We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Combination of excellent and poor” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Killarney Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Killarney Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Combination of excellent and poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We have often read reviews of hotels and thought people reviewing have been a little harsh or have very high expectations. We recently stayed at this excellent hotel and experienced very bad service in the bar. I sent the following e-mail to the manager and they did not have the courteousy to reply to it.

As a fellow manager in a business serving the public,  I thought it important to give you some feedback on our stay last Saturday.
Firstly the initial impressions of the common areas and our welcome from the reception staff were excellent, the manor in which we were shown our room and the room itself were also excellent.
We decided to have a bite to eat in the bar and were served by a young gent who was quite nervous, aggitated, lacked awareness and was hard to understand.
We were seated behind a tv that had the volume turned off which was fine until just before our food arrived (approx 45 mins later)  when the waiter turned the volume up quite high.
I asked to be moved and was told that it would not be possible as the empty tables were reserved for expected guests. I then asked to cancel the food and was told it was on its way. Not wanting to create a scene I just accepted this ( I was also hungry and it was the first Saturday off work this year so hassle was the last thing on the agenda). My food was very greasy, but as mentioned earlier I was very hungry so I just ate it as quick as possible to get away from the loud tv as soon as possible.
I went to the bar counter to pay as our waiter was unaware we had finished. I voiced my concerns to the man behind the bar,  he said he was sorry but there was nothing he could do about it.
I went to reception after to collect my car keys  and I informed them I was unhappy with the service and food in the bar, they apologized on behalf of the staff in the bar.
We were planning to dine in the hotel restaurant that evening but changed our plans based on our earlier experience.
We ordered ice to the room and the lady who delivered it was one the most courteous and polite people I've ever encountered.
When we returned from our meal we decided to give the bar a second chance and have a drink before we retired to our room, we were served by another young man who was inexperienced and had to be helped by an older man who stepped in when he saw him struggling.

We received great value and service from all with exception to the bar staff where we feel heavily short changed.
I really believe our stay would have been outstanding had we avoided the bar and would like to say thanks to all the other staff that made everything else very enjoyable.( including Sheila Marie who was very informative and helpful when making the booking).

Kind Regards

Do stay here, it is very nice, avoid the bar at all costs and don't expect the manager to acknowledge any shortfalls and you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KPHManager, General Manager at The Killarney Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor.
I am very sorry that your experience in our Garden Bar did not meet your expectations and would welcome the opportunity to restore your confidence in our service levels. I certainly don't want you to be under the impression that you feedback is not valued and acknowledged. I did respond to your direct email at 10.42 on 6th feb but your review of 7th feb states you didn't receive my response so I will also send a hard copy by post to you.
Thank you for choosing Killarney Park Hotel for your weekend break and I hope you will consider returning some time in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Niamh O'Shea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    133
    30
    8
    4
See reviews for
285
614
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Had the most wonderful stay here in January. First class treatment all the way from start to finish, there is nothing you can say negatively it is just fantastic. Even with grey wet weather it is just fab. I cannot recommend it highly enough & do not miss out on the amazing spa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie1963_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
141 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

In fairness I've reviewed this hotel before. I'm driven to review again to emphasize how there are few hotels to compare with the Killarney Park for sheer coziness comfort staff attention and general ambience. And food. Bar very homely and cosy too. Did I say the staff are fabulous?

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BallaghMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful two night stay in the Killarney Park. Everything about our weekend was outstanding.
*The staff were so welcoming and courteous
*The surroundings were so comfortable and relaxing
*The room (upgraded to a suite) was exceptional - could have stayed in the wonderful bed all day. And could have slept all day too as the room layout resulted in minimal noise from corridor.
*The breakfast was excellent - food, service and surroundings all exceeded expectations - really didn't want to leave!
*Didn't use leisure center or spa but my husband said these facilities were great.

Thus was a wonderful 5 star experience, full of extra little touches and I would highly recommend it

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarafitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Lovely hotel that has a homely feel to it. Staff were excellent and the one or two issues I had upon arrival were promptly dealt with. Small hotel and might not have the wow factor that some 5 star hotels have but that it is off set by being right in the heart of Killnarney.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eamonallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon and were very happy with our room and the hotel in general. The suite was very good, and all the facilities and amenities met our expectations. It was in a very good location. We used the pool which was warm and relaxing. We enjoyed relaxing in the lounges in front of the fire. We found the hotel staff to be helpful. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Couldn't rate this hotel high enough, staff are so friendly and helpful, service is exceptional, decor and ambiance is so relaxing and inviting. Food is fabulous, hotel is centrally located, great for parking up the car and strolling around the streets of Killarney, will definitely make a return visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaTipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,928 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
2.4 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killarney Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killarney Park Hotel

Property: The Killarney Park Hotel
Address: The Park Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Killarney Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Five Star Killarney Park Hotel, a Leading Hotel of the World is wonderfully situated in the picturesque town of Killarney - Ireland's premier tourist destination - celebrated throughout the world for its magnificent scenery, attractions and welcoming people. Reflecting its town centre location, the only 5* hotel in Killarney Town Centre offers guests the ultimate in luxury, in comfortable yet contemporary surroundings, whilst at all times offering flawless service and "Warmth Beyond the Smile". With 67 bedrooms and suites, a full service Spa offering Elemis Treatments together with our exclusive BIOTEC Facial & Health & Fitness Suite, the Park Restaurant, Garden Bar and our welcoming Garden Terrace in addition to the attractions, Killarney National Park, world class golf courses available in Kerry, the Killarney Park Hotel is your natural choice for a pleasant, luxurious and relaxing stay. Complimentary Car Parking and Free WiFi for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Killarney Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing