We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food”
Review of Murphy's Bar

Murphy's Bar
Ranked #15 of 186 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $43
Cuisines: Irish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Redcliffe, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Had dinner here 2 nights in row. Selection is good, prices are reasonable and the staff are very friendly. Gets a bit noisy and crowded later in the evening but if you like Irish pub atmosphere and food this place is hard to beat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wynnuman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Good Afternoon from everyone in Murphys,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your time here with us. I am glad to see you enjoyed our Irish atmosphere here.

I hope we will see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    412
    83
    43
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Solid Irish Pub”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Easy to find on main thoroughfare with just what one might expect in an Irish Pub. Not overly commercial with friendly staff. Singles, families and assorted couples made up is clientele.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth617_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Good Afternoon from Killarney,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I am delighted to hear that you feel our bars represent what is truly Irish. We aim to make our customers feel welcome and as locals whether they are or not.

I hope we will see you again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Popped in as we walked by...”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The waitress told us this was a popular tourist stop, but we didn't feel it was touristy at all. Went a bit early before it got busy, and enjoyed a drink first at the bar, and then were seated for dinner. Had the leek & potato soup (soup of the day) which was so so tasty...and happened to be vegetarian based. And then we had the fish & chips special - also really good. Of note, on the menu there were plenty of vegetarian options for those of you looking for that. Wonderful service and live music was about to get started but we had to head out - wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Good Afternoon from all in Murphys,

Thank you for your wonderful recent review.

I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us. We aim to please all our customers whether they are vegetarian or not. We aim to cater for all different tastes.

I hope we will see you in the not too distant future and hopefully this time you will get to enjoy our lovely musicians.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good find”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We find that Killarney is very hit and miss when it comes to eating out, especially with children. We stumbled across this bar and will be back when we come down again! The boys were made to feel very welcome and the bar had lovely, friendly waiting staff. The Beef and Guinness Casserole was exactly what was needed! The fact that the menu is very much traditional rather than fancy foods adds more to the appeal. After a few days of wraps and salads etc this is what the whole family were looking for....in the words of our youngest (5).... it was a proper dinner!

Stayed on for a few drinks with friends and the pub had a great atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Flosoup01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Good Afternoon from Murphys,

Thank you for your wonderful recent review.

I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful time with us here in Murphys.

Our staff love to create a warm and friendly environment for our customers. I am extremely happy to hear that all of the family were very happy and enjoyed their proper dinners.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glencove1
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Possibly the worst Irish stew ever served ....”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a really pleasant pub, but we made the mistake of thinking we could order food here. I had a Shepherd's Pie. It was okay. Serviceable. But my sweetie, who grew up in Ireland and has experienced some bad food, rated this Irish stew as the worst ever. -- And it wasn't so cheap. either...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glencove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Good evening

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.
This time of year we serve approximately over a hundred Irish stew per week. We have checked back on the last week and we did not receive any complaints. If you had brought this issue to the attention of the staff during your meal we could have rectified the problem. We hope to welcome you back to Murphy's in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Sean Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphy's Bar also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Murphy's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing