look of the entire place. When I go back to Killarney, I don't think I can stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The place is nice and cozy. We were allowed to make bbq in the back garden(sorry that we didn't offer any kebabs :D ) Staff was verry verry verry helpfull. Beds were clean and comfortable. Great location especially when u planning night out in the town. Breakfast was like at home. We had a really good time.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
Thank wolna j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
Woodlawn House Killarney
Woodlawn House Killarney
#15 of 143 in Killarney
476 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
The Dunloe
The Dunloe
#1 of 1 in Beaufort
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,495 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 38 in Killarney
2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cherry Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cherry Tree

Address: Cherry Tree Muckross Road, Killarney V93 RD40, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: $96 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cherry Tree 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Cherry Tree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing