We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just lovely!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copper Kettle B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Copper Kettle B&B
Ranked #96 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
Salzburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

The rooms were so nice, we got a 3-bed for a double room. The location of the B&B is nearly next to the Fairview Hotel, where the "delicious" breakfast is served! The Staff is very friendly and we got a really warm welcome, and help when it was needed.
Oposite Street is a Pizza-Take-away and just a few steps away you are in the centre of pub-scene & shopping! Parking is not next to the B&B, but about 200metres away, you are free to park there at night, but for using it during the day you have to pay 3 Eur/day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdeisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Owner at Copper Kettle B&B, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
hi mdeisl,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Copper Kettle and letting us know how great you found your accommodation. Its great to know that you found the breakfast at the Fairview delicious as so many people do and we have spend some time this year improving our offerings. The Copper Kettle is very close to the town center and the parking is opposite the front door (no more than 20 meters) or if you are early we provide two spaces at the Copper Kettle itself. We are just a short stroll from shopping, restaurants and pubs. Really, an ideal location.

If you come back to Killarney you can be sure you will have a warm welcome at the Copper Kettle.

kind regards

Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    7
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Copper Kettle is part of the Fairview guest house, located 60 m apart. We had two rooms, one of them was so tiny we could hardly stand next to our bed and not stand in the also super-tiny bathroom and there was no space for the luggage at all (for a more spacious room we would have been asked to pay a supplement). On our round-trip in Ireland we've gotten much more space and designer-rooms with view to a park for the same money, but to be fair, the breakfast at the Fairview was really good, pancakes, fried fish or eggs were served in no time... Staff serving breakfast was also very attentive and do a great job!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicol090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Manager at Copper Kettle B&B, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
HiNicol090,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Copper Kettle. This is a smaller property than our sister property the Fairview and is a bed and breakfast so the bedrooms here are normal home size rooms. We find that most of our guests choose it for its bijou quality and quietness.
As you rightly mention, the breakfast at the Fairview is superb and guests may choose from a Continental breakfast or an A la Carte breakfast. We are delighted you enjoyed it. Our staff are very professional yet friendly and their contribution to the overall experience of our guests is very much appreciated.

kind regards

Bart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Loved the decor and room furnishing and fittings was top notch!!! We got free upgrade to master suite without asking. Room and bathroom spotlessly clean. Free wifi and parking convenient. Wonderful breakfast with kind service even though they were busy (they even had ice tea ready for my mother every morning). Service was great. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlbhod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Owner at Copper Kettle B&B, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hi JennyB
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Copper Kettle. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff are the mainstay of our property and we appreciate you mentioning them in such a positive light especially their service. The furnishings in the Copper Kettle are of a very high standard and in the Master Bedroom there is the added bonus of the Jacuzzi bath. Its great that you loved this.
When next you are in Killarney you can be sure of a warm welcome

kind regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

James, the propietor, was extremelly friendly and helpful in our needs. Whilst we had a minor incident on route to Killarney James showed genuie concern and offered us breakfast and free parking to ensure that our minor incident didn't ruin our stay. I will definitely be booking the Copper Kettle or its main guesthouse, the Fairview, on my next trip to Killarney:
James, if you are reading this, a big thank you yet again, Martina (Dublin)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MartinaEDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Owner at Copper Kettle B&B, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hi MartinaEDublin,

Thank you for your review of your stay at the Copper Kettle. I am so pleased everything worked out for you as I was quite worried about you when you arrived. However, you did settle in well and I was happy that you found the Copper Kettle so suitable to your needs.

If you return to Killarney I would be delighted to welcome you back to either the Copper Kettle or the Fairview

kind regards


James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2009

I was originally booked into Rosslands (a sister property of the Copper Kettle) with my husband and 1.5 year old son. The day that we were to check in, my son was sick - he was quite distressed and I wanted nothing more than to check in so he could rest. When we made the booking, we were told that we would need to check in to its sister property in the middle of town, the Fairview. I arrived at the Fairview after 2pm but was told that I could not check in until 3:30pm. I explained that my son was sick and could they please make an exception. The staff member refused and became quite rude and obnoxious. I asked if I could possibly get the key now so I wouldn't have to drive back in to town to collect it. I assured them that I would not check in until 3:30pm - I just wanted the key so I didn't have to drag my son around. Again they refused and were extremely rude. At 3:30pm I drove back into town to get my key. By that time my son was very upset, and the owners offered for us to stay in another of their properties that was closer to the Fairview, the Copper Kettle. Whilst I appreciated the gesture, the staff were incredibly pretentious and rude and the way the 3 sister properties are managed is ridiculous. There is no where to park at the Copper Kettle so you have to park in a parking lot down the road. You have to walk down the road to the Fairview to check-in or have the breakfast included in the room price. At the Copper Kettle, if you need some kind of assistance, you press the bell or ring by phone and someone from the Fairview will run down the road to assist you. What a ridiculous set-up. I waited around for quite a while the next morning for someone to show up so I could simply check out. Whilst the Copper Kettle rooms are clean and comfortable, the way the 3 sister properties operate is a joke, and the staff are awful. Don't put yourself to the trouble of staying at the Copper Kettle - it's not worth it!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimONeill, Owner at Copper Kettle B&B, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Hi tambe,

How dreadful to get a review like this when the original booking was not with us and we were only trying to assist. Let us get the story straight
You arrived mid morning and it was too early for check-in at the Rosslands. We offered you a seat in the lounge and coffee. However, your son was ill and we suggested that perhaps we could accommodate you at the Copper Kettle at no extra charge. Housekeeping went to work to get the room ready. Our reception staff went out of their way to facilitate all your requests and they showed their concern and consideration by bringing your booking to the Copper Kettle. We cannot understand the difficulties you had as we have a Manager on duty 24 hours and a Night Porter to lend assistance.

The Copper Kettle is a lovely four bedroom property and has two carpark spaces at the front door and the Lewis Capark is at the other side of the road. It is just a short stroll to town, no more than 70 meters to the main street. Checkout is a very simple procedure and all one has to do is return the key to the Front Desk which is manned 24 hours.

We pride ourselves on our professionalism, courtesy and care for our guests and maintain the highest standards at our properties.

regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
Arbutus Hotel
Arbutus Hotel
#8 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ashville House
Ashville House
#15 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gleann Fia Country House
Gleann Fia Country House
#19 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#31 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingfisher Lodge
Kingfisher Lodge
#12 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murphy's Guesthouse
Murphy's Guesthouse
#28 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Kettle B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Kettle B&B

Property: Copper Kettle B&B
Address: York Terrace The Copper Kettle 5 Lewis Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copper Kettle B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Copper Kettle B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing