We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming - straightforward good food”
Review of The Smokehouse

The Smokehouse
Ranked #31 of 186 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“welcoming - straightforward good food”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

If you want a comfortable, very friendly atmosphere this is a great place. The food is straightforward, just good quality with minimal embellishment. The menu is limited but offers several levels of pricing. The wine range is adequate, didn't get to the beer. Very friendly atmosphere and a great music mix.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    204
    69
    41
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“good food casual dining”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

If you like burgers steaks salmon then the food is excelent. The menu is not a large menu but what you get is good with main courses around €15 - € 17 and wine from €4 a glass. The place has a nice casual athmosphere and I would recommend the burgers of the salmon. Service is always good so if you want a well priced meal then you wont go wrong

Helpful?
Thank coleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killorglin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic food - substandard service”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Trendy restaurant on the main st, great photos on walls, good music. Service from start was bad, it made us feel like we had made a bad decision coming here. I had lamb for mains and it was amazing, the guys had steaks which were also superb. the food is the best you can get, you'll get better service in a port-a-loo. (we had to ask 3 times for a baby chair) go for the food and do your best to put up with the service!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ledvig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
“a fantastic little place”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Went to Killarney with my boyfriend for a weekend we called to the Smoke house twice in 2 days. Dinner & again the next day for lunch. It’s a great liitle restaurant with great food & relaxed atmosphere. I cannot say more about the waiting staff, they were very friendly and obliging. I would have to recommend to anyone looking for good food at a reasonable price. It gets a 10/10.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very different”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I have been into the Smokehouse twice. Once for breakfast and then again for lunch .Both times were tasty ,no nonsense visits .The food is fesh and tasty.I will visit there again.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank fraday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Smokehouse also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to The Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing