We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage and Nostalgic hotel.”
Review of Randles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Randles Hotel
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is amazing. Not only does this hotel have a great comfortable feeling, it is completely decorated 200+ years ago. The theme of the hotel is very rustic, it's the perfect atmosphere with it's multiple sitting areas and fireplaces. The rooms are equipped with modern lighting, shower, sinks, electric outlets (even a 115V converter for USA travelers), but the decor is very Victorian. It's about a seven minute walk to city center in Killarney, but the rate is amazing and the food was outstanding!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixthecat99, Owner at Randles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thanks Jacqueline for your comments and I know when you say Vintage and Nostalgic you mean like a beautiful antique piece of furniture yet fully restored and shiny with Charachter.

The original house dates back to 1906 and we like to keep the atmosphere with deep couches, open fires, original paintings, unique peices of furniture etc yet all modern travellers need. Free WiFi throughout, Digital TV with DVD players and free library, power showers, docking stations, internet stations etc etc..If you feel like disconnecting (which we strongly recommend) we offer board games, magazines, book library and a well stocked range range of whiskeys and wine.

Hopefully you will visit again

Thank you

Tom R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

741 - 747 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our family from Newry stayed in this lovely hotel friendly staff on arrival and very clean, 15 of us stayed and we were very pleased with the way we were treated a very professional staff and very willing to help us in any way. the food served was excellent top notch
and as a Chef & Catering Manager and have worked in this sector of food sevice for over 30 years this is one of the best i have stay in. yes 4 star BUT WITH 5 STAR Service.

Congraulations to all the Staff at this hotel WE WILL BE BACK SOON again

Room Tip: •"Higher floors have less A/C unit noise"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixthecat99, Owner at Randles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you from such a nice compliment especially from someone with such experience.

We work very hard in trying to offer our guests the best. 4 Star with 5 star service is a lovely way op putting it.

Thank you

Tom & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Pros -
The location is great, only a 5mins walk to the centre of town.
The breakfast is really lovely, such a selection and the staff were great.

Cons -
The hotel itself is a little tired and dated. The decor could do with a revamp.
No food served on a Thursday evening (not sure if this is a seasonal choice though)
Windows in the bedroom didn't open

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near the housekeeping station - we were woken up VERY early every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelyn_078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixthecat99, Owner at Randles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Hi evelyn

Thank you for your review and really happy that you enjoyed our location, breakfast and staff.

To address your other points. The decor of the hotel is in keeping with The house which dates back to 1906 and we like to keep a country house feel. The hotel is constantly maintained and all of our public areas have been completly refurbished in the last 4 years with our Drawing Room & Restaurant in the last 12 months. 80% of our bedrooms have been completley refurbished in the last 6 years and all bedrooms are extensively maintained.

In the winter season Sunday to Thursday we serve meals in Kaynes Bar & Bistro which is part of our company and located beside us. Food is served from 12.30pm until 9.30pm and you can charge to your room account. The reasoning to this is to be sure that our guests have an extensive choice in a good atmosphere which Kaynes offers as it is a very popular choice with Locals.

Your bedroom window should open and if we had known there was a problem we gladly would
have fixed it.

My apologies for the inconvenience and hopefully we will see you again in the future

Thank you for your comments

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Comfortable, clean and friendly hotel - the sort of slightly chintzy place your Mum and Dad would go to for a treat. Convenient for town, good breakfast, terrific value. Warmly recommended for sensible, budget-conscious travellers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brendan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Has been 4 years since we last stayed in Randels. Was good to return to an old friend that took care of us in the past. Nothing much has changed still excellent service and staff. The staff remembered us from always staying with them over the years but this time without our loyal pet whom passed away 4 years ago. We had warm greeting and got a spacious room with a shower room you could let out! Excellent as always felt good to return. Lovely warm fire to greet us on an cold St Patrick's day...The leisure centre was peaceful as everyone watching parade had it all to myself..pure bliss..

Room Tip: Try get room on the 1st floor so not far to stairs to leisure / pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raymondmccaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel sells itself as a 4* hotel - having stayed there recently it does not merit 2* grading. The location is good, but apart from this, the hotel standards are extremely poor. The biggest isue is the level of uncleanliness at the hotel. We were UNABLE to use the leisure centre due to it being filthy. The lifts at the hotel (off reception) are old, very dusty and dirty. Our room was meant to be 'SIGNATURE' room (one of the better rooms) at the hotel. In our estimation it was basic and we would dread to see the other rooms if this was one of the 'upgraded' rooms. I would highly reccommend that you DO NOT STAY here as you will be extremely disappointed as I was. I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Do not go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TimolaegueGOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great hotel and location, couldn't fault a thing
Excellent service, lovely breakfast with a very big choice of cooked food and most helpful waiter
We were staying with 2 our chihuahuas, and felt really welcomed
Would recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.1 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,357 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#22 of 38 in Killarney
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,589 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Randles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randles Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Randles Court)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#10 Business Hotel in Killarney
#17 Family Hotel in Killarney
#18 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#19 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $102 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Randles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This deluxe family run Killarney Hotel is ideally located 5 minutes stroll from Killarney’s Town Centre and near the INEC (National Events Centre). The original building dates back to 1906 but now offers guests the luxury of an world class hotel. Spacious guest rooms, leisure club & spa, offering a choice of restaurants, terraced gardens plus much more awaits in this Killarney gem. Ideally suited for weddings catering from 10 to 130 people and is fully registered for Civil ceremonies. The Randles court is a special and intimate wedding venue. Ideal for business also for events and conferences that require extra attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Randles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Randles Court Killarney
Hotel Randles Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing