We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wayside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wayside
Ranked #57 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
Leitrim, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

A really enjoyable stay , great location especially if climbing in the area, greeted by tea and scones after a very wet climb, facilities to dry out wet gear , really great welcome & owners could not do enough to accommodate us including driving us to the pub! Highly recommend & will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    5
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
30
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Navan, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Wayside for 2 nights while attending a wedding locally. It was one of the nicest accommodation experiences I have ever had. I can honestly say the Ritz couldn't have provided a more comfortable, hospitable experience. The owner Theresa was so genuinely welcoming and kind. Her husband drove us personally into Kilarney when we were going to meet out train and was such a gentleman. The setting was stunning and so peaceful. I could go on... Better than any hotel and I look forward to returning and spending more time it this ... Little Bit of Heave :)

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank heavenlyadventures4b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Wayside was a fantastic B+B, so welcoming and warm. I was meeting up with Family from all over the world for a mini "Gathering" 2013 and I was glad I we picked the Wayside to stay in. Clean, Good Food and Teresa was a fantastic hostess! :) Anyone could see this is the "Best in the Gap"

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Whilst passing through in June I stayed here with my partner. So quiet and peaceful and the surrounding area was so beautiful. We were made feel very welcome and I enjoyed one of the nicest sleeps of my life! Lovely Irish breakfast the next morning to set us up for the day. I would recommend this b&b to anyone planning a visit to dunloe. Bliss.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briancos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Hidden gem. Perfect location for exploring the gap of Dunloe. I stayed here with my fiance for 1 night 2 weeks ago. We decided last minute to go on a weekend away. Had nothing booked. We just called in off the road to see if they had a room and you would nearly think the owner was expecting us. She was so warm and welcoming. Super value and perfect room. Very clean. She made us a cup of tea and offered some advice on whats around to go explore. The bed was so comfortable, i had one of the best nights sleeps, it was so quiet. Perfect countryside retreat. She makes a fantastic breakfast too. So much choice, she had fresh bread made, fruits, cereals, fry up and even more to offer. Would recommend a visit here. Very well run.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Wayside was not welcoming. It seems we were an imposition to our hostess. The room was sufficient for our needs but we did not want to stay another night. The scenery of the area is wonderful and this is a great location for day trips into the Ring of Kerry and Killarney. Kate's cottage is just down the road and that is also worth the visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovelykittyCanada, Owner at Wayside, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Erin,

We thank you for your feedback on our B & B. We are deeply disappointed you left us feeling as you did as we strive to provide the warmest of welcomes to our guests who are visiting our beautiful Gap of Dunloe. Sending you our apologies and hoping it doesnt prevent you from visiting Kilarney in the future.

Thank you again for providing us with your valuable feedback,

Theresa Ferris
Wayside B&B Proprietor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Fantastic B&B in a stunning location. Really kind and friendly hostess who provides an excellent breakfast and as much help and advice as required. Modern and clean rooms. Overall excellent value. Will be returning on my next visit to Ireland. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 mi away
The Dunloe
The Dunloe
#1 of 1 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 39 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Invicta
The Invicta
#42 of 145 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Douglasha House
Douglasha House
#1 of 4 in Fossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dunloe View Hostel
Dunloe View Hostel
#1 of 2 in Fossa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inveraray Farm Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside

Property: Wayside
Address: Gap of Dunloe, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Wayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing