We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple yet charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Killarney View House
Ranked #132 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simple yet charming”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I visited this guest house during July 2013. I found the staff to be quite friendly and very helpful. The rooms themselves were functional and quite old fashioned but very clean. The room also had a fine view of the river that flows by the town which was a plus. A similar view was visible from a common room available to guests to sit down and relax. Again the room was quite old fashioned but at the same time fitting it's purpose well.

The breakfast wasn't the best full Irish I've had in my life but I wouldn't expect it to be. It was tasty but for the price of our stay; one couldn't complain. The staff had no issue providing additional bread and toast etc.

All in all a good place to stay if you are staying in Killarney on a budget or paying a more functional visit. Probably not my idea of the place for a romantic weekend away but then again, you'll pay significantly more for that in Killarney. A fine guest house. I'll be back,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrmanire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P G, Owner at Killarney View House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your overall lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and I will ensure all our staff are aware of your lovely comments.
We do hope to see you back again soon.
Yours sincerely
Mary Guerin
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    35
    23
    29
    44
See reviews for
53
63
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I travelled with my mom and sister, and we had a great experience. The staff were incredibly welcoming and friendly. The view was great and the common areas clean and relaxed. Our room was a bit small, but overall we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Hilly0613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P G, Owner at Killarney View House, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Wow, to be described as you have described us really is wonderful. We are so delighted you and your family had such a good stay with us and thank you for sharing your views with others. We do hope you will be back again soon and we look forward to seeing you then.
Yours sincerely
Mary Guerin
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nenagh
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I will start with positives :location is great, nice view ,comfortable lounge .
Negatives:
We were in town quite early that day, so I rang if it was possible to book in earlier than 2 pm. Was told maybe 1 pm is ok. Arrived 1.40,,had to wait 15 min.
Bedroom for a family was claustrophobic and you couldn't move.2 double beds and a single with very limited space between. furniture like from museum, bathroom was clean ,but again very dated,
The following morning : Breakfast we had to wait to be seated again 10-15 min, there was no menu ,just was asked what do you want. When it came to payment neither cheque nor laser was accepted ,even they take your visa nr over the phone. So I had to go to ATM .Never again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rustyNenagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P G, Owner at Killarney View House, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Our check-in time is 2pm, as you said in your review we did try to accommodate you with an early check-in and said maybe your room might be ready. You were able to check in to your room at the correct check-in time of 2pm. I regret you did not like your room, we are a Guesthouse, not a hotel, we have not had a complaint yet about our spacious family rooms as they are such good value for money. Our bedrooms have recently been refurbished, I cannot see anything wrong with the photos you have uploaded. We have upgraded all our duvets & bed linen just last month.

I also wish to assure you that for a Guesthouse, we offer a very superior breakfast service, with home baked scones and bread, yoghurts, fresh fruit, selection of juices, cold meats, cheeses selection of cereals and all our hot food is cooked to order, everything is laid out in a buffet style besides the hot food as it is cooked to order so that it is as fresh as possible for our guests.

In regards to payment I have been advised that you got quite angry with staff as they would not accept a check as a method of payment. Most places do not accept check and nowhere on our website or anywhere else do we advertise that we accept check or card.

I would suggest that you may be more suited to staying in a 5 star hotel on your next trip to Killarney rather than a Guesthouse so that you will be provided with all the facilities you wish to have.

Kind Regards,
Mary
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Killarney hotels

vancouver bc
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great hearty breakfast, lovely hostess, comfortable common sitting room overlooking the river. Unlike GuyFromPasadena - we had no problems with WiFi.

Location is okay. It's not far enough to drive in to town and too far to walk (I'd rather save energy to walk THE town, not, walk TO town along a busy road).

The room for 3 was the smallest we experienced during our 3 week trip. Standard 12x12 with an ensuite added to the corner. Your backside will be in the bedroom when you brush your teeth/wash your face. I would rather have a shared bath down the hallway for a little more space.

Also, our room was located next to the dining (breakfast) room with the kitchen across the hallway. Be prepared for the heavy scent of grease - eggs, bacon, ham, black/white pudding being fried up first thing.

The negatives outnumbered the positives. Given that we were on hotel row, I would try another place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deedee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P G, Owner at Killarney View House, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay with us at Killarney View House. Firstly thank you for pointing out all the aspects of our Guesthouse that you enjoyed.

I am disappointed to read your comments. I have investigated the points you have raised in your review and I have been informed that you never made a member of staff aware that you were unhappy with the room you were allocated. If we knew you were unsatisfied with your room, you could have been relocated to another bedroom.

I regret you felt your stay was a disappointment as our staff and management that you spoke to during your stay did their utmost to ensure your needs were met. Thank you again for your feedback.

Yours sincerely,
Mary Guerin
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a lovely apartment with beautiful views of the river. Two bedrooms and a full kitchen. The decor was quite nice and the breakfast was hearty. The lounge was comfortable, with refreshments available. The walk into town was just 10 minutes away, and you were just far enough to avoid the busy traffic and possibly rowdy nights. Ample parking was in back. The bathroom in that large apartment was large, though the shower could be updated.

Our only gripe was that the wifi signal was simply non-existent in the room. We had to sit in one corner of the lounge to get a weak, spotty signal. There was no signal in the breakfast room. We fully searched for and thus expected a facility with wifi and our multi-night stay was marred by the limited internet.

Ignoring this frustration, we loved the room.

Room Tip: The large two-bedroom apartment was fabulous but had no internet whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuyFromPasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P G, Owner at Killarney View House, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Kieran,
We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Killarney View House. Thank you for your lovely review.
We do provide complimentary WiFi in all areas of the Guesthouse including our apartment. I will look into this to ensure it is working in all areas as we had not been aware of otherwise.
I am delighted you enjoyed our decor and everything we have to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back with us at Killarney View House.
Yours sincerely,
Mary Guerin
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2013

On arrival we were greeted by foina who literally fell over us by overing us tea and scores guest sitting was outstanding with views of the river kathleen who took over at night was so welcoming breakfast inthe morning was fanatic highly recommend to all will definitely be back

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coran2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P G, Owner at Killarney View House, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your description that Killarney View House is a "Home away from home". We work hard at ensuring all our guests receive the highest possible standard of service and I am delighted that this was you experience.
We look forward to see you back again in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Mary Guerin
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We spent one night in the Killarney View House, a month ago. We’ve booked for 2 persons including one person with a wheelchair. The site on which we have booked stated that there were facilities for wheelchairs. We were surprised to find at the arrival that the B&B was not at all accessible! So, my friend had to climb the stairs to reach our room.

The two ladies who greeted us were very sorry about the situation, knowing that their own website never mentioned the establishment was accessible for wheelchairs. Fortunately, they helped us a lot. They were so embarrassed about the situation they gave us the night in the B&B for free. Wow! They were soooo nice with us! We’ll never forget our stay at the Killarney View House! :-)

Nevertheless, we hope that the situation won't happen again with other people with disabilities. We all trusted booking sites. The least thing would be to check their data before putting them online.

B & B very warm, caring with clients, welcoming fire (especially with the Irish weather!), hearty and delicious breakfast! We would definitely go back! Even though the place is not accessible for wheelchairs ;-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xfromparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P G, Owner at Killarney View House, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Can’t thank you enough for this extremely positive review… Its such a pleasure to learn that besides Killarney View House not being wheelchair accessible, you really enjoyed every aspect of your recent break. I love the mention about the staff and how professional & welcoming they are. This will be shared with all the team and will bring great satisfaction to everyone.

It’s great to hear you experienced all the facilities we have to offer and more so that you enjoyed yourself to the full…

Don’t leave it too long to return and once again we are very grateful for your review.

Kind Regards
Mary Guerin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.3 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#12 of 38 in Killarney
741 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#24 of 38 in Killarney
488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#8 of 140 in Killarney
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crystal Springs Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#33 of 140 in Killarney
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fuchsia Guest House
Fuchsia Guest House
#23 of 140 in Killarney
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney View House

Property: Killarney View House
Address: Killarney View House Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Killarney View House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the banks of the River Flesk, Killarney View House is a family run Bed & Breakfast. All rooms are ensuite with TV and stunning views of the river and surrounding mountains. Located on the Muckross Road, only 6 minute walk from Killarney Town centre and adjecent to the renowned Killarney National Park.The Guest Lounge, overlooking the river with open fire, is the ideal place to relax after a day of site seeing around the scenic beauty spotsof Kerry, or catch some sun while siting out on the veranda and admiring the panoramic views of the river & mountains. Private Parking on site and spacious family rooms also available.Located only minutes walk from the INEC, The Brehon & The Gleneagle Hotel, Killarney View House is the ideal place to stay for your visit to Killarney no matter what the occassion.A warm welcome & friendly service awaits you at Killarney View House.- Nestled on the banks of the River Flesk- All rooms ensuite with TV- Broadband available all over the house- Private Guest parking- Guest Lounge with open fire- 6 min. walk to Killarney Town- Opposite Killarney National Park- Spacious Family Rooms available- Sat Nav Co ordinates Lat. N52\'02.836 Long. W 009\' 30.37 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Killarney View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing