We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“group staying at Randall's” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kayne's Bar & Bistro

Kayne's Bar & Bistro
Ranked #25 of 182 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Kayne's Bar & Bistro offers an informal and very friendly dining atmosphere, with a range of good value for money tempting menu items. There are 13 wines by the glass to choose from, plus a selection of local beers. Food is served daily in the Bar from 12.30 to 9.30pm and from 6.30 pm in the Bistro. Our staff are friendly and professional, and we value your feedback on both our food and our service.
Oak Hill, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“group staying at Randall's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

A group of us on an Ireland tour came here on the night of October 4, 2013. There were 18 or so of us and we were shown upstairs to 3 large tables. At our table half ordered the 3-course early bird special, and the rest ordered from the a la cart menu. All our dinners were excellent from the soup and salads to the main entrees (mostly salmon) to desserts. The prices were very reasonable for the quantity and quality of food. The 3-course special was 25 Euros, which we thought was more than fair. The service, with some of us arriving at different times, was amazing. Definitely a good place for a lovely Irish dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Bar-and-Bistro, Guest Relations Manager at Kayne's Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Barbara B

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your visit to Kayne's Bar & Bistro. I was delighted to learn that your group all enjoyed their meal and that they found it to be good value. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff also; the quality of our food and service is very important to us so I was pleased to read that we met, and maybe exceeded, your expectations.

We hope you have an opportunity to visit us again sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    95
    23
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Get the Carrot-Ginger Soup!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was our very first meal in Ireland, as we used Killarney as the starting point for hiking the Kerry Way (fantastic trip). There could not have been a better way to indoctrinate us to the wonderful food an people of Ireland.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Bar-and-Bistro, Guest Relations Manager at Kayne's Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear John 1

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Our Chef's homemade soups are certainly very popular. I'm pleased you enjoyed your meal and the service from our staff, and I'm also pleased you enjoyed the Kerry Way hike!

We hope you may have the opportunity to visit us again one day.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tralee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“5 star food and excellent service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

had 3 course dinner in kaynes bar with a group, as part of the Kerry Four Peaks Challenge, the minute we walked into the bar we were met with excellent service, the staff couldn't be more helpful. the food was unbelievable, and very reasonable. would definitely recommend this bar and bistro for hiking groups. good to see good Irish food with good prices.. keep up the good work..

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Bar-and-Bistro, Guest Relations Manager at Kayne's Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear kevin m

Thank you for going to the trouble of posting a review, following your recent visit to Kayne's Bar & Bistro. I was pleased to read your comments about our food, staff and prices and am delighted that you were so happy with everything.

We hope you can visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in Randle's Court Hotel in Killarney and this restaurant is just two doors away. The food was very good, much better than we had in most Irish bars. The service was friendly and attentive. We enjoyed it so much that we went back again the next night and tried different dishes which we also enjoyed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank happytravellerOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Bar-and-Bistro, Guest Relations Manager at Kayne's Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear happytravellerOn

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to Kayne's. I'm delighted that you enjoyed the food and service so much that you came back for a second night! We have great variety on our menu so it's good that you were able to try different dishes on your return visit. We always aim for a first-class service in Kayne's so I'm pleased that this was your experience on both visits.

I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again one day.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“good food and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stopped in for lunch and had the burger (12.95). Very nice burger although the fries weren't impressive. Service and decor was good and the place was very clean. Food came very quickly and would return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank caro m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The-Bar-and-Bistro, Public Relations Manager at Kayne's Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear caro m

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, following your recent visit to Kayne's Bar. I was pleased to read that you liked our bar and were impressed with the service and your Burger. We do get a lot of great comments about our Burgers. I was sorry to learn, however, that the chips weren't to your liking. We would normally receive great comments about our chips as well, so I apologise that they weren't up to your expectations on the day.

We hope you have the opportunity to return to Kayne's Bar & Bistro sometime.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayne's Bar & Bistro also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Kayne's Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing