We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem.”
Review of Wayside B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wayside B&B
Ranked #79 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Whilst passing through in June I stayed here with my partner. So quiet and peaceful and the surrounding area was so beautiful. We were made feel very welcome and I enjoyed one of the nicest sleeps of my life! Lovely Irish breakfast the next morning to set us up for the day. I would recommend this b&b to anyone planning a visit to dunloe. Bliss.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briancos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 60 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

Hidden gem. Perfect location for exploring the gap of Dunloe. I stayed here with my fiance for 1 night 2 weeks ago. We decided last minute to go on a weekend away. Had nothing booked. We just called in off the road to see if they had a room and you would nearly think the owner was expecting us. She was so warm and welcoming. Super value and perfect room. Very clean. She made us a cup of tea and offered some advice on whats around to go explore. The bed was so comfortable, i had one of the best nights sleeps, it was so quiet. Perfect countryside retreat. She makes a fantastic breakfast too. So much choice, she had fresh bread made, fruits, cereals, fry up and even more to offer. Would recommend a visit here. Very well run.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Wayside was not welcoming. It seems we were an imposition to our hostess. The room was sufficient for our needs but we did not want to stay another night. The scenery of the area is wonderful and this is a great location for day trips into the Ring of Kerry and Killarney. Kate's cottage is just down the road and that is also worth the visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovelykittyCanada, Owner at Wayside B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Erin,

We thank you for your feedback on our B & B. We are deeply disappointed you left us feeling as you did as we strive to provide the warmest of welcomes to our guests who are visiting our beautiful Gap of Dunloe. Sending you our apologies and hoping it doesnt prevent you from visiting Kilarney in the future.

Thank you again for providing us with your valuable feedback,

Theresa Ferris
Wayside B&B Proprietor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Fantastic B&B in a stunning location. Really kind and friendly hostess who provides an excellent breakfast and as much help and advice as required. Modern and clean rooms. Overall excellent value. Will be returning on my next visit to Ireland. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Me and my Dad stayed here over the past couple of days. The hospitality there was unmatched, upon entry we were offered a variety of useful information to help us with ideas on what to do with our holiday, they are very friendly people. The room was great, had a tv and a sink, equipped with a large wardrobe, I had a lovely sleep there. One of the best things about this place was the location, it was close to the town of Kilarney and the gap of Dunloe, which provides excellent scenery if you are to travel it. Another place which I would highly recommend visiting is Kate Kearney's Cottage, a pub/restaurant with an amazing atmosphere (with live music every night) it is just before the gap of Dunloe, down the road from the B&B (with lots of parking available). The breakfast here was lovely, I had a full Irish breakfast each day, there is cereal available if you want it and a variety of bread. Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and recommend you visit:)

Room Tip: All rooms should be fine, ensuite is available if you like, but the shared bathroom is fine. There i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dylandcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here recently as we were attending a wedding in the nearby Dunloe Castle Hotel. This bnb is within walking distance of the hotel so I would highly recommend it to anyone attending a function there. It is very reasonably priced and we were packed to the gills after the breakfast! Most importantly, the lady of the house was very welcoming of us on arrival, offering tea and some home baking-very much appreciated. This is a clean and well kept bnb in a great location!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barnie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Very good location for exploring the Gap of Dunloe and Macgillicuddy Reeks. About a 2 minute drive to Kate Kearny's, the start of the Gap of Dunloe. About a 5 minute drive to trail for Carrauntoohil, highest peak in Ireland. Good value for money (30 pps), the breakfast alone was worth at least 15-20 euros. Rooms and amenities were good. A nice friendly, family home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amp0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
600 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inveraray Farm Guesthouse
5.8 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside B&B

Address: Gap of Dunloe, Killarney V93 XK6C, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: $59 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful family home very near the Gap of Dunloe and Kate Kearneys Cottage, famous for its food and nightly entertainment throughout the summer. This is an ideal location for touring Dingle, The Ring of Kerry, Killarney and the Beara Peninsula. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing