We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”
Review of The Smokehouse

The Smokehouse
Ranked #30 of 186 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just back from a great meal in the smoke house. Found the food to be great I had surf and turf (fillet and scallops €28) wife had fillet steak (€27) both were yum. Service was excllent however as stated in another review took 2 asks and half and hour to get the bill. We were enjoying the wine and didnt mind but could be an issue and such a small issue to solve. Otherwise will def be back and would recommend this place to everyone if you want a good meal at a good price you cant go wrong.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eamonncarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    204
    69
    41
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalkan, Turkey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We chanced upon the Smoke House yesterday evening and were most impressed by the food, the setting and most of all the lovely friendly young ladies taking care of us. It was so good that we just had to return tonight. The choice of food on the menu is limited, but, bye, is it good!
The setting is amazingly different to anything we have experienced before - it looks relaxed and casual, but a great deal of thought has been put in to make the place outstanding.
A visit is a must if you are in Killarney.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Oh my gosh, where's my waitress?”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We recently dined at the Smokehouse, and found the food to be good, generous portions, and pleasantly presented. The atmosphere was warm and cozy. Should have been a perfect dinner.
Not!!!! We had to wait 30 minutes after we asked for the check, and then after another 15 minutes, we got up and paid at the bar. The waitress was near our table 4 or five times during that interlude, and lit candles on nearby tables, ignoring us.......... What a shame....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bookwormten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Ate in smoke House last weekend ,excellent food had crab claws for starter and Steak mains. the food was very tasty. Staff friendly, meal reasonably priced; except steak.. , great dining experience , will definitely return

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCCORK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best meal in Ireland”
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ended up here unintentionally but we ended up very pleased with our meals- he had the surf and turf and is still raving about the scallops, I had the duck that melted in your mouth. We also loved the decor which felt very welcoming. We ate at some great restaurants in Ireland but this was likely our best meal of the trip.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank T F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smokehouse also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to The Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing