We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service could be friendlier” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caragh Restaurant

Caragh Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 182 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Service could be friendlier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Started off on the wrong foot literally as I ran over one of the waitresses new shoes with my mobility scooter and friendliness did not improve much for a service job. The restaurant was a decent size and just off main street and had the normal all Irish menu with all local foods. I had the lamb shank which I found kind of bland..;not much lamb taste but the vegetables were fresh and delicious. My friend had the shepherd pie and could not tell if it was lamb or beef (it was all beef) but he liked it. Prices were not exorbitant...the normal 15-20 euros for lunch with a soup. Worth a visit but don't run over the server's shoes!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iuvenis2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    122
    30
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“great food & service in Killarney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Wandering through the neighbourhood near our hotel, we happened upon the Caragh restaurant. The menu looked great and there were several specials posted – including 2-course fixed-price meals and chef’s specials. The restaurant was empty when we first saw it, but when we returned an hour later to have dinner, it was packed. Fortunately, We didn’t have a long wait, and it was worth it. (don’t be put off by the entrance – there’s a sign asking you to wait in the vestibule until they open the door to let you in – there isn’t much space in the restaurant, so they don’t want people blocking the entrance) Food was excellent – good-sized portions, nicely presented and very tasty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank honeybee1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterboro, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Busy Place- Locals Too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Excellent food and service. We went for dinner and it was so busy that we were directed to the overflow area in the upstairs. We were very confident that we would have a great meal as there were a good deal of locals eating at the restaurant! We were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and attentive. Prices were really good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great food wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

The best value in Killarney. Great food better than some top restaurants. The fish was wonderful The staff were attentive and very friendly Best for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank markwOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rocky hill, CT USA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A local gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

This unpretentious place recommended by locals is one of the best values and meals in Killarney. We have dined here every time we are in Killarney, and have never been disappointed. Plain, good home cooking at super prices, friendly efficient service, always a selection of fresh local specials. The Irish stew is as traditional as you can get, and is my "benchmark" when I make it at home. Skip the over priced tourist traps like the Flesk, and eat here. it is perfect for families, too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caragh Restaurant also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Caragh Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing