We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Irish Pub”
Review of Murphy's Bar

Murphy's Bar
Ranked #14 of 190 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $43
Cuisines: Irish, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We ate lunch there on our first day in Killarney. Good pub grub with sizable portions and friendly service! We came back that evening to enjoy some pints and traditional Irish music. Definitely recommend!

Thank RTLemur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Good Morning,

Thank you for your kind words.

I am delighted to hear your enjoyed your time here with us in Murphy's.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

852 - 856 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

The food was absolutely delicious and the beer was excellent! Found the best traditional Irish music at this pub, we sat at the bar with a pint and enjoyed watching and listening to the entertainment. The staff was very friendly and the service was outstanding. Of all the pubs and restaurants that we went to in Killarney, they had the largest selection of beer on tap. Murphy's Bar is definitely a place you don't want to miss out on when in or near Killarney, Ireland! We plan on returning to Ireland soon and Murphy's will be at the top of our agenda. P.S. try the Irish stew and brown bread, you won't be sorry!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Coops499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Good Morning,

I was delighted to open my emails and read such a kind and wonderful review.

Our staff strive to create a friendly and happy environment for all our customers as well as maintaining a high standard across every aspect of our business.

Would you ever consider making the brown bread yourself? Why not send us a quick email and we will gladly forward you on the recipe.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

I went to Murphy's bar at nightime looking for some good Irish entertainment. At 9:30 pm the entertainment went on and the place was packed! Three guys were playing traditional Irish music and it was great. Very entertaining and fun truly a great Irish pub experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sammmy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Good Morning Sammy,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

I have passed on your kind words to our musicians.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great wee place - good local atmosphere and an excellent staff. From the minute we walked in they noticed us, were friendly and accommodating. Our orders were taken promptly and delivered without issue. The barmen doubled as waiters and were very friendly, warm and offered great local advice and knowledge. Food was delicious and great value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lexy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Good Morning Lexy,

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your dining experience here with us in Murphy's.

I have passed on your kind words to our staff. Our staff here strive to create a friendly and welcoming environment for all our customers.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed at Murphys bar this July. The craic was amazing..! The place is a hive of activity you cant beat it for traditional music fantastic food and excellent staff, from the chamber maids right through to management this place is excellently run. Its location couldnt be any better, set at one end of the main high street Murphys Bar is a fantastic spot to start off your night thats if you can drag yourself away from one of the best pints of Guinness in Ireland. If you have the pleasure to visit Killarney then Murphys Bar has to be on your agenda. I enjoyed it so much I have already booked to go back next year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Good Morning Billy,

Thank you once again for your wonderful review.

I am delighted to hear you feel we are maintaining a high standard across all aspects of our business. I have passed on your kind words to our staff who were delighted to hear such a lovely review.

We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Kind Regards,
Seán Murphy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphy's Bar also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Murphy's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing