We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful choice!”
Review of Larkinley Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Larkinley Lodge
Ranked #2 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful choice!”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My son and I stayed here for one night and wish it could have been longer. We had stayed in hotels for several previous nights and felt we had arrived home when Toni greeted us! The house and rooms are beautifully appointed. The house is in a quiet part of town but only a few blocks from the center of town with numerous shops and restaurants. Access to the roads to the Ring of Kerry and the National Park is easy. There is a small space for parking that holds 4 smaller cars. We parked on the side street without any problems. Breakfast is in a lovely dining room and was delicious. Toni is a superb hostess. I highly recommend staying here. You will love it as much as we did.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaB536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    36
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
171
489
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Hard to believe you cannot find a more perfect hostess who admits "she loves to clean". Modern bath and super comfortable and immaculately clean accommodation. Toni even made reservations at Chapter Forty for a very special birthday dinner. It was one of our best meals ever. Choice breakfast and only a 5 minute walk to town. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Masparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

A fabulous B&B in a fabulous location in a fabulous town, made all the better by the fabulous hosts Toni and Danny. We stayed 5 nights at the beginning of June and wished it could have been more. From the spotlessly clean and very spacous rooms with great bathrooms (huge walk in showers, which was perfect for Dad who is 85) to the excellent breakfasts (pancakes a must!); we were really made to feel at home by Toni who is probably your perfect B&B host. Nothing is too much trouble and Toni makes what is a very difficult job look easy with her engaging personality and attention to her guests. We felt like we'd left one of the family behind when we departed. I cannot see how anyone can be dissappointed if you stay at Larkinley and there's so much to do in Killarney and the surrounding area. The Gap of Dunloe a must and the Bircin Restaurant wonderful. (Toni will book these for you too). We hope to return to Larkinley sooner rather than later. Ann, Steven and Dad, Wickford, England.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevenmadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and we were very pleased with everything. Toni is a very gracious host who enjoys her job immensely. The B&B was immaculate and just a short walk into town. Toni recommended two great restaurants: Bircin and Chapter 40. Toni helped us with a booking for the Gap of Dunloe which we highly recommend. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would like to thank Toni for all of her assistance. It was a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thunder1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
149 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We recently completed a 3 week vacation during which we drove around the entire island of Ireland. Over 20 nights we stayed in 18 different Bed & Breakfasts, paying between €50 to €80, and £60 to £65 in Northern Island. This review is based upon the relative merits of Larkinely with respect to others that we visited.
Of the eighteen B&Bs we visited, I awarded a perfect 5 stars to only five of them, and Larkinely was one those five. Everything impressed me – the room was modern and big, the food was excellent, the host was super helpful – it was clear that the proprietor has a lot of pride in running Larkinely. We stayed here two nights because there is a lot to see in Killarney National Park (Larkinely is an anagram of Killarney). There is an amazing number of options for staying when in Killarney, but take my advice and make an early reservation for Larkinely – your stay will be a memorable and pleasant one.
You can easily walk into the thriving tourist mecca of Killarney – there are dozens of food and shopping options within easy walking distance. Don’t drive – there is no where to park in Killarney during tourist season.
We paid €80 for each night of our stay, which was at the top end of the prices we paid in Ireland, but Larkinely was one of the top places we stayed at, so it was money well spent.
The parking lot for Larkinely is bit tricky, there is a smallish lot in front of the building that exits onto a relatively busy street. However, there is a small lot off of O’Sullivan’s place about 100 yards away, and it is very easy to park your rental car there – the lot is free after 6:00 PM. I appreciate easy parking!
Payment was requested in cash; apparently the phone companies in Ireland charge an exorbitant fee to maintain a phone-line for processing credit card transactions.
Larkinely an excellent experience for us, I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Enyedy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

With a great location, parking and top class amenities, you would think it could not be bettered. But add Toni and Danny and you are in heaven in Killarney. From the moment you entered Larkinley to the moment you leave, you are treated to the best. Toni is a mine of travel advice on where are the best places to eat, where to find traditional irish music and locations to visit. The breakfast menu is extensive and cooked to perfection. Thanks to Toni and Danny we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awalsc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Larkinley is a lovely, modern, extremely clean B&B. It is in the perfect location to explore Killarney and to begin the Ring Of Kerry route. We were a group of 4 and had an extremely pleasant stay. Toni, the hostess, is wonderful! She gave us great travel advice and recommendations for dinner, drinking and traditional irish music in town. Our stay was very pleasant thanks to her. Breakfast was also amazing. I recommend the potato waffles.

This is by far the best B&B we have ever stayed at. Thanks again Toni!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gelsys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.3 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
887 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,354 reviews
2.9 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
1.1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,163 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larkinley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larkinley Lodge

Property: Larkinley Lodge
Address: Larkinley Lodge 2 Lower Lewis Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Larkinley Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing