We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”
Review of Murphy's Bar

Murphy's Bar
Ranked #15 of 186 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $43
Cuisines: Irish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Average at best”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Ate here after being recommended by my accommodation. The pub has a fantastic atmosphere and is definitely worth a visit for a pint. However I did find the food wasn't upto scratch for the price being charged. Had Caesar salad for start which was grand, nothing special but made up for by delicious brown bread. Had the
Mussels for main which were quite nice and a good portion. Had apple pie for desert which wasn't great, quite bland and poor quality. It seems to be part of the "tourist trap", and being Irish I expected more than the quality received. Fine for pub grub but definitely not worthy of the high status received on trip advisor

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alicekeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Good Afternoon Alice
Thank you for taking the time to post this review.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere here in Murphys but disappointed to read you felt the food was not the quality you expected. We appreciate your comment from which we can learn and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Seán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    404
    81
    43
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun pub with dining room”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Murphy's was the first place we ate after arriving in Ireland. Our group of eight sat in the dining room. Our food was good and our waiter was charming and attentive. A good start to a fabulous vacation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SJS6500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Good Afternoon & Greeting from Killarney
Thank you for your kind review. We love to hear from our customers especially when it’s so positive.
I hope you had a memorable vacation in Ireland. Thanks again.
Kind regards
Seán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We did not eat in the bar but understood the food was good. Had a couple of fantastic evenings listening to traditional Irish music.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacs511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Good Afternoon

Thank you for your resent review.
We are delighted you enjoyed the traditional Irish music which had you returning the following evenings. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.
Kind regards
Seán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Must have been an off night...”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

To start off with the good, the food was delicious. And after a mess up with our appetizer order, our waitress took it off our bill. Unfortunately, the service overall was terrible. We waited over 30 minutes for our food to come out and then about another 30 minutes to get our bill after our table was cleared. We spent about 2 hours in there total. It may have been just a bad night, but they weren't slammed until after about 8:30.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nhmejia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Good Afternoon
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Firstly I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your food but very disappointed to hear about the level of service you experienced and apologise. We pride ourselves on our customer service in Murphys Bar. We appreciate your comments from which we can learn and hope to welcome you back to Murphys on your nest visit to Killarney.
Kind regards
Seán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“best home cooked food in town,”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Looking for great home cooked dinner this is the place to be. Daily specials fantastic with no frozen or packet vegetables used.great pub atmosphere,staff and music in the evenings.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Good Afternoon

Thank you for your resent review.
I was delighted you enjoyed your whole experience with us in Murphys. We really appreciate getting such great feedback from our customers. Don’t leave it too long to return.
Kind regards
Seán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphy's Bar also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Murphy's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing