We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disapointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Killarney Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2007

The hotel itself is lovely but the staff are mostly foreign and poorly trained. With the exception of the reception staff who were friendly and welcoming the dining room staff spoke little English and were not particularly friendly or welcoming. The solmelier had absolutely no idea about wine - poured our wine by reaching across infront of us and offered wine to one of our party, "you want wine lady?" Not exactly what you expect of a 5* hotel with wines averaging £45 a bottle. Pool was clean, warm and quiet, infact all you could hope ...... but why are so many pools these days so SHALLOW! The deep end was only 150cms and for about a third of its length the pool is only 1 meter deep. I`m sure it`s very safe and great fun if swimming in a children`s pool is your thing............ perhaps that`s why the pool was always empty! The spa is good. Again Eastern European girls make up a high proportion of the staff but the treatments we had were excellent and the girls friendly. The food was only adequate at dinner and breakfast too was adequate. Beware the porridge unless you enjoy thin gruel! Would have preferred a breakfast buffet but that`s just a personal thing. So, overall what`s it like? Well it`s definitely NOT 5* standard, it`s a good 4* but quite an expensive one!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank supermummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,383 - 1,389 of 1,460 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2007

My wife and I took a one week tour of Ireland in Oct 2006. It took us a while to write the review but it was the best hotel we stayed on the tour and frankly, one of the best ever.

When our tour bus drove up to the entrance, it did look "nice" but not super impressive. Boy, were we in for a pleasant surprise. The hotel was beautiful and luxurious and the staff was professional. The lobby had a very modern feel to it but beyond that, the rest of the hotel definitely had a plush feel, from the carpeting, to the fireplace and leather chairs in the waiting areas and the wood paneling and artwork.

The rooms were very clean and spacious. The bathrooms as well. They definitely looked well kept. We ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel and the food was great.

It was in a great location in Killarney, with easy access to the center of town. You walk outside the hotel, cross the street (that can be tough since there isn't a good crosswalk) and then you can walk around Killarney and do some shopping if you life.

If we are ever in Killarney or want to see County Kerry again, we'll definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank gnasty71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2007

First time in Ireland. We drove to Killarney and stayed at the Killarney Park Hotel. Once inside, we were transported to another place. The lobby and most of the public rooms are impeccable. We had afternoon tea by the fireplace and it was something to remember. The service is first class - just the way they lay the tablecoth on the table it was a work of art. We had chosen a Junior Suite and it was the biggest room we've ever encountered in a hotel. It had a dining area, living room, separate bedroom and a bathroom the size of most people's apartment in NYC. It was also very sleak/modern looking which is really our taste. After seen so much decoration in our sightseeing, we wanted to retreat to a place that had simple lines, clean and modern. Our bedroom TV automatically lifted from the ground and the bed was majestic. It was so comfortable that if it wasn't because we were touring, you'd stay in bed all day. This hotel made our stay in Ireland much more enjoyable and will always remember it.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank efren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2007

terrible on x mas there. much noise, many drunken, toilets in terrible condition, staff stressed and unfriendly. maybe some other time better. room was nice.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Juergenhamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2007

Ref: Our Stay 03/01/07 – 06/01/07
Incredible service experienced while staying at Killarney Park hotel. Every single staff member we encountered, without exception, was pleasant, courteous, friendly and professional. We also encountered many, many staff members who were outstanding, especially with regard to their professionalism, good humor and an abundance of smiles. All of the above qualities, combined with top class accommodation, ambience and cuisine, are what makes for an exceptional experience. Our needs were not only met, but were also noted so that other staff members would be aware of them.

I would like to single out the following staff members :

Hugh on the concierge desk, Kashya (I know I’m spelling that wrong) on reception, Courtney, evening staff for housekeeping, Yuan & Stephanie wine/waiting staff (actually all main dining/breakfast waiting staff were exceptional, including a very charismatic young man who, in response to my query on hot chocolate ingredients as my daughter has allergies, went out of his way to give me the information), Byron and the duty manager Jeff.

Leslie and Terry Connors
Co. Galway

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lesterOranmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2007

We had our third visit to the killarney park hotel in November and as usual we were not disappointed. From the moment you set foot in the hotel you are welcomed with smiles, courtesy and good humour. Nothing is too much bother for the staff, and the service is the best in Ireland. We booked a junior suite which comes with a big gas fire and a separate living area. The food is fantastic - both breakfast and dinner are highly recommended. Make sure you book the table in advance for dinner as it is frequently booked up. We also tried the bar food one evening when we did not want a big meal and it was also tasty and good value. The location of the hotel is perfect for the train station (c. 100 yards), and numerous shops and restaurants are well within walking distance. The only problem with this hotel is that you wont want to leave!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank villadeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2007

stayed here for my 3rd time last october as we have loved the place in the past.unfortunetly standards have dropped dramactly!!.the staff at the front desk are good but in the bar,the restarant and the pool area the staff are poor.a waiter in thr restaurant hit my wife on the head with a drinks tray and never appologised,while in the bar,our waiter took 15 mins to get us a drink and managed to get it wrong.most of the new staff are foreign and have little english.i wrote out a report form on leaving pointing out my complaints and 3 months later i never received a follow up letter from the killarney park!!! used to be great , not anymore.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank ytegsfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
3.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,384 reviews
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,288 reviews
2.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killarney Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killarney Park Hotel

Address: | Town Centre, Killarney V93 X3VW, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range: $221 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Killarney Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Five Star Killarney Park Hotel, a Leading Hotel of the World is wonderfully situated in the picturesque town of Killarney - Ireland's premier tourist destination - celebrated throughout the world for its magnificent scenery, attractions and welcoming people. Reflecting its town centre location, the only 5* hotel in Killarney Town Centre offers guests the ultimate in luxury, in comfortable yet contemporary surroundings, whilst at all times offering flawless service and "Warmth Beyond the Smile". With 67 bedrooms and suites, a full service Spa offering Elemis Treatments together with our exclusive BIOTEC Facial & Health & Fitness Suite, the Park Restaurant, Garden Bar and our welcoming Garden Terrace in addition to the attractions, Killarney National Park, world class golf courses available in Kerry, the Killarney Park Hotel is your natural choice for a pleasant, luxurious and relaxing stay. Complimentary Car Parking and Free WiFi for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Killarney Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing