We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice when staying in Killarney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ferris Wheel B&B
Ranked #73 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We felt obligated to write a review because there are not a lot of reviews of the numerous B&B’s around Ireland. We struggled with making reservations because there are minimal reviews out there and websites can be misleading.

We made reservations at the Ferris Wheel B&B on our recent trip to Ireland. We met John our host who was laid-back and welcoming. We never met the wife. John showed us all the rooms and we were able to pick out the one that we liked which was nice. The rooms were clean, somewhat on the smaller side, but we had a lovely mountain view with John’s horses right outside in the yard. Bathrooms were also small. There was no real “shower” in the bathroom, but rather a shower head coming out of the wall in which the hosts supply a waist-high accordion like privacy barrier. A negative being that water gets all over the bathroom and all over the floor, very unlike any shower in the US. We did have to sneak into the other rooms to grab some toilet paper and shampoo as our room did not have any. It would have been nice to have those supplies on hand, rather than having to go explore the house looking for items that should be readily available in the rooms. (Upon this exploration, we noticed that someone who was not a guest, possibly a teenage son, was rooming in a bedroom right next door to the guests’ rooms. We would see this teenager walking around and noticed his room was messy and dirty).

Breakfast is held in the dining room which was cozy and inviting. There is one large table that all must share. The traditional Irish breakfasts were tasty and delicious! There were also cereals, tea, coffee, and juice on hand.

There is no sitting room/living room in this B&B where guests could relax. You must stay in your room to watch TV/use computer, etc. There are some local pubs and restaurants close to the area which was nice. Downtown Killarney was about a 10 minute drive from the B&B. John was helpful and knowledgeable about the area. He also can take guests out on carriage rides and horseback riding tours. Overall, it was a nice stay and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: John allowed us to pick which room we wanted!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank THEBSTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 55 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2010

Fine B&B, spacious rooms and lovely breakfast.
The location couldn't be better, just a short walk from the Gap of Dunloe and the people who run the place gave a great welcome and wouldn't hear of us getting a taxi to a wedding and very kindly drove us instead!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nagoyaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Top notch 5 star B&B! Rooms were clean, modern, and comfortable. The breakfast was fresh and authentic Irish food. The owners Nora and John were friendly and John took us in a horse and buggy ride thru the Gap of Dunloe! Views were lovely! The B&B is in walking distance to an authentic Irish Pub! We are from the New York area and will most definitely return once airfares come down a bit. The Ferris Wheel is recommended HIGHLY! Tough to beat! Cheers Nora and John!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katerbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

What a Gem, just spent 3 fabulous nights here with my wife. I was worried about staying in a B&B, how wrong I was. The room was really beautiful and spacious and super clean with a great en-suite.
We had a brilliant time walking through the Gap of Dunloe and beyond. We had a great time as well in the famous local Kate Kearneys pub and restaurant just up the road with some well earned pints and great food. We really chilled out without the fuss or high cost of a Hotel. I can't believe this is the first review, well done and many thanks to Nora and her family.

1  Thank AlanGeraldine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Bitte früh buchen. Es ist sehr beliebt. Zimmer sind alle EG und super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
Thank APPLE0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmanleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
Inveraray Farm Guesthouse
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
600 reviews
3.3 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
5.2 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,327 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ferris Wheel B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ferris Wheel B&B

Address: Gap of Dunloe, Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: $93 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a luxurious family orientated 5 bedroomed bungalow situated at the gateway to the Gap of Dunloe (a glaciated valley). We are Bord Failte approved and a non smoking home. Our rates include varied breakfast menu, private car park, outdoor picnic area, hair dryers, irons/ironing boards, under floor heating and TV & wireless free broadband. Supermarket, grocery shop, post office are within 1 km away and our local taxi service is just a phone call away. This family run business is owned by John & Nora Ferris and their 3 teenage children. We have a great interest is music and enjoy a sing song by the fireside. Our emphasis is on a friendly personal service to enhance a comfortable relaxing stay for you and yours to enjoy. We can arrange for you to be picked up by jaunting car from our home so you can enjoy a traditional trip or horse back ride through the Gap of Dunloe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Ferris Wheel B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing