We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay, Great Hosts, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ferris Wheel B&B
Ranked #74 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay, Great Hosts, Great Location”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My husband and I would highly recommend The Ferris Wheel B&B in the Gap of Dunloe. The house is beautiful, and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. There is beautiful hardwood floors throughout the room and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious, and although the half shower stall was a bit unusual, it worked just fine. John and Nora are making a great effort to keep their B&B 'green' and it's very much appreciated. The breakfasts were very good. They gave us great recommendations for things to do and places to eat. John even offered to give us a ride on his horse drawn carriage through the Gap. We opted to walk it, as we needed the exercise! A great pub is within walking distance from the B&B and we were treated to live music and some Irish dancing! Would highly recommend a stay with John and Nora!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPKhambatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferriswheel2609, Owner at The Ferris Wheel B&B, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write up such a lovely review on our B&B. Its much appreciated.
John & Nora Ferris............
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    5
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Just 10 mins drive from Killarney but situated in the wonderful setting of the Gap of Dunloe. I was touring a group of Canadians around Ireland and the stay at the Ferris Wheel was the high light of the Tour. John & Nora our amazing host who have a great knowledge of information about the area, they run a modern,clean, very well kept house with 360 views of the Gap.. The breakfast is delightful, the freshly made pancakes are a real-treat. With the Iconic Gap of Dunloe for walkers and hikers right-beside a stay at the Ferris Wheel is a match made of heaven for anyone staying in Killarney.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liamsmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferriswheel2609, Owner at The Ferris Wheel B&B, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write up such a lovely review on our B&B. Its much appreciated.
John & Nora Ferris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

My Boyfriend, Erik and I stayed at the Ferris Wheel for a night. The location couldn't be more perfect, as it was at the entrance to the Gap.
The house was very tastefully appointed inside and out with detailed decor. The owners, John and Nora were gracious hosts and we had the extra benefit of John offering a tour of the Gap in his own horse and trap. Breakfast was a traditional Irish breakfast choice in a lovely formal dining room overlooking the manicured lawn.
It was a perfect, romantic beginning to our wonderful trip through Ireland!
~L Perrotta

Room Tip: Notes to be aware of: latex pillows (for allergies like myself), and bathroom didn't have a show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYRaptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Very nice, clean and a great breakfast! Don't miss the opportunity to have the family take you on a horse ride to the Dunloe Gap, beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reedhouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We felt obligated to write a review because there are not a lot of reviews of the numerous B&B’s around Ireland. We struggled with making reservations because there are minimal reviews out there and websites can be misleading.

We made reservations at the Ferris Wheel B&B on our recent trip to Ireland. We met John our host who was laid-back and welcoming. We never met the wife. John showed us all the rooms and we were able to pick out the one that we liked which was nice. The rooms were clean, somewhat on the smaller side, but we had a lovely mountain view with John’s horses right outside in the yard. Bathrooms were also small. There was no real “shower” in the bathroom, but rather a shower head coming out of the wall in which the hosts supply a waist-high accordion like privacy barrier. A negative being that water gets all over the bathroom and all over the floor, very unlike any shower in the US. We did have to sneak into the other rooms to grab some toilet paper and shampoo as our room did not have any. It would have been nice to have those supplies on hand, rather than having to go explore the house looking for items that should be readily available in the rooms. (Upon this exploration, we noticed that someone who was not a guest, possibly a teenage son, was rooming in a bedroom right next door to the guests’ rooms. We would see this teenager walking around and noticed his room was messy and dirty).

Breakfast is held in the dining room which was cozy and inviting. There is one large table that all must share. The traditional Irish breakfasts were tasty and delicious! There were also cereals, tea, coffee, and juice on hand.

There is no sitting room/living room in this B&B where guests could relax. You must stay in your room to watch TV/use computer, etc. There are some local pubs and restaurants close to the area which was nice. Downtown Killarney was about a 10 minute drive from the B&B. John was helpful and knowledgeable about the area. He also can take guests out on carriage rides and horseback riding tours. Overall, it was a nice stay and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: John allowed us to pick which room we wanted!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank THEBSTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Fine B&B, spacious rooms and lovely breakfast.
The location couldn't be better, just a short walk from the Gap of Dunloe and the people who run the place gave a great welcome and wouldn't hear of us getting a taxi to a wedding and very kindly drove us instead!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nagoyaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton NJ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Top notch 5 star B&B! Rooms were clean, modern, and comfortable. The breakfast was fresh and authentic Irish food. The owners Nora and John were friendly and John took us in a horse and buggy ride thru the Gap of Dunloe! Views were lovely! The B&B is in walking distance to an authentic Irish Pub! We are from the New York area and will most definitely return once airfares come down a bit. The Ferris Wheel is recommended HIGHLY! Tough to beat! Cheers Nora and John!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katerbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.0 mi away
Failte Hotel
Failte Hotel
#38 of 38 in Killarney
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crystal Springs Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Beaufort Lodge
Beaufort Lodge
#2 of 5 in Beaufort
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wayside B&B
Wayside B&B
#67 of 140 in Killarney
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Inveraray Farm Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ferris Wheel B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ferris Wheel B&B

Property: The Ferris Wheel B&B
Address: Gap of Dunloe, Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a luxurious family orientated 5 bedroomed bungalow situated at the gateway to the Gap of Dunloe (a glaciated valley). We are Bord Failte approved and a non smoking home. Our rates include varied breakfast menu, private car park, outdoor picnic area, hair dryers, irons/ironing boards, under floor heating and TV & wireless free broadband. Supermarket, grocery shop, post office are within 1 km away and our local taxi service is just a phone call away. This family run business is owned by John & Nora Ferris and their 3 teenage children. We have a great interest is music and enjoy a sing song by the fireside. Our emphasis is on a friendly personal service to enhance a comfortable relaxing stay for you and yours to enjoy. We can arrange for you to be picked up by jaunting car from our home so you can enjoy a traditional trip or horse back ride through the Gap of Dunloe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Ferris Wheel B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing