We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafood”

Gaby's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 186 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
152 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Our tour manager suggested Gaby's for good seafood and she was 100% correct. We called and made a reservation - on a weekday night the restaurant was mostly full. Had a drink at the bar before heading to the table. Had a fun conversation with the bartender about the selection of Irish whiskeys and learned about Dingle gin - which we found at Duty Free at the airport on the way home (and purchased). Dinner was very good with very nice service. We all ordered seafood and had delicious fish perfectly cooked. Dessert was very good too - a meringue with strawberries as well as a chocolate ganache "pie". Very leisurely, enjoyable meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 29Lorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    79
    41
    14
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Seafood Restaurant ?”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Tried to dine here on Wednesday evening but failed miserably!. As we had eaten here years ago we were looking forward to a trip down memory lane but it was not to be. In the window menu we were delighted to see lobster and prawns so we entered with anticipation. It was only after we had settled with our G and T's that we discovered neither was actually available. We were told it was too early in the season for lobster even though all the nearby restaurants seemed to have a plentiful supply. Very disappointed but still optimistic my partner decided to have the black sole and I the fillet steak. Low and behold before we spoke our order out the black sole was pulled from the menu. The only black sole available was the larger one at 48 euros per portion! Ok so now we're thinking "is this personal?" We had had enough.... a seafood restaurant with no seafood!... We repaired up the road to The Smokehouse where we had a lovely meal and decided we would never go back to Gaby's.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank realdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely refreshing and delightful”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Yes really lovely seafoods available in this restaurant. I likes the service too and the whole place was nice and clean and neat. I would go again and again as I really did in fact enjoy the experience ever so much. 5 stars.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon-Savers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Very nice seafood chowder. The food was good and the service attentive,

If anything this place is a little tired and either needs a new manager or a serious refurb. Everything is clean and presentable and comfortable, but I got the feeling that not much has changed in 20 years.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RNS1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Dated - but good ! ”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Decor is of a different age - needs a make over for sure. Certs and awards - of which there are many - seem to be all about the owner or chef as opposed to the restaurant ! However the place is warm and welcoming. On the night, choices were quite limited but in fairness the freshness, flavour and presentation were great. They know their seafood for sure. It's not cheap and the wine list is on the pricey end for the choice offered. All in all it wasn't an unpleasant experience - but standards have moved on with the times and we wouldn't be rushing back.

Helpful?
Thank Palmyra14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaby's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Gaby's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing