We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killarney Guided Walks

Killarney Guided Walks
Book In Advance
More Info
$10.99*
and up
Guided Killarney National Park Walking Tour
Ranked #13 of 47 Tours in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
2 reviews
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We first do a walk in national park killarney. That was very beautiful and we saw some places we would never seen.
Then, Richard bring us to a waterfall that, i think, very few people saw ... It was pretty hard, walk trough a river and find the way just with the nose of Rua ...
Waaa ! So amazing.
Thank you for this wonderful day, thank you for all, Richard and Rua.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Celien N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    23
    3
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Richard guided us around the Muckross Lake Walk, then took us on an absolutely divine, breathtaking part of the National Park. My pictures are incredible, the country was glorious. Rua completed the trip and the hike is well worth it. Schedule a time with Richard during your trip to Ireland. Thank you Richard and Rua!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
1 review
“Carringtouhill, Nov 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Richard took a group of us up and down Ireland’s highest peak in November on a cold dry day. Our group was of mixed experience but the pace he set suited all. He was very knowedgeable about the area and he dog was good company. It was amazing to see a dog bury spare food for a 'rainy day' with his nose. He could teach us Irish a few things about managing money !

Highly recommend the trip and if you’re lucky enough to get the view we did from the top you will be impressed!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wicklow_Rover2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Climbing Carrauntoohil”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were a small group (6) of mixed hill-walking capabilities and engaged Richard to guide us to the top of Carrauntoohil. A bit late in the year to be trying that feat with the short daylight hours but as it turned out, the weather was perfect (cold but dry and not at all windy). Richard agreed to an early start, met us outside Killarney and led us to the car park (not sure of the name but not Cronin's Yard). There we met his beautiful dog Rua who was our co-guide. We set out just after 9am, there is about an hour's walk to get to the base of the mountain. Richard led us up the Devil's Ladder route, which is tough going but not as bad as the name suggests. It was quite wet underfoot and loose in places, so care is needed, and it requires scrambling with all limbs to clear some sections. Once you clear that (take a quick breather), there is still a good way to go but it is much more manageable and the summit is always in sight. The last few hundred feet were covered in snow, which was unexpected. We stopped for a photo break at the top and refueled before starting the descent. Richard took us down the Heaven's Gate route, which has spectacular views but may not be suitable in some places to people with vertigo. This route has some challenging parts, but manageable, even with my relative inexperience. The descent is tiring as you constantly have to be on the alert to make sure of your footing. All in all, it took us just shy of six hours to complete the round trip, and while we were tired, we were very happy to have done it. Richard is a knowledgeable guide, and although the good weather conditions meant he didn't have to do too much guiding for us, it was well worth the money (€40 a head) to have him along and gave peace of mind, as well as being full of information. Plus you get the beautiful Rua as accompaniement, and she was a delight. Richard took us for a pint afterwards, which was a nice touch. We certainly earned it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Cathal1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
2 reviews
“Had a great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had the pleasure of being escorted on a guided walk by Richard Clancy and his beautiful dog Rua on our trip to Ireland, we found it be relaxing and informative, Richard is wonderful guide and very knowledgeable of the area, would recommend this to anyone visiting Killarney

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Killarney Guided Walks also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Killarney Guided Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing