We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top rate service!”
Review of Carranross House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carranross House
Ranked #52 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I stayed here with my mom for a weekend in Killarney, and we had a ball. Mary was super sweet and went out of her way to help us enjoy our stay. She even took photos for us when my mom and I went kayaking in the park, and emailed them to us. The location was nice- a pretty easy walk in to town but far enough out to be quiet and peaceful. We slept great! I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CortneyCopeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 105 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

Carranross House was one of my favourite B&B's in Ireland. It ticks all the boxes, location, comfort and hospitality! The room we had was massive and was extremely clean and even had a bath. This is the perfect base for exploring the ring of Kerry and Killarney town centre, as it is only a 15 minute stroll into town. Mary was a great host who was able to provide a great deal of information about the local area. Make sure you stay here, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Nice welcome and lots of informations on tourist attractions from a former tour guide. Large room and ensuite bathroom very tidy. Close to shops ( outlet center, M&S, Tesco and center of town). Copius and varied breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We have just passed 3 days at Mary. Rooms are spacious as well as the bathroom. Mary perfectly speaks French and she advises(recommends) very well on the visits to make. She is really very sympatique.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marieTin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

From booking on-line the whole experience was good. Mary was helpful throughout. the house is lovely well situated for all Killarney has to offer. Our rooms were well decorated clean and comfortable with modern well equipped bathrooms. Mary met as from the airport, gave as a tour of Killarney, a lift into town one day and a lift to the Cathedral where we were attending a wedding another day and finally she took as back to the airport when we left, all at no extra cost. We were asked what time we would like breakfast, which was well cooked. Our whole stay was delightful and we are both planning to return in the future. I have already recommended Carranross to others. Mary thank you for a lovely stay,

Room Tip: Tell Mary exactly what you require.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sina20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Mary and Eva received us warmly into their home. The room was very attractive with all the amenities one needs. Mary generously gave us a ride in the pouring rain to the concert we were attending in Killarney. The breakfast was delicious, hot and fresh! The access to the main highway is to Shannon is excellent making it a nice place to stop before heading back to the States.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ksundbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryGOS, Owner at Carranross House, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
3 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
The Dunloe
The Dunloe
#1 of 1 in Beaufort
707 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,495 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 38 in Killarney
2,385 reviews
0.7 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carranross House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carranross House

Address: Carranross House 65 Park Drive, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: $113 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carranross House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carranross House is ideally located in a residential area within a 10 minute walk of the Killarney bus/train station, Killarney National Park and the town centre. Mary at Carranross Is a certified tour guide and operates a walking tour daily of the the town and park in both English and French. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Carranross House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing