We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wild Kerry Day Tour with O'Connor Autotours

Wild Kerry Day Tour with O'Connor Autotours
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.44*
and up
Ring of Kerry Day Tour
Ranked #15 of 47 Tours in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: O’Connor Autotours, Killarney was established in 1945 to cater for the transport requirements of overseas visitors to Ireland and in particular the South West of Ireland.We are committed to providing a highly personal, quality service ensuring that your use of our service will be a pleasant and memorable experience. You will find our guides knowledgeable, friendly and always willing to share a joke with you!
Oly Wa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was thinking this would be touristy but it wasn't. Our driver stopped at so many stops and was hysterical. We stopped for lunch and the food was fantastic.we were disappointed in the village but people seemed to like the Irish coffees. We loved the sheepherding exhibit. I have been driving for days and loved the break. I am so glad I didn't try to drive the ring of Kerry. They picked us up at gormans B and B and took us back so no driving. Great tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bajadreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCONNORAUTOTOURS, Manager at Wild Kerry Day Tour with O'Connor Autotours, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your 5 star “Great Trip” review of our Ring of Kerry tour. Glad you enjoyed the stops enroute as well as the commentary of the driver guide. Our complimentary pick up service is very popular as it is one less thing to worry about and a total day off from driving – we always encourage clients to avail of this service. Lots of clients enjoy the Kerry Bog Village stop but everyone has different interests but we are glad you did however enjoy the Sheep dog trails which are also very popular. Thank you too for your review of the lunch stop – we will pass on your comments to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    32
    26
    12
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a great tour of the Dingle peninsula with Wild Kerry tours. Morris was our guide, a large group had to cancel so there were only a few folks but they kept the full tour. A lot of nice stops along the way. A great lunch at the Blasket Islands Center, best fish and chips, beautiful view. I had thought about driving because I really wanted to see the Kilmalkeder Church, and most tours don't stop there. Morris went out of his way to locate the spot and give us some time to see it. Awesome and greatly appreciated I highly recommend this tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Weary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCONNORAUTOTOURS, Manager at Wild Kerry Day Tour with O'Connor Autotours, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your tour around the scenic Dingle Peninsula with driver guide Morris. As you mentioned yours was a small group due to a cancellation and we are delighted that Morris was able to accommodate your request to visit Kilmalkeder Church which is not on the normal Dingle itinerary. The Blasket Heritage centre is both a sightseeing and lunch stop which allows adequate time to enjoy the spectacular views of the Blaskets Island while enjoying some of the tasty food on offer in the restaurant. Hopefully you retuned home with wonderful memories of the Dingle Peninsula. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Thought up by Father Ted”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

"Most people take the Ring of Kerry" - presumably they have not heard that there are other parts of Ireland to visit. If this was the tour you took, you will have been highly satisfied, and our bus did have air conditioning, so we were lucky there as from other reviews it seems some did not. We loved the day, though it left us feeling worn out! Seven hours on a bus is some ordeal. We were booked for the Dingle tour the following day, and were tricked into getting into the 8 seat mini van mentioned in another review. I asked, were we going in this? No, they said,the driver is taking you to where the bus is. Total lie. After driving through Killarney the driver announced "Now we are out of the town I will tell you, you are going in this". My immediate reaction was, "No I am not." I told him to drive back to the office where I demanded (and got) my money back in cash, having refused offers to be 'refunded over the internet'. I did not believe that would happen! We then went to Dero's in town and booked for the following day with them. For this we had a 26 seat coach with air conditioning and windows you could see out of. I recommend others do the same if they are also tricked by O'Connors.I can thoroughly recommend Dero's, though I would say, with regard to both, that the only seats worth having in either coach are at the front, and for this you have to pay an extra supplement.As for the Wild Kerry 'attractions' the Bog Village was like something thought up by Father Ted and as for the sheepdog 'trials' - ie demonstration - billed as 'Ireland's Greatest Attraction' - give me strength! I lasted all of one minute then went to the coffee shop.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank murfinshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCONNORAUTOTOURS, Manager at Wild Kerry Day Tour with O'Connor Autotours, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
The Ring of Kerry tour is a very popular excursion in the South west and the number one tour out of Killarney therefore most visitors to the region complete the circuit either independently or by a coach tours as you did. This is a full day tour and the duration 10.30am – 5pm is necessary in order to complete the tour which is 110 miles long and take in all the stops of interest enroute - most people are aware of the duration before they book and are prepared for a full day out. You seemed to have enjoyed the daytour if not all stops enroute but people have different interests so perhaps they just where not for you but as you can see from other reviews they are the highlight for some. In relation to the Dingle peninsula tour we shared with another local operate on the day and we did not realise they intended to allocate a mini coach to the program. We did give you a full cash refund immediately when you retuned to our offices – normal procedure is to refund online for online bookings and there is never any issue with this refund procedure. We are happy to hear that you did complete the Dingle tour and enjoyed your day and hopefully you retuned home with some positive memories of the region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Killarney and Ring of Kerry Tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We started the day off with a train trip from Dublin to Killarney at our own expense and were met by a driver at the train station who hooked us up with the rest of the tour group. Because of road construction we were running late leaving Killarney, however the bus driver did his best to get us back on schedule to make all of the stops, except for one which was no big deal. We had a nice pub lunch at the Scarriff Inn which overlooked Kenmare Bay and made many photo-opportunity stops including a sheep herding demonstration and an afternoon stop for snacks. The driver was knowledgable about the area and gave an awesome commentary (although he had to compete with some mouthy people!) It was a little uncomfortable on the bus since it was an unseasonably hot day and the bus was not equipped with air conditioning. We arrived back in Killarney about 5:30 in the afternoon and had plenty of time to make our train back to Dublin.

Take note that many tour operators start this same tour itinerary from Killarney every day and they often have to compete for parking spaces at each venue since they all arrive about the same time. The success of the tour is based on the ability to find parking for a large bus and the discipline of the tour group to adhere to the time frames since there is very little cushion for time to wait for staggers or deal with traffic issues. I selected O'Connor tours because they had a competitive price for this tour, pick up from the train station and good reviews.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scotty92394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCONNORAUTOTOURS, Manager at Wild Kerry Day Tour with O'Connor Autotours, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your review of our Ring of Kerry daytour which is possible to join as a daytrip from Dublin using rail connection to Killarney. Our Wild Kerry Daytours representative is on hand to meet the 10.14am Dublin train arrival into Killarney and transfer clients to our waiting Ring of Kerry motor coach which departs 10.35am. We also return clients back to the railway station for their evening return train journey to Dublin. As you found the logistics of the day work out very well especially for time tight travellers that wish to see the Ring of Kerry while based in Dublin. As referenced in your review the logistics of the Ring of Kerry tour require behind the scenes seamless coordination by the driver guide so that all times are on schedule, this also requires the participation of the group in being punctual which most travellers seem to appreciate. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ring of Kerry Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

While in Ireland, we took the bus tour of the Ring of Kerry. The views were spectacular. The driver/ guide, John O'Neill was excellent. He really kept us informed and entertained. We stopped at the sheepdog demonstration which was wonderful. I was amazed at how well trained the dogs were. I highly recommend this tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCONNORAUTOTOURS, Manager at Wild Kerry Day Tour with O'Connor Autotours, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank for your Wildkerry Daytours review – we are delighted you enjoyed your daytour of the Iveragh Peninsula and all the beautiful scenery it has to offer from mountains, coastline, woodlands etc. its certainly is spectacular and diverse and even we as local appreciated it. The commentary enroute was provided by your driver guide John O’Neill and it appears he kept you informed & entertained for the day. Thanks again for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Kerry Day Tour with O'Connor Autotours also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Wild Kerry Day Tour with O'Connor Autotours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing