We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swedish visitors say: Lovely in all ways!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Anthony's Lodge B&B
Ranked #68 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Växjö, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Swedish visitors say: Lovely in all ways!”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had a very lovely time at St Anthony's Lodge. The rooms were beautifully decorated, as was the whole house. Each detail was carefully planned. We oohed and awed at the fantastic
breakfast. Freshly baked scones by Mary herself, delicious fresh fruit, yummy cheeses and more, all on a beautifully laid table! It was all so delightful, that we stayed another night. Thanks so very much! I hope many many more can/will enjoy Mary's hospitality!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    19
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2012

It is the first B&B I've ever been in, but I've been advised not to spend the night at a b&b, for some people had bad experiences. Well. I was just delighted when we got to St Anthony's Lodge. Everything looked perfect. A little too fancy for my taste but Mary was really friendly and nice and made us feel most welcomed. The rooms are tidy and clean, everything was impeccable. I've never encountered such a clean bathroom, not even in hotels. Hot water in the shower. Hair dryer, tv, hot water for tea/coffee, even biscuits. And everything for a cheap expense. Plus the breakfast - best scrumbled eggs I've had in Ireland. It's really close to the city center. I'd definitely go there again if I visit Killarney once more.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

This was an amazing Bed & Breakfast. Mary was a great hostess who rises early to bake scones every morning. She delivers fresh scones to the table 10 minutes out of the oven. Take two scones with you from the breakfast table and the day's lunch is sorted as well as your breakfast. The rooms are excellent, good beds with clean bathrooms. I would highly recommend this bed & breakfast to everyone. I would like to visit Killarney again to do the Gap of Dunloe trip, to travel through the famous lakes of Killarney in a boat, to visit Muckross House and Ross Castle and stay in this B&B.

Room Tip: There is no traffic noise problem but the rooms at the back of the house are farther from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluenomad365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed at St. Anthony's in the off season and in a couple of ways it showed. Stale biscuits and an open, used bar of soap in the room were an indication but, given that it was the low season, we can forgive these two minor things. Apart from that the room was very comfortable.

John was a mine of information about Killarney and was very proud of the area. We took his recommendation on where to eat and we were not disappointed with Bricin. Their Killarney Boxty was outstanding. Go there and you will not be disappointed with the food or the service.

John also suggested a visit to Muckross House which we had not even considered but this turned out to be a great recommendation. We were lucky with the weather and a walk around the lake to the waterfall was well worth it.

John is also a great cook and breakfast was excellent. The breakfast room was comfortable and light and provides an opportunity to enjoy a great breakfast.

Parking was extremely tight and a few 10 point turns were needed to get the hire car in and out, but at least there was off street parking.

It was an interesting stay. Quirky, but definitely not in a bad way.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emu42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Its too far to walk to the town center but that is the only problem. The room was a good size, and quiet (it was at the back) and the bathroom and shower were very good. The breakfast was excellent, with good quality scones and bacon and egg etc. i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dominicp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K-town
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Our hosts, Mary & John Connell couldn't do enough for us. Recommended places to see, eat at, etc. Directions were perfect! The home beautifully furnished. Everything clean & polished. Beautiful, high quality wall-wall carpeting.
Lovely breakfast room & lounge as well. Lovely breakfast. Make reservations since this home is sought after, especially in summer season. We could only stay one nite since we hadn't reserved for more! :-(
A winner for sure. Drive into town is brief & there is plenty of free parking after 6PM in town center.
We would definitely return on a future visit to Killarney!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AkDenizK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Just back from a really enjoyable weekend at the Irish Open Golf 2011, made even more enjoyable by Mary and John in St. Anthonys Lodge. The B&B was both clean and tidy with an excellant breakfast and friendly atmosphere. Both Mary and John couldn't do enough for us including lifts to the park and ride each morning which were very much appreciated. Close enough to walk to and from town, whilst being nice and quiet at night. We would certainly have no hesitation in staying at St. Anthonys Lodge again. Thank you Neil and Carol County Down, N. Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndlurganville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.4 mi away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#32 of 38 in Killarney
383 reviews
0.9 mi away
Randles Hotel
Randles Hotel
#20 of 38 in Killarney
1,140 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
O'Mahony's Bed & Breakfast
O'Mahony's Bed & Breakfast
#80 of 140 in Killarney
20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crystal Springs Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Gleann Fia Country House
Gleann Fia Country House
#18 of 140 in Killarney
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Anthony's Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Anthony's Lodge B&B

Property: St. Anthony's Lodge B&B
Address: Saint Anthony's Lodge Park Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Anthony's Lodge B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Anthony's Lodge Bed and Breakfast accommodation in Killarney is a charming, family run B&B which offers true Irish Hospitality in Killarney, Ireland's most popular tourist destination in Ireland A Modern Detached B&B Killarney on the main Cork Road with four en suite rooms all offering TV., tea/coffee and hair drying facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your St. Anthony's Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing