We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Killarney Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Killarney Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights this September in a Jr. Suite (Room 354) and found it to be delightful! The hotel staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms were modern, spacious and quiet. This was my 7th hotel in my 4 week trip and it was nice to have such a wonderful place to return to after sightseeing all day. It is very centrally located to the town center as well. After seeing some of the other hotels we were considering in Killarney in the same class, I'm glad we made the decision to stay at this one. Hopefully we will get to stay here again one day.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkwd71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    133
    30
    8
    4
See reviews for
285
614
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for one night recently and it was an absolute pleasure, exceptional service and accommodation, we had a very long days driving and it was lovely to be able to relax in the comfort of this beautiful hotel. Service was excellent and staff very helpful, would love to have stayed another night, great location in the centre of town, will definitely return soon for a longer stay.

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Orla069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

I stayed at the Killarney Park Hotel for 2 nights with my partner. We had a wonderful stay at the hotel and were made to feel very welcome by the friendly staff throughout the hotel. The room was very large and beautifully decorated. The facilities in the hotel were excellent especially the fitness centre where the staff were particularly friendly and helpful. The food at the bar was also excellent and well priced. The location of the hotel is ideal for travellers wanting to explore Killarney National Park as well as the town centre. We would definiitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

This hotel is ideally situated in Killarney being within easy walking distance to shopping , historical sights and restaurants and pubs.
The staff is warm and welcoming. The rooms are huge but very dated. The bedspreads need to be replaced. The pillows are flat and hard and the sheets must be muslin due to how scratchy they are. The bathrooms have one sink and are not large.

The Irish breakfast buffet and menu selections are varied and delicious. When ordering in room coffee service on average it took 2 minutes to be delivered to our room regardless of how early it was in the morning.

We tried the spa and had fabulous treatments.

Since the room and bed are probably the most important thing for us we would try a different hotel if we returned.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diamondgirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bantry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

My mum and I stayed at the Killarney Park Hotel from the 13-16 August. My brother and his family visited us during our stay. We were all totally blown away by the fabulous service and the great surroundings. Our room was lovely - very comfortable - and having recently had a holiday on Queen Mary 2 - dining in Queens Grill - we would happily say that KPH rivalled that service. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, from the Park Restaurant to the lovely staff in the Bar where we had dinner with the children. The receptionist's are just lovely and check you are okay everytime you pass. The children loved the pool and facilities. Don't wonder about this hotel - BOOK IT!! You will not be disappointed. Fionuala Foley.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SwindonBantrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights. Overall, this is a great hotel and you will not be disappointed with it. Here is my review under various headings:

Hotel
-------
The hotel itself is set back from the road and is an old house. This is not glitzy, large 5 star hotel stuff here, its a large old Irish house. Dont take that in a negative way, just outside it looks like a very nice, charming building. Generally its very quiet and relaxing. I did not see or use the "grounds" or gardens of the hotel but I dont think there is much to speak of here, but I could be wrong.

Staff
------
The staff are very efficient, well trained and helpful. Possibly a little too stand offish but I think this probably suits most people. By and large you have a mix of Irish and eastern european staff it seems. Top marks here.

Room
--------
The room we stayed in was just absolutely brilliant. On entering the room, there is a small corridor ending in a door to the bedroom. Off the corridor is the bathroom, seperated from the bedroom by two doors. The bedroom was large, spacious and had everything you could possibly need in it. Free internet, Iron, Trouser Press, Large Desk, Paper, Pens, etc, etc, etc... The TV is large with a good selection of channels. The bed iteself is very, very comforable and huge, I would say it was the biggest bed I ever slept in. Lots of pillows etc.. Overall the room was very very comfortable and a hard place to leave in the morning! The bathroom was good, spacious also, lots of room with nice cream floor to ceiling tiles. The shower was a bit small but not a big deal. All the usual stuff you expect in a 5 star bathroom is here.

Facilities
------------
The hotel has excellent facilities. Some hotels claim to have a pool and spa etc. and then when you see them they are tiny or afterthoughts. This hotel has a real pool, 20m, so you can actually get a good workout in it. it was not overly busy when I was there so it was great for me since I swim a lot. The jacuzzi and indoor hot tubs are, again, excellent and spacious. The sauna is not the biggest in the world and can fit about 3/4 people comfortably but is grand. Best of all - the outdoor hot tub, wow. We were there in January so it was cold out but this just made the outdoor tub all the better. Has to be tried - lovely. I did not use the gym so I dont know what this is like but it looked good. The spa treatment area is very nice, low lighting, comfortable etc.. I had a jacuzzi bath type treatment with jets (nice) and a massage (very nice). My wife had about 6 or 7 treatments and loved it. The spa area is also very spacious with a chill out area after treatments and seemed to have 4 or 5 seperate rooms. Again, can recommend it highly. The staff here are also very good and know their stuff.

Car Parking
----------------
Loads of car parking - all good here.

Bar
----
The bar area is not the best it has to be said. Kinda setup for eating and does not have much of an atmosphere but hey, you're 2 mins from Killarney town centre where there are plenty of pubs so not really an issue unless you prefer to drink in the hotel.

Location
------------
The hotel is located 2 mins walk from the town centre and about 5/10 minute drive to Killarney National Park which is a beautiful park. So the location is top notch, no worries there at all. The park is beautiful, there are some amazing nature trails around the park that brings you around the lake - dont miss it. Get maps etc.. from the hotel, all the information you need is there.

Breakfast
-------------
For us, brekkie in the morning is very important! You will not be disappointed here, really has everything : all the cereals, juices, breads etc you would expect. Plus a menu where you can choose your hot breakfast if you want it e.g. full irish breakfast (sausages, bacon, eggs etc..), omlettes, you can even get a steak for breakfast if thats what you're into!

Dinner
--------
We ate 3 times in the restaurant. The first two were top notch and we ate inside the restaurant itself. During dinner there was someone playing the piano, the service and attention was good but not overbearing and the food was very nice. The last meal had to be eaten it in the bar area which is not that great of a bar. And also, my wife got food poisoning from this meal. We both had steak but my poor (pregnant) wife spent most of the night n the bathroom. We had not eaten anywhere else but the hotel that day so I guess this is where the hotel loses 5/5 and explains my 4/5 vote. The hotel restaurant was closed that night (we ate in the bar) and my guess is that she was served steak was not altogether fresh but obviously I am guessing here.

Misc
------
The hotel has a full sized snooker table in the snooker room - nice if you like snooker :)

The bad
-----------
Ok, so mostly good and its the kind of hotel that 99 times out of a 100 your stay will be fantastic but in the interests of completeness, the bad! Well, we were unlucky since my pregnant wife got food poisoning from a steak she ate on our last night there. When we checked out the next morning I informed the staff that my wife had gotten food poisoning and had been up all night and she asked me did I want to speak to a manager. I said it was not necessary I just wanted the information passed on. We received a call that day from a manager in the hotel asking me how my wife was and I explained that she was still a bit ropey but was getting better. The manager did mention that there were a "few incidences" last night but did not offer an apology, kinda was just checking to see if my wife was ok. The call was kinda quick and I was left feeling that the hotel was more interested in making sure they were not in trouble than making any kind of amends, which is not something we were looking for anyway. After spending close to 2000 euro in the hotel, I had expected at least an apology.

So there you have it, obviously the bad ending should not detract you from the hotel, as I said, we were unlucky but this was our experience so it is included here. Overall I would recommend this hotel, you will definitely not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gimpotronitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bend, oregon
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights in July 2009. We had a great 2 room suite. Service was prompt and friendly. Within waling distance of most shops and restaurants in Killarney. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbscone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killarney Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killarney Park Hotel

Property: The Killarney Park Hotel
Address: The Park Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Killarney Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Five Star Killarney Park Hotel, a Leading Hotel of the World is wonderfully situated in the picturesque town of Killarney - Ireland's premier tourist destination - celebrated throughout the world for its magnificent scenery, attractions and welcoming people. Reflecting its town centre location, the only 5* hotel in Killarney Town Centre offers guests the ultimate in luxury, in comfortable yet contemporary surroundings, whilst at all times offering flawless service and "Warmth Beyond the Smile". With 67 bedrooms and suites, a full service Spa offering Elemis Treatments together with our exclusive BIOTEC Facial & Health & Fitness Suite, the Park Restaurant, Garden Bar and our welcoming Garden Terrace in addition to the attractions, Killarney National Park, world class golf courses available in Kerry, the Killarney Park Hotel is your natural choice for a pleasant, luxurious and relaxing stay. Complimentary Car Parking and Free WiFi for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Killarney Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing