We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scared the bejasus out of me, wouldn't have missed it for the world!”

Killarney Guided Walks
Book In Advance
More Info
$11.34*
and up
Guided Killarney National Park Walking Tour
Ranked #11 of 47 Tours in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Scared the bejasus out of me, wouldn't have missed it for the world!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The walk to the top of Ireland's highest mountain is tough....lots of scrambling up and down loose rocks....but the rewards are utterly stunning on a good day....excellent guides, good company...don't miss it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geespurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    24
    3
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
2 reviews
“Like a Hike?......You will love this tour.”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The combination of Richard's knowledge of the area, appreciation for history, easy-going demeanor and faithful canine companion, Rua, greatly enhanced our visit to Killarney. My wife and I walked two completely different routes with Richard on May 29 & 30 and the common thread was that both were enormously enjoyable -- we saw plenty of wildlife -- and we were sad to see each walk end. No matter what else you do during your visit to County Kerry, you can be sure that one or more walks with Richard and Rua will be amongst the most memorable parts of your trip.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
176 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A very good way to enjoy Killarney NP”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Last month (April 2013), my wife and I spent a few days in Killarney. We decided to take Richard Clancy's two hour walking tour. I must say that it was very good, Richard and his dog made it quite enjoyable guiding us through the beautiful spots of the park. The weather cooperated with us and we had a beautiful day.

The beauty of the mountains and lakes is just breath taking, and even the old growth forest is quite a sight to enjoy. I would strongly recommend this 2 two hour tour to anyone heading to the Killarney National Park.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank josebenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Climbing Carrantoohill”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We can't believe we went up by the Devil's Ladder and then down by the Heavenly Gate. A strenuous 8 hours for us, but then we all have bus passes! Very lucky with the weather. A perfect dry day. Lots of other people thought the same as there were many groups on the mountain. Richard stuck with us and afterwards gave us tea and apple pie at Cronin's Yard in the late afternoon sun. Thanks too, to Naill who picked us up from Paddy's Palace. A day never to be forgotten. Many other fabulous walks in the area to come back for. Janet, Margaret, Rita and Maureen.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laois
1 review
“Climbing Carrantuohill”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

An extremely enjoyable day was had by all (we were very lucky with the weather!) Fun, friendly, chatty and experienced guides helped us all the way through. They really catered for all fitness levels, told us alot about the area and improved our Gaelige en route! Rua was also a welcomed addition to the group and had the same colour hair as my sister!!!!!! Would highly recommend, is a great day out, you feel great afterwards! Thanks Richard, Niall and Con :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Killarney Guided Walks also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Killarney Guided Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing