We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like friends of the family”
Review of Orchard House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orchard House
Ranked #5 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Treated like friends of the family”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

If you are going to Killarney stay here! A small B and B that is a short walk to town and all the great pubs and music. Our room was pretty small but adequate. The owner Maria was delightful. One evening when I wanted ice for our room she apologized because she didn't have any on site. I said it wasn't a problem as we were so close to town but within 10 minutes there was a knock at our door and she had gone out and bought ice for us! Also the breakfasts are delicious. If you have a car, she has free parking at the house which is a must in Killarney.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with two beds (a double and single) if available as it is much larger than the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belllasadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    41
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
92
238
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We pulled into Killarney without a place to stay and we lucky to find a room with Marie at the Orchard House. A small, 3 bedroom B&B just a few minute walk from downtown and a short drive from Killarney National Park.
I can not say enough good things about this place. It ended up being one of the highlights of our trip. Although our room was a little small, it was plenty big, nicely decorated, with a view of the garden. The bathroom was bright and cherry. Everything we needed was in the room including the wifi access code.
Marie is a wonderful hostess. She is enough of a reason to stay here. Friendly, helpful, colorful. Great breakfast, full Irish for the big appetites and variety for those of us that eat less.
My next trip I plan to spend more time here, and will definitely stay again at the Orchard House.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ospel, Limburg, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Very kind.
Nice room and bathroom.
On walking distance from the centre.
Good breakfast.
Recommendable!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

My friends and I were on the way back from Cliff of Moher. We called the B&B around 8PM, and booked a room. We arrived around 11 PM, and Marie (the owner I believed) stayed up for us. She was very friendly and even prepared some milk for tea at our room. The room was very clean and lovely.

In the morning we got a better chance to look at the place. The dining room was just gorgeous! I really liked the decoration. We enjoyed the lovely breakfast even though one of my friends was not too happy about the charge for extra glass of orange juice.

Marie provided us plenty information for visiting the ring of kerry. On our way out, our car battery was dead. Marie and the other staff were very helpful to the situation. We really enjoyed our stay. It was a warm and comfortable B&B.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouni99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

When traveling through Ireland you imagine that you will stay at quaint B&Bs with ran by lovely locals- well that's exactly what you are getting here. Friendly and accomodating staff, traditional rooms and very close to the bars and restaurants!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hailleyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobh
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2012

There is nothing to complain at the Orchard house! The rooms are very comfortable, clean and nice.There is a private parking outside, free Wi-Fi and a TV in the room. The B&B ist convenvient to Killarney City Centre with a walking distance from about 4 minutes, but still in a quit area.
Marie, the hostess was wonderful and helpful. She greeted us warmly, served us a lovely breakfast and advised us to do the Ring of Kerry anticlockwise.
We recommend the Orchard house to everybody and we would stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed one night at this wonderful B&B house. There is nothing negative or bad I could say about our stay.
The rooms were clean, comfortable, cosy and really beautiful. They have private bathroom with toilette, shower and hair dryer. There is also TV in every room and free wifi connection. Everything was so clean that some 4 or 5 stars hotel can take this as role model. It is really walking distance of 2 or 3 minutes to the city centre, where you can find restaurants, bars and shops.
When you want to explore the Ring of Kerry area, this is the best place to stay in and start with.

I dare to say that what you would love best as well as me, is Maria, the proprietor. Not only she prepared delicious Irish breakfast, all served fresh and tasty when we came down to the dining room to have a breakfast, but I really loved her personality. She is so nice, pleasant, talkative with great sense of humour, and she made our stay very very fantastic. She recommended us great places to see in Kerry and we really felt like at home.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuzana0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.3 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
887 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,355 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
2.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
934 reviews
0.7 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard House

Property: Orchard House
Address: Orchard House Saint Anne's Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing