We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming and beautiful”
other travelers have booked this property
The Couch House in the courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Couch House in the courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
The Couch House in the courtyard
Sitting Area
Sitting Area
Dinning Area
Kitchen
Arch to the Courtyard
Coach House side view
Bedroom No. 1
Bedroom No. 1
Bathroom to Bedroom No. 1
Bedroom No. 2
Shower in Bedroom No. 2
Top of the Muckross Road
Road down to The Priory
The main house - The Priory.  The Coach House is located in the back in the courtyard.
Aghadoe - a 10 minute drive for this view
Derrynane on the Ring of Kerry - 90 minute drive
Half way up Torc Mountain (10 Minute Drive Away)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Killarney, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Janine T
Dover, New Hampshire, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming and beautiful”
Reviewed November 24, 2014 for a stay in October 2012

We were a group of 6 people staying at the Priory. There were delicious scones waiting for us on arrival in the fully equipped kitchen. The property is beautiful and the owners are very friendly and helpful. There is a lovely stove in the living room that burns peat and warms you up after a day of experiencing Irish weather in the nearby Killarney national park (a must see). This was the best place we stayed in Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald C
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed September 19, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I tried to post this when we first came back but something went wrong. We stayed for a week in April and I am so happy we found this place. There are several different options but we stayed in the Coach House which was amazing. Plenty of room and all the amenities you would need plus the charm of history. Coming back to a peet fire after a long day of exploring was absolutely perfect. We also had unbelievable weather while there. It was sunny and gorgeous the entire week which apparently is completely unheard of. If you will be in Killarney and need a place do not stay anywhere else, you cannot get any better. Never met Tim but Bernadette was there to help if we needed anything, but for the most part we were happy to be on our own. Her handy laminated guides to different attractions were so awesome. We checked out places we would never have found without her help. Skellig chocolate factory for one. Imagine a willywonka style chocolate factory set into the impressive countryside with nothing around it. I'm sure they employ everyone within 20 miles of it. And it's soooo good. As for Ireland in general we had a great time. Food was way better than expected and not as expensive as we planned. Most of the people are amazing but we found a couple of pubs that were not so friendly to outsiders which was a bummer. Plus they kick everyone out at around 11 but let locals stay. Not cool and not very warm. But there were plenty of others that were friendly. All in all a 99% perfect trip and The Priory was a huge huge part of that. Will be back for sure if I am lucky.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Liked least: I could not think of anything I would change
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaymartin...
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We absolutely loved our week at the Coach House and Killarney in general. The house was amazing, well-equipped, wam and beautiful. The town was amazing, the people friendly and we loved the 'jarveys' - the horse and carts which took us around the beautiful National park. The owners were friendly yet discreet. We had the best time!

Gay and Sam

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and the amazing countryside
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne M
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The ideal location for a relaxed vacation in Killarney”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This is my second visit to Killarney, which is one of the friendliest and welcoming communities in all of Ireland. During my visit in 2012 I stayed at a hotel in town. However, during this visit I stayed at the Priory Cottages, which are owned by Tim and Bern O'Donoghue. My extended family and I rented three of the units on the property. I stayed in the one bedroom cottage, which was beautifully decorated, spacious, quiet, extremely well-appointed, and very comfortable. Tim and Bern are the most generous hosts, and are always available to help, answer questions, recommend restaurants, and arrange for transportation. I am looking forward to returning in 2015!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDWESTFAM
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Very nice place to stay”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This is the perfect place to stay in Killarney. Very nice property!! Lots of space for our family. Washer and Dryer were a huge plus. Tim directed us to the nearest grocery store and made sure we got settled. Even built a fire for our first night there! I would highly recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryColl...
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“Great location, great facilities, great owners”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed in the Loft that has three bedrooms upstairs and a full kitchen/dining room/den downstairs. The property is better then the pictures show. We enjoyed our stay and Tim was great. The scones were excellant that he provided the first morning. If you have a large family this is the place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the property was modern and updated
Liked least: internet connection could be updated for better receiption
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill B
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gracious owners, lovely gardens and upscale cottage”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Tim & Bernadette were extremely helpful in providing suggestions for our day trips, helping us to avoid "too-touristy" areas as well as making sure we were comfortable in their beautifully restored historic cottages. There was plenty of peat to burn each night in the wood fired stove, and since evenings had started getting cooler (it was mid October) we could keep the cottage snug and cozy. The beds and linens were superb - my husband who usually wakes up before dawn and doesn't sleep well found himself sleeping til 8 or 8:30 each morning! With the fully equipped kitchen we could enjoy breakfast and coffee in the cottage before setting off for the day. There were plenty of day trips to do from there that kept us busy all week! Would definitely recommend this place and hope to return there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing