We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous ”
Review of West End House Restaurant - CLOSED

West End House Restaurant
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The West End House Restaurant nestled in the neighbourhood between Killarney Cathedral and the gate of Killarney National Park has re-opened after extensive renovations under new the management of chef John O'Leary.
Killarney
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous ”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

My version of a super Sunday .... Fab.
I won't go on and on .... Stunning way to spend a Sunday evening and great value, charming service, and the food is to die for

Helpful?
Thank KateoLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    23
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious food and charming ambiance”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed the entire dining experience. From the warm welcome to the deliciously prepared food. The warm bread inside the bread cover was a nice touch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brobar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice food and atmosphere.”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was a lovely restaurant. We really enjoyed the atmosphere and there was a great buzz to the place. Dinner was very wholesome and tasty. Service was excellent. Overall a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viator399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Top class Dining Experience”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

In the first week of September, I dined with my girlfriend in The west end house. This was my first experience under the new ownership of Chef John O Leary. We booked our table for 9pm on a Saturday night. We arrived and were greeted into the bar for a drink. This is a lovely setting for a pre dinner drink. However we did have to wait for nearly an hour for our table. However this was not a problem for us as we were only going back to our hotel afterwards. Our 2 mains of fillet steak and lamb were cooked to perfection. This restaurant also presents dishes in a very creative manner with great flavours. The wine is very reasonably priced. This host Monika could not have been nicer and she conversed well with other tables. The West end brings dining to Killarney to a higher level. I would rate the West End as the best fine dining restaurant in Killarney.

Helpful?
Thank John5840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Fabulous meal from start to finish. Ordered local reared steak, which was cooked perfectly & melted in the mouth. Particularly enjoyed the foie gras taster that it came with. This restaurant is a real gem - tastefully decorated and service excellent, attentive without being obtrusive. Thoroughly recommended!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjanet1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West End House Restaurant also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing