We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B of our trip!!!”
Review of The Harp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Harp
Ranked #57 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Joan welcomed us right in, even though we arrived a little on the late side (after 7:00). She put on a pot of tea for us, gave us some suggestions for the area and showed us to our beautiful room. Everything has clearly been updated in the house as the bathrooms were impeccable (such pretty tile I took a photo to try to find it at home!) and the beds were beyond comfortable. Her breakfasts were delicious...full Irish if you desire and if you want something lighter, she'll make you delicious scrambled eggs to have with fresh fruit, yogurt & cereal. The muffins and brown bread were the best we tasted the entire trip! When we went to drive around the Ring of Kerry, she gave us suggestions on places to visit that were off the beaten path and were one of our favorite things to see. Wouldn't think twice about recommending this B&B to a friend and would stay here again in a heartbeat! Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelmhanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 96 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2011

my wife and i would like to say a big thankyou to joan and erika for the verry warm welcome we recieved when we arrived at your door for our 2 nite stay at ur b&b it was our 1st time we liked it so much we have booked for june 2012 our room was lovely clean &fresh the bed was comfy the breakfast was great we were spoiled for choice #we highly recommend the HARP B & B joan is a wonderfull friendly host thankyou again for making our stay so special

Room Tip: our room was at the rear nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnjardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

The hostess was welcoming and friendly. We enjoyed a large, clean room with a modern bathroom en suite, and an excellent "full Irish" breakfast--the best breakfast of our trip. The B&B is located in a quiet neighborhood, a short drive into the town of Killarney, and the price was reasonable. We HIGHLY RECOMMEND this B&B!!

Donna and Tom

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at 6 different B&Bs while traveling in Ireland and Scotland and Joan's breakfasts were the best. She was very helpful in advising us. The location was close enough to the center of Killarney to walk.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockyLady2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Very friendly Family (especially with the kids) and number 1 Breakfast. Very close to Killarney town centre and many amenities. We will go back there again and recommend it to our friends. Thanks Joan and Erika!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckdandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Great Location
Hostess was very accommodating and recommended a gret pub
Has a nice sitting room to meet other guests

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingTeacher2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

I feel genuinely bad about this review, because the host was incredibly kind. However, not only was the room small, but very unsanitary. Our sheets reeked of sweat and the room was crawling with bugs. We understand it could be possible that a hiker went to bed without showering, but the bed was still unpleasant to say the least. If you are much more of an outdoors person that doesn't mind going to bed dirty this might be okay, given it is walking distance to the to Killarney National Park. The place was very cheap, but I would have rather slept in a room that did not have such a foul smell. Again, I feel bad for this review since Joan was so friendly, but our stay was unpleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HawkeyeCubs34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHarpKillarney, Owner at The Harp, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

This is your host Joan McCarthy from The Harp. I am shocked and appauled about this review. As you have already seen, I have no other bad report, of any sort. I find it extrememely hard to believe that there was BUGS in your room. However if this was the case then why did you not inform me at the time ? I would expect nobody to stay in a room with bugs or dirty bed linen.
I've been in the business 13 years and each day I try to make each guests stay as perfect as possible. I, personally go to great extremes to wash and iron each item of bedding daily, therefore the smell of sweat would be impossible to exsist.
I hope your stay in 'The Harp' had some positive aspects.
I thank TripAdvisor for giving me this opportunity to reply to this review. I would also like to thank all our other reviewers/guests who have experienced our warm hospitality throughout the years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.5 mi away
Cillcearn House
Cillcearn House
#49 of 143 in Killarney
73 reviews
5.6 mi away
Inveraray Farm Guesthouse
0.9 mi away
Killaran House
Killaran House
#9 of 143 in Killarney
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
600 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harp

Address: The Harp Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: $86 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Harp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing