We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”

Muckross House, Gardens & Traditional Farms
Book In Advance
More Info
$11.10*
and up
Hop-on Hop-off Shuttle in Killarney: Muckross Route
Ranked #3 of 106 things to do in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Muckross House, Gardens, and Traditional Farms represent the focal point and nucleus of Killarney National Park. This is Ireland's oldest National Park, and it includes the world famous Lakes of Killarney, as well as the mountains and woodlands that surround them. Muckross and Killarney National Park are open daily all year round (expect the Christmas period). Please refer to website for more details on opening times & prices.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We visit this spot regularly when in Ireland. Parking is free. They have an amazing cafe/restaurant. Set within the National Park you are surrounded by hills and lakes. Paths are great for both walking and cycling. Fabulous for families.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacs511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,108
    1,028
    171
    22
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We took the tour which was very interesting. We also spent just a little time touring the gardens--if we had more time, we would've loved to walkmthe grounds some more.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful Irish Manor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Muckross House is a very picturesque Irish setting. The house is very interesting, but the grounds are worth spending time on also.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Park in the Parking Lot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

There are 3 entrances to the Muckross House Estates and Abbey. take the first one and follow along and park close to the house. We didnt, we parked at the Abbey and walked to the house which is 1.6 K a bit of hike. We took the house tour, it was very interesting and the guide was very knowledgeable you can get the tour for free if you have the Heritage Card. The Gardens are expansive and the views are quite wonderful of the lake and mountains. We took a pony and cart ride back to our car. One of the drivers quoted us 30 Euros to go back to the gate but we found a driver who would bargain so we paid 15 euros for the 1.6K ride back to the gate but by then we were tired from walking the estate and house. It was worth it and the driver was very sweet. There is a cafe on the grounds as well as a gift shop. If you want to see the waterfall add more time. I could have spent all day here.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank aura44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great guided tour.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Visited this historical house as part of a tour of Ireland. The day was rainy and windy but our trip to the house in a "Jaunting Cart" and the tour were not affected. The guided tour of the house was very informative and the level of preservation and restoration is impressive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kathy714k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muckross House, Gardens & Traditional Farms also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Muckross House, Gardens & Traditional Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing