We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ferris Wheel B&B
Nearby Hotels
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fairview(Killarney)
$323
$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$220
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$260
$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$378
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eviston House Hotel(Killarney)(Great Value!)
$161
$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Hotel(Killarney)
$248
$226
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$312
$294
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ross(Killarney)
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
45
5
2
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
5
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe gapbed was very comfortablestayed here for nightsstay there againjohndunloehostsoprahirelanditinerarykettle
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 55 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Lovely room and expansive traditional breakfast. John is a fountain of knowledge about the area and its history. I also took a ride in his jaunty cart in the Gap. Short, beautiful walk to Kate Kearney's cottage and the entrance to the Gap.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaretbernadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were in Ireland for two weeks and stayed in 4 B&Bs during our holiday. We stayed 3 nights at the Ferris Wheel and it was very much below the quality of the others. This one was clearly the worst. I'll compare the experience here compared to the other B&Bs.

At all the other B&Bs we were greated by the owners, offered tea, shown around the B&B, and one owner even helped carry in our luggage. Here the owner showed us our room and disappeared. When the TV would not work we had to ring the front door bell to get the owner's attention because we did not know where he went.

The Ferris Wheel did not have a sitting room for guests. All the rest had very comfortable sitting rooms with a fireplace, stereo, TV and books or magazines. You felt like you were in a home. One owner even invited us in to watch the last few minutes of a sporting event on the TV by this roaring fire.

The shower in our bathroom did not have a stall. But rather a small three sided glass screen that let the shower water get all over the bathroom. My wife called out that the water was leaking out into the bedroom!

The only electric outlet for the coffee pot was on the floor. So my wife had to sit down on the floor to plug it into the floor outlet to make her morning coffee!

Last but most inconveniently, the owner informed us on our third night that he needed payment in CASH because he only rented the credit card machine during the summer! We scrambled to find an ATM machine in a hotel 10 km away to get cash. Why didn't he tell us when we checked in?

AVOID this B&B. There are others on the same road as his if you want to be near the Gap of Dunloe.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stargazerfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The gap of Dunlow is a mystical place and John, the propritor of the Ferris Wheel made it even better. The accomodations were great and John whose grandfather and father have taken visitors by horse and trap into the gap over the last 80 years provided first hand knowledge of the area including its history, fauna and geology. It was a great stop for us.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryV732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent the day climbing Ireland's highest mountain, Carrountoohil. Our guide recommended The Ferris Wheel B&B as it was near the mountain and also close to Kate Kearney's Cottage for dinner that evening. We stopped by without having a reservation and were greeted by John who led us to a beautiful room. The inn is lovely! We had a great breakfast of scrambled eggs and salmon the following morning. You could look out the window and see all the horses and carts heading up the road waiting to take passengers to the Gap of Dunloe. John also has a horse but unfortunately we were leaving that morning and didn't have time for a ride! We would definitely stay with John and Nora again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ireland2010Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at the Ferris Wheel while attending a wedding in the area, and I couldn't recommend it highly enough. The hosts John and Nora are just lovely. Our room was spotless with a beautiful view of the mountains behind. It's a perfect location for walking the Gap of Dunloe (or John will take you up there on his horse and carriage). We were late for breakfast on both mornings that we stayed - but John didn't bat an eyelid (and makes the perfect poached egg!). It was like a home away from home for the weekend.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank gibbon90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferriswheel2609, Owner at The Ferris Wheel B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you so much for taking time to write up such a lovely feedback on our B&B . Its much appreciated.
John & Nora Ferris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews