We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended by local”
Review of The Gardens B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gardens B&B
Ranked #58 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Recommended by local”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

I was on my way to the camp ground and stopped to a travel office for a break because it was pouring down raining. The woman at the office seeing my gear asked if i was going to camp in the rain and laughed. She recommended the gardens to me. It's 3 min sidewalk stroll into town or an entrance to killarney national park. The rooms are spartan and clean and so is the en suite bathroom. Shower is a bit small but i didn't come here for a spa so it is doable - lots of hot water from the shower. Breakfast in the morning is wonderful - tea or coffee, cereal, eggs cooked your way, ham, yogurt, fresh food and home baked soda bread or white toast. Between the accommodations and breakfast this place is a better bargain than the campground. So far I've stayed 3 nights and plan on 2 more. Everyday they make your bed and bring you fresh towels. Plus I'm a female traveling alone and i totally feel safe here and the short walk to and from town.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smokin2ska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    36
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
13
39
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

what can i say this hotel was amazing the owners and staff were so friendly nothing was to much trouble the hotel was lovely really clean and the garden view was amazing the breakfast well they sure did no how to feed you up there was a good choice and was always served hot and presented lovely would we stay again yes yes yes thank you john and sandra

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This b&b was great value. It is in an excellent location in the centre of Killarney. The beds were comfortable, the breakfast generous and tasty and our hosts were friendly and helpful. I would thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Patsy98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night in August and the B&B was perfect for what we were looking for. It was a very short walk from the center of Killarney but still felt like we were out in the country. The rooms had their own entrance and exit and the breakfast was fantastic, a true Irish fry up, lovely brown bed and a pot of tea that you could almost swim in, just perfect! The only downside was the shower, it was grand for what we needed but it was a little weak. Over all we loved the Gardens B&B, the owners we so kind and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PondLeaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here to attend a wedding in the town. The room was very comfortable (although did smell a little of damp), the staff extremely friendly, the breakfast was very tasty and the location was very close to the centre of the town and it was easy to find.
We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend!

Room Tip: Wifi seems to be better closer to the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrenepMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights. The accommodation was great, more like a motel than an B & B (much nicer than I had anticipated). Breakfast was generous and delicious, and the staff were absolutely wonderful. They even gave me a lift to the train station when I left! So friendly and helpful. Great central location too. Highly recommended - I would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelledJune2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I had one of the best days of my life here: woke up in a calm, cozy room with a blue-sky, mountain view outside; grabbed an all-included Irish breakfast downstairs with the kind staff; took a <2 minute jog to get to the national park where you can see epic castle and mountain views; skyped with your friends over lunch b/c the connection actually works in the room (rare in Ireland); hired a bike for an afternoon ride along the Kerry trails to Muckross House and the gorgeous setting there; grabbed some local baked goods; then, watched the sun set over vantage point off the mission road jogging trails; then come back at dusk which is perfectly safe in killarney. So, overall, a comfortable, low-key hotel that's perfectly positioned for light outdoor activities.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is probably better than the 1st if you can swing it: doors open from the inside of the hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaspard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.3 mi away
Murphy's Guesthouse
Murphy's Guesthouse
#32 of 140 in Killarney
259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Windway House
Windway House
#14 of 140 in Killarney
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#30 of 140 in Killarney
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Castlelodge Guesthouse
Castlelodge Guesthouse
#79 of 140 in Killarney
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Cherry Tree
The Cherry Tree
#109 of 140 in Killarney
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardens B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens B&B

Property: The Gardens B&B
Address: The Gardens Countess Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gardens B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Gardens B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing