We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Killarney Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a convenient location”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed at the Killarney Park hotel with a group last fall. The service was great, and our room was up to date, comfortably furnished, and looked like it had been updated recently. The restaurant, pub and other public rooms looked like they could use some updating, but were comfortable. The breakfast was great, the one dinner we ate at the hotel only fair. The location is very convenient - you can walk to the shops, restaurants, and pubs of Killarney, as you're right in the heart of town. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank West52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,225
    137
    30
    8
    4
See reviews for
322
663
24
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

the staff were so nice and friendly, we got upgraded to a suite which was fab, lovely fireplace, very romantic, breakfast is a feast, the best smoked salmon I have had also the ham on the bone, lovely juice shots, give yourself pleanty of time to enjoy.
the spa area is nice but the hottub is tiny, It is more like a lesuire center than spa. location is prime and do call across the road to wholesomefoods for lunch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookscompany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPHManager, General Manager at The Killarney Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for posting a review on your recent stay at Killarney Park Hotel. It is a real pleasure for all the team here to read that we delivered on our promise and you had such an enjoyable experience. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Niamh O'Shea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerry, ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

approx almost 3 weeks ago my 2 daughters and myself stayed in this gorgeous hotel, as we have often done before. we got a beautiful suite with a fire and 2 wash basins in the shower. the staff were soo friendly, as usual, and we couldnt complain about anything, and I cant understand the people that do complain. i think these people are just looking for to be compensated and to get a cut price. or free holiday. i stay in the park at least 3 times every year, and i just love it. even my 6 yr old grandaughter says "thats nanas favourite hotel", anytime she passes it !!, i"ll be back soon

Room Tip: all rooms are brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjikerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPHManager, General Manager at The Killarney Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to post it and I am delighted to read that you plan on returning to stay with us in the near future. I only hope that stay is as memorable as your last. We also look forward to welcoming your granddaughter to "nana's hotel".

Thank you again for your kind words.

Niamh O'Shea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is intimate & friendly enough to make you feel right at home but luxurious enough to make you know you are somewhere special. Dining room is beautiful with chandeliers & charm, food & service are great. We stayed for our anniversary but there were couples & groups celebrating various occasions. Part of the dining room can be adapted for private dining. The staff here are friendly, genuine & unintrusive. Whether you are Irish or an overseas traveller this hotel offers that warm Irish experience with quality of food & service. Would definitely recommend.

Tip:outdoor hot tub overlooks garden.
Some rooms overlook garden
370 is a large suite with nice views of the garden & can be interconnected with room next door.
Top tip: stay for a few nights because killarney is a lovely town & the hotel is on its own grounds with gardens in the town & near part of the national park.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnPLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPHManager, General Manager at The Killarney Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear AnnPLouise,
Thank you very much for choosing the stay at Killarney Park Hotel and for taking the time to post this review on TripAdvisor.
It gives all the team here great pleasure to get such positive feedback and that we did our part to make your anniversary a memorable experience.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Yours sincerely,
Niamh O'Shea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here in June 2012, (sorry for the late review..), and had an excellent experience in every possible way. We were upgraded at check-in to a beautiful, spacious, suite and we experienced 5 star service from that point forward. We had booked a 3 night stay and availed ourselves of all the ammenities the property had to offer, including spa services and evening dinners in the dining room. The property itself is lovely- however, the STAFF was the best that I have ever encountered!!! Service was on a consistent, bellman to front desk to general manager level. No one missed an opportunity to be of service in the most polite, pleasing and sincerely friendly manner.
This was our 3rd visit to Ireland, we typically spend 3-4 weeks each summer enjoying Ireland. This year, 2013, we plan another visit, and will be sure to visit The Killarney Park Hotel and hopefully can visit with the wonderful GM and front desk staff- I think Sara was the front desk manager-do yourself a favor and book a few nights with these folks...you will be glad that you did.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne7751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPHManager, General Manager at The Killarney Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Joanne7751,

Thank you for choosing Killarney Park Hotel for your recent stay and for recommending your experience on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn you enjoyed your time stay with us and great to hear that you are returning again this Summer. Your compliments on the friendliness of all the team are much appreciated, our customer promise is Warmth Beyond The Smile and we work extremely hard to ensure all our guests feel the warmth.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Yours Sincerely,

Niamh O'Shea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

I use this hotel regularly when I am in Killarney. I was dissapointed to read some of its most recent reviews. This time of year every hotel are training new staff for the comming season, I have no problem with young kids, new to the industry making mistakes.
I find the staff excellent and friendly & seem to enjoy working there. I have stayed & used the it for meetings & my clients love my choice of venue.
Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liambourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPHManager, General Manager at The Killarney Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Mr. Bourke,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review on Tripadvisor.
I am very pleased to read your appraisal of our team and that you and your clients enjoy their experiences with us. I know that all my colleagues here will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts. It is very upsetting to have received the previous negative review. We have set high standards for ourselves and will continue to strive hard to ensure all our guests have a warmly memorable experience.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Your sincerely,
Niamh O'Shea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Overall, the hotel was nice and the staff were very friendly, however, I had a very poor customer experience, definitely not what you would expect from a five-star hotel. I booked a junior suit online and when we got there the room was NOTHING like what I expected from the website, in fact, the room was far inferior. My partner was also disappointed so I went down to reception and asked why the room was completely different from what I had seen online I was told there are two types of junior suits. They offered me to go and see the other type but when we got there the girl said that particular room was actually the same type as ours so we went to reception again and there I was told the other type of junior suits were all booked. In the end, not only did we have to stay in a room far inferior than expected but also there was no attempt from the staff to compensate in any way for the well justified disappointment, again, not what you would expect from a five-star hotel.

We were also disappointed with the buffet selection and service at breakfast but this is only a minor complaint.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sergio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPHManager, General Manager at The Killarney Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for visiting us at Killarney Park Hotel and for taking the time to post this review. As you are aware from our phone conversation, I am very sorry that you did not like the style of the suite that you stayed in last weekend. As explained we have two styles of suites here at Killarney Park Hotel, contempory and classical. It was extremely unfortunate that by the time you checked in on Saturday evening all our contempory suites were already occupied and we had no other option available for you. I appreciate that you took my call so I have a clear understanding on what disappointed you and I take some solace that you found your room to be completely satisfactory in terms of standard of cleanliness and free from any maintenance issues. Thank you for complimenting the hotel overall and in particular the friendliness of the team here.
We hope we will be afforded an opportunity to welcome you back to Killarney Park Hotel so we can exceed your expectations.
Yours sincerely,
Niamh O'Shea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
3.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,217 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,545 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,177 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killarney Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killarney Park Hotel

Property: The Killarney Park Hotel
Address: | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Killarney Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Five Star Killarney Park Hotel, a Leading Hotel of the World is wonderfully situated in the picturesque town of Killarney - Ireland's premier tourist destination - celebrated throughout the world for its magnificent scenery, attractions and welcoming people. Reflecting its town centre location, the only 5* hotel in Killarney Town Centre offers guests the ultimate in luxury, in comfortable yet contemporary surroundings, whilst at all times offering flawless service and "Warmth Beyond the Smile". With 67 bedrooms and suites, a full service Spa offering Elemis Treatments together with our exclusive BIOTEC Facial & Health & Fitness Suite, the Park Restaurant, Garden Bar and our welcoming Garden Terrace in addition to the attractions, Killarney National Park, world class golf courses available in Kerry, the Killarney Park Hotel is your natural choice for a pleasant, luxurious and relaxing stay. Complimentary Car Parking and Free WiFi for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Killarney Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing