We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best part of our trip!”
other travelers have booked this property
The Couch House in the courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Couch House in the courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
The Couch House in the courtyard
Sitting Area
Sitting Area
Dinning Area
Kitchen
Arch to the Courtyard
Coach House side view
Bedroom No. 1
Bedroom No. 1
Bathroom to Bedroom No. 1
Bedroom No. 2
Shower in Bedroom No. 2
Top of the Muckross Road
Road down to The Priory
The main house - The Priory.  The Coach House is located in the back in the courtyard.
Aghadoe - a 10 minute drive for this view
Derrynane on the Ring of Kerry - 90 minute drive
Half way up Torc Mountain (10 Minute Drive Away)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Killarney, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Angel_Emm
Guelph, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best part of our trip!”
Reviewed November 14, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We travelled to several places across and still talk about the great spacious Coach House at the Priory, the adorable dogs, the sweet hosts and most of all, the wood-burning fireplace.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: fireplace
Liked least: had trouble getting host to respond to emails
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimPiszcz...
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Killarney”
Reviewed September 16, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary in June. We decided to take our two teenage boys to Ireland to celebrate (and visit one of my ancestral homelands). An acquaintance in Chicago, who is friends with the owners of The Priory (Tim and Bernadette), recommended as a place to stay in Killarney.

The Priory consists of a main house and a number of small cottages. We stayed in the Teach Mor cottage. The place oozes old world charm...a cobblestone walk way, arches and a small fountain all right outside your door. Our unit was very recently remodeled and was tastefully decorated. The washer/dryer located in the cottage is a major benefit for those who pack lightly or go out for day hikes in Killarney Nat'l. Park.

There is a small soccer pitch in front of the main home that our boys ended up using every evening when we got back from our day trips.

Tim and Bernadette were extremely helpful in setting our itinerary each day and we thoroughly enjoyed their company. The location is a short walk from the town center and is a great jumping off point for day trips (like the Ring of Kerry and Dingle Peninsula).

Oh, and I can't forget to mention the cow pasture that butts up to the unit (don't worry, you won't even notice them)...which has a nice view of the cathedral in town.

We heartily recommend The Priory to any first time or returning visitors to the Killarney region.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doc_Mic
Mississauga, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location in Killarney”
Reviewed May 20, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

If you plan on staying in Killarney for a week or so The Priory is an excellent option. Set well back off Muckross Road you'll enjoy the absolute quiet at night compared to the loud mayhem of town. Just a short 15-20 walk to town though which we did every night to listen to music. The Coach House has been marvellously restored by Tim. The main floor has a large living area with leather furniture and an excellent fireplace with plenty of wood and peat available to burn. The kitchen is well equipped. There is a 2 piece bathroom on the living area in addition to a laundry room. The two bedrooms upstairs are large with very comfortable beds and each with it's own full ensuite bathroom. (One with Jacuzzi tub.) Beds are very comfortable with cozy down duvets. It is Tim and Bernadette that will make your stay here though. Need a chef? Tim's got a guy. Need a driver for a few days. Tim's got a guy. How about a mountain guide? He's know one of those too. Tim was instrumental in helping us plan a fabulous week in Kerry. Plus he owns the micro brewery in town. How can you go wrong there? Couldn't recommend this place enough.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best rental in Ireland”
Reviewed October 17, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our third trip to Ireland, we've stayed in several very nice hotels and cottages, and The Loft at the Priory is our new favorite. We had a great four days there, and looking forward to our next visit. Bernadette and Tim are very accommodating, and the cottage was lovely and comfortable for our family. It was everything we expected and more. Clean, spacious and charming. Close to town, but far enough away to be peaceful and relaxing. The gardens are lovely, and they even arranged for the weather to be perfect!
Hi to Maizie and Oliver, who made the stay even more special. Who knew we'd have two sweet pups to greet us?!

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lovely cottage, clean, updated
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSullys...
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Truly amazing in every way!”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My sister in law and her family stayed in the Coach House (while we were in the Priory Cottage, the grandparents in the Priory Loft and all the grandkids in the main house!) and I can review (because they may not) their location. Like every spot around the Priory's courtyard - this one had old Irish charm with all the modern conveniences. The kitchen was fabulous...the bathrooms spacious and clean and fully modern...in cottage laundry was available...and the bedrooms were spotless and comfortable. The fireplace was a bonus that served us well - even in August!

Our family stumbled upon the O'Donohue's Priory property when we booked lodging for 4 last fall to scout for our planned August reunion...but what we found was the PERFECT location for our group of 25 this summer. There are several "cottages" around a picturesque courtyard all located on a private property. Each cottage affords ample privacy for independent travelers...but in our case...it provided the IDEAL location for all of us to be together. This was the trip of a lifetime for our family and we would HIGHLY recommend the Priory to groups of any size. Please give the O'Donohue's our best when you get there!

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the charm, and the opportunity this place gave us to be
Liked least: leaving...
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmmcq
springfield,ma
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Charming, Comfortable,First Class”
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We just returned from our stay at The Priory. We stayed in the loft which is spacious, comfortable, and feels like home. You can feel the historic charm all around you without missing a single modern convenience. Great care and attention to detail in the renovation and furnishing of this property make it the perfect place to stay. There is plenty of room to spread out and enjoy one another's company. I would never return to Ireland and not stay here. We absolutely loved it.
It looks exactly like it does in the photos!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeckyD299
Alameda, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What a gem!!!,”
Reviewed June 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Four of us just returned from a weeks stay here - the place was lovely! The coach house had two bedrooms each with a private bath which was just perfect for us - it was well furnished and the kitchen was lovely! The nights were a bit cool so we availed ourselves of the "peat" burning fireplace which warmed the place nicely. It is located close to Killarney town centre ( 10 - 15 minute walk) and Killarney was a great home base for day trips to dingle, golfing etc and w
Akind distance from several local attractions (Muckross House, Ross Castle etc. Tim and Bernadette the owners couldn't have been nicer and their dogs Maisy and Oscar are adorable! We would all stay here again

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feel of the place -
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing